Naval Postgraduate School NAVAL POSTGRADUATE SCHOOL
NPS Dudley Knox Library Dudley Knox Library
Ask a Librarian    My Accounts

Citation Styles

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Style

Citation Examples

The following codes are for supplementary use with the NPS thesis LaTeX template, available at
https://wiki.nps.edu/display/LaTexTP/LaTex+Thesis+Portal. The template comes prepackaged with a BibTeX tool.

 

Source Type

BibTeX Code Examples

Book (Print)  

Back

@book{orend_2013,
  author        = "B. Orend",
  title         = "Morality of War",
  publisher     = "Broadview Press",
  address       = "Tonawanda, NY",
  edition       = "2nd ed.",
  year          = "2013",
}

Book Chapters
(in Edited Books)

Back

An edited book that is really a volume in a multi-book series.
@incollection{stein_1994,
  author        = "L. Stein",
  editor        = "J. S. Brake",
  title         = "Random patterns",
  booktitle     = "Computers and You",
  publisher     = "Wiley",
  address       = "New York, NY",
  year          = "1994",
  pages         = "55--70",
}

Books (Electronic Version of a Print Book)

Back

Normal ebook entry, with howpublished decorations.
@ebook{krishnan_2008,
  author        = "A. Krishnan",
  title         = "War as Business: Technological Change and Military Service Contracting",
  year          = "2008",
  howpublished  = "[Ebrary version]. [Online]",
  url           = "http://www.ebrary.com/corp/",
}

Book (in a Series)

Back

This is not just a book, but a part of a book portion (since there is page range),
so the inbook class is more appropriate. If there were no pages, we could use book.
@inbook{abramowitz_64,
  editor        = "M. Abramowitz and I. A. Stegun",
  title         = "Handbook of Mathematical Functions",
  series        = "Applied Mathematics Series 55",
  publisher     = "NBS",
  address       = "Washington, DC",
  pages         = "32--33",
  year          = "1964",
}

Book (Portion)

Back

Normal use of inbook used for a book portion.
@inbook{orend_2013b,
  author        = "B. Orend",
  title         = "Morality of War",
  publisher     = "Broadview Press",
  address       = " Tonawanda, NY",
  edition       = "2nd ed.",
  year          = "2013",
  chapter       = "2, sec.\ 3",
  pages         = "67--70",
}

Book (Volume)

Back

Normal use of incollection for a chapter in a volume of collected works.
@incollection{myer_77,
  author        = "R. L. Myer",
  editor        = "P. G. Harper and B. S. Wherret",
  title         = "Parametric oscillators and nonlinear materials",
  booktitle     = "Nonlinear Optics",
  publisher     = "Academic Press",
  address       = "San Francisco, CA",
  year          = "1977",
  volume        = "4",
  pages         = "47--160",
}

Class Notes

Back

We need to use misc for class notes.
@misc{NPS_notes_2013,
  title         = "New applications in computational mechanics",
  organization  = "Dept. of Mech. and Aerosp. Eng., Naval Postgraduate School",
  howpublished  = "class notes for Computational Mechanics",
  address       = "Monterey, CA",
  year          = "spring 2013"
}

Computer Program

Back

Variant of ebook, requiring (mis-)use of the author field to get desired style.
@ebook{panda1,
  author        = "{Panda Security, Maitland, FL}",
  title         = "Panda Free Antivirus",
  url           = "http://download.cnet.com/Panda-Free-Antivirus/3000-2239_4-10914099.html",
  year          = "2016",
  note          = "Accessed Jan. 12, 2016",
}

Software follows the manual style.
@manual{panda2,
  title         = "Windows 98",
  organization  = "Microsoft Corporation",
  address       = "Redmond, WA",
  note          = "1998",
}

Conference Paper (Presented)

Back

Use misc for presentations, use inproceedings if there is an associated published work.
@misc{kirby_2013,
  author        = "K. Kirby and J. Stratton",
  title         = "{Van Allen} probes: Successful launch campaign and early operations exploring earth's

radiation belts",
  howpublished  = "presented at IEEE Aerospace Conference",
  address       = "Big Sky, MT",
  year          = "2013",
}

Conference Paper (in Published Proceedings)

Back

Normal use of inproceedings class.
@inproceedings{janow_1994,
  author        = "C. Janow",
  title         = "Guidance and control components for space applications",
  booktitle     = "Proceedings National Electronics Conference",
  year          = "1994",
  volume        = "24",
  pages         = "30--35",
}

Normal use of inproceedings class.
@inproceedings{delac_20014,
  author        = "K. Delac and M. Grgic",
  title         = "A survey of biometric recognition methods",
  booktitle     = "46th International Symposium on Electronics",
  address       = "Zadar, Croatia",
  year          = "2004",
  pages         = "184--193",
}

