Asian Studies

Historic Reference Materials

We have a number of historical dictionaries in our collection that are great for getting historical background information on a country and to see some of the events that have had an impact. You can search the library using "historical dictionary of [insert the name of the country]". A few examples are listed below.

  • Dictionary of the Modern Politics of South-East Asia, 3rd ed
    DS 526.7 .L45 2001 REFERENCE
  • Historical Dictionary of North Korea
    DS 933.7 .K55 2003 REFERENCE
  • Historical Dictionary of the People's Republic of China, 2nd ed
    DS 777.55 .S835 2007 REFERENCE
  • Historical Dictionary of Republic of Korea, 2nd ed
    DS 904.8 .N34 2004 REFERENCE
  • Historical Dictionary of Taiwan (Republic of China), 3nd ed
    DS 798.96 .C67 2007 REFERENCE
  • International Historical Statistics. Africa, Asia and Oceania 1750-2005, 5th ed
    HA 4675 .M55 2007 REFERENCE

Another great source is the Country Studies series [formerly known as "Army Area Handbooks].  this series "presents a description and analysis of the historical settinga and the social, economic, political, and national security systems" of many countries throughtout the world.

Credo Reference

Use Credo Reference to find:

Credo Reference is a licensed resource,  In order to access it you must either be using a computer on campus or log in through the VPN.  Otherwise you will be prompted to log into the Library's proxy server using your library login information.

Other Tools