Other Resources of Interest
Be sure to use our focused Subject Guides for more specific listing of resources. Some specific ones that might be of interest include:
Area Studies
- Conflict and Peacekeeping
- Congressional Information
- Defense Budget Information
- NSA Research Guide
- Public Opinion & Polling
Academic Writing
How to Best Use This Guide
The purpose of this guide is to introduce you to some of the many great sources available to you while doing research related to the Middle East and North Africa (MENA). Use the Tabs above to navigate to the types of information you are looking for and be sure to look at the National Security Affairs guide for additional sources.
Articles - provides links to the significant databases/search tools for locating scholarly journal articles.
Journals of Interest - provides a select list of scholarly journals specifically focused on Middle East topics and can supplement the resources found in the Articles tab.
News Sources - provides some jump-off points for locating media/news sources.
Books - provides suggestions for places to search for books, both print and electronic, focused on the Middle East.
Maps - provides links for some great websites that provide access to digital maps of interest to those researching the Middle East.
Specialized Sources and Databases - provides links for dictionaries, encyclopedias, reference tools and more.
Research Organizations - will be helpful in learning about organizations and think tanks focused on researching topics related to Middle East issues.
Dissertations & Theses - will help you locate theses and disserations done by former NPS studnents as well as from other places.
Statistics - will be helpful in locating a variety of statistics including demographic, economic and more.
Primary Source Collections - will help you locate original or primary documents including some collections of original materials.
Freedom/Democracy Indices - freedom indexes are useful for reviewing the assessments and rankings of countries based on various elements or definitions of freedom.
Development Reports - for human development and country competitiveness reports.
Reference Tools - is useful for finding both print and electronic historic dictionaries and other reference sources.
US-Middle East Relations - is useful for finding congressional resources in particular but also other resources of interest.
Public Opinion - for a listing of worldwide opinion or polling sites.
Off-Campus Library Access - will try to answer questions you might have about accessing our resources from anywhere off campus.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Subject Specialist and Reference Librarian for areas including: Security Studies, Intelligence, Homeland Security, Defense Analysis, and Military Science. Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