Database

Back

Normal use of electronic class.
@electronic{nsa_ipac_2012,
  author        = "{NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database}",
  organization  = "Object name IRAS F00400+4059",
  url           = "http://nedwww.ipac.caltech.edu/",
  note          = "Accessed Dec. 10, 2012",
}

Directives and Instructions

Back

Directives follow the manual style.
@manual{dod_5000.1,
  title         = "The Defense Acquisition System",
  howpublished  = "DOD Directive 5000.1",
  organization  = "Under Secretary of Defense (AT\&L)",
  address       = "Washington, DC",
  year          = "2003",
  pages         = "20--21",
}

Handbook or
Field Manual

Back

A handbook follows the manual style.
@manual{transmission_comm_85,
  title         = "Transmission Systems for Communications",
  edition       = "3rd",
  organization  = "Western Elect. Co.",
  address       = "Winston-Salem, NC",
  year          = "1985",
  pages         = "44--60",
}

Handbook or
Report Online

Back

Online handbooks follow the electronic class.
@electronic{talleen_1996,
  author        = "S. L. Talleen",
  title         = "The IntraNet architecture: Managing information in the new paradigm",
  organization  = "Amdahl Corps",
  address       = "Sunnyvale, CA",
  year          = "1996",
  month         = Aug,
  url           = "http://www.Amdahl.com/doc/products/bsg/intra/intra/html",
}

Journal Article

Back

Normal use of article class.
@article{wang_2014,
  author        = "W. Q. Wang and H. Shao",
  title         = "High altitude platform multichannel {SAR} for wide-area and staring imaging",
  journal       = "Aerosp. and Electron. Syst.",
  volume        = "29",
  number        = "25",
  month         = mar,
  year          = "2014",
  pages         = "12--17"
}

Journal Article (Electronic)

Back

An electronic entry populated with special journal information.
@electronic{semilof_1996,
  author        = "M. Semilof",
  title         = "Driving commerce to the Web---Corporate Intranets and the Internet: Lines blur",
  journal       = "Communications Week",
  volume        = "6",
  number        = "19",
  year          = "1996",
  month         = "July 15",
  url           = "http://www.techweb.com/se/index.html",
}

Legislative Documents

Back

Variant of electronic with strange authors, use journal field to put title in italics.
@electronic{congress_1991,
  author        = "{U.S. House. 102nd Congress, 1st Session}",
  journal       = "H. Con. Res. 1, Sense of the Congress on Approval of Military Action",
  year          = "1991",
  month         = "Jan. 11",
  url           = "http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/z?c102:H.CON.RES.1.IH",
}

Magazine/Newspaper (Online)

Back

Variant electronic, use journal when publisher is a recognized publication.
@electronic{ellwood_2013,
  author        = "A. Ellwood",
  title         = "Plagiarism isn't the sincerest form of flattery",
  journal       = "Forbes",
  year          = "2013",
  month         = "Feb. 11",
  url           = "http://www.forbes.com/sites/andyellwood/2013/02/11/plagiarism-isnt-the-sincerest-form-

of-flattery/",
}

Variant electronic, use journal when publisher is a recognized publication.
@electronic{martin_2014,
  author        = "J. Martin",
  title         = "Senator quits Montana race after charge of plagiarism",
  journal       = "New York Times",
  year          = "2014",
  month         = "Aug. 7",
  url           = "http://www.nytimes.com/2014/08/08/us/politics/john-walsh-drops-campaign-under-pressure-

from-democrats.html?_r=0",
}

Patent

Back

Normal use of patent class.
@patent{wilkinson_1990,
  author        = "J. P. Wilkinson",
  title         = "Nonlinear resonant circuit devices",
  nationality   = "United States",
  number        = "3 624 125",
  day           = "16",
  month         = aug,
  year          = "1990",
}

Patent (Available Online)

Back

Variant of electronic, use journal to make title in italics.
@electronic{brooks_1992,
  title          = "Musical toothbrush with adjustable neck and mirror, by L. M. R. Brooks",
  journal        = "Patent D 326 189",
  year           = "1992",
  month          = jul,
  day            = "19",
  note           = "Available: NEXIS Library: LEXPAT File: DESIGN",
}

Personal Communications (Emails, Letters, Conversations)

Back

Use misc.
@misc{alexander_2012,
  author        = "D. D. Alexander",
  howpublished  = "private communication",
  year          = "2012",
  month         = aug,
}

