Other Subject Guides of Interest
Be sure to use our focused Subject Guides for more specific listing of resources. Some specific ones that might be of interest include:
- Civil Affairs and Rule of Law
- Congressional Information
- Conflict & Peacekeeping
- Defense Budget Information
- Homeland Security Resources
- Latin American Resources
- Public Opinion
- Middle East Resources
- Vietnam Conflict Resources
How to Best Use This Guide
The purpose of this guide is to introduce you to some of the many great sources available to you while doing Asian Studies related research. Use the Tabs above to navigate to the types of information you are looking for and be sure to look at the National Security Affairs guide for additional sources.
Articles - provides links to the significant databases/search tools for locating scholarly journal articles.
Topical Journals - provides a select list of scholarly journals specifically focused on Asian topics and can supplement the resources found in the Articles tab.
News Sources - provides some jump-off points for locating media/news sources.
Books - provides suggestions for places to search for books, both print and electronic, focused on Asia
Specialized Sources and Databases - provides links for dictionaries, encyclopedias, reference tools and more.
Maps - provides links for some great websites that provide access to digital maps of interest to those researching Asia.
Dissertations & Theses - will help you locate theses and disserations done by former NPS studnents as well as from other places.
Statistics - will be helpful in locating a variety of statistics including demographic, economic and more
Primary Source Collections - will help you find things like original speeches and documents
Research Organizations - will be helpful in learning about organizations and think tanks focused on researching topics related to Asian issues.
Freedom/Democracy Indices - freedom indexes are useful for reviewing the assessments and rankings of countries based on various elements or definitions of freedom.
Public Opinion - useful for finding public opinion polls both domestic and international.