Report or Technical Paper

Back

Normal use of techreport class.
@techreport{reber_1988,
  author        = "E. E. Reber and R. L. Michell and C. J. Carter",
  title         = "Oxygen absorption in the earth's atmosphere",
  institution   = "Aerosp. Corp.",
  address       = "Los Angeles, CA",
  number        = "TR-2000 (4230-46)-3",
  month         = nov,
  year          = "1988",
}

Standard

Back

Standards fit well with manual class.
@manual{ieee_308,
  title         = "IEEE Criteria for Class IE Electric Systems",
  howpublished  = "IEEE Standard 308",
  year          = "1969",
}

Thesis and Dissertation

Back

Normal use of mastersthesis class. By default the type is "Master's thesis".
If we want something more specific like M.S. thesis, we need to set a new type field.
@mastersthesis{kawasaki_1993,
  author        = "N. Kawasaki",
  title         = "Parametric study of thermal and chemical nonequilibrium nozzle flow",
  school        = "Dept. Electron. Eng., Osaka Univ.",
  address       = "Osaka, Japan",
  type          = "M.S. thesis",
  year          = "1993",
}

Normal use of phdthesis class.
@phdthesis{williams_1993,
  author        = "J. O. Williams",
  title         = "Narrow-band analyzer",
  school        = "Dept. Elect. Eng., Harvard Univ.",
  address       = "Cambridge, MA",
  year          = "1993"
}

Unpublished Works

Back

Normal use of unpublished class.
@unpublished{garcia_unpub,
  author        = "L. J. Garcia",
  title         = "New ideas for security in democracies",
  note          = "unpublished"
}

Web/Internet Article (with Author and Date)

Back

Normal use of electronic class.
@electronic{kaneshiro_2011,
  author        = "J. Kaneshiro",
  title         = "Nano technology marches on",
  month         = "Dec. 3",
  year          = "2011",
  url           = "http://www.army.mil/article/70358/Nano_technology_marches_on/",
}

Normal use of electronic class.
@electronic{vergun_2014,
  author        = "D. Vergun",
  title         = "Smarter robots partnering with soldiers",
  month         = "Aug. 14",
  year          = "2014",
  url           = "http://www.army.mil/article/131847/Smarter_ground_robots_partnering_with_Soldiers/",
}

Web/Internet Article
(No Author)

Back

Normal use of electronic class.
@electronic{raytheon_2014,
  title         = "{Raytheon} fires four {TALON} laser-guided rockets from {MD 530G} helicopter",
  month         = "Jul. 31",
  year          = "2014",
  organization  = "Raytheon",
  url           = "http://raytheon.mediaroom.com/index.php?s=43&item=2624",
}

Web/Internet Article
(No Author, No Date)

Back

Normal use of electronic class.
@electronic{dept_vet_2013,
  title         = "Veteran voices on {PTSD}",
  year          = "n.d.",
  organization  = "U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs",
  url           = "http://maketheconnection.net/conditions/ptsd2",
  note          = "Accessed Nov. 13, 2013",
}

Normal use of electronic class, note special escaping of # in the url.
@electronic{nps_tpo_2014,
  title         = "Compliance matters",
  year          = "n.d.",
  organization  = "Naval Postgraduate School Thesis Processing Office",
  url           = "http://www.nps.edu/research/research1.html\#Compliance",
  note          = "Accessed Mar. 14, 2014",
}

 Wikipedia

Back

Variant of electronic class, treating Wikipedia like a publication name.
@electronic{wiki_2016,
  title         = "Strength training",
  journal       = "Wikipedia",
  year          = "n.d.",
  url           = "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strength_training",
  note          = "Accessed Apr. 28, 2016.",
}

 YouTube

Back

Variant of electronic.
@electronic{youtube_2013,
  author        = "{HKUST Library}",
  title         = "How to cite in IEEE style",
  howpublished  = "[YouTube video]",
  year          = "2013",
  month         = "Oct. 9",
  url           = "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=18uWvm6W4bc",
  note          = "Accessed Jun. 12, 2014",
}

Variant of electronic.
@electronic{youtube_2014,
  author        = "{IEEE}",
  title         = "IEEE one voice",
  howpublished  = "[YouTube video]",
  year          = "n.d.",
  url           = "https://www.youtube.com/user/IEEEorg",
  note          = "Accessed Aug. 14, 2014",
}

 

Feedback

411 Dyer Rd. Bldg. 339
Monterey, CA 93943

 

envelope icon circdesk@nps.edu
phone icon (831) 656-2947
DSN 756-2947

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

NPS-Licensed Resources - Terms & Conditions

Copyright Notice

 

            

NPS Home     Privacy Policy     Copyright     Accessibility     Contact Webmaster