Naval Postgraduate School NAVAL POSTGRADUATE SCHOOL
NPS Dudley Knox Library Dudley Knox Library
Ask a Librarian    My Accounts

Citation Styles

What is Citation Management?

Remember this?

Citation Management (also known as "citation software," "bibliographic management," or "reference management") is a tool that helps researchers:

  • Import citations from article databases and websites
  • Manually enter unique references: interviews, emails
  • Word processor plug-in software to format references and build bibliographies
  • Add notes and keyword tags to your articles

Regardless of which system you chose to use, you can usually create a backup of your references and import them into a different program. So have fun experimenting with the various programs to find what is best for you.

RefWorks

Citation Management With RefWorks (Dudley Knox Library Guide)

RefWorks is a Web based citation management program that the library licenses.

RefWorks Tech Support: refworks.support@proquest.com; (757)327-4105


Benefits:

  • Free account available to NPS authenticated users (because the library has paid for it)
  • Direct Export from Library databases
  • Organize your citations in folders
  • Read and annotate your documents online
  • Create citations and bibliographies in Word with Write N Cite or RefWorks Citation Manager
  • Free workshops through the Library
  • Dudley Knox librarians are familiar with this and can provide assistance.

Zotero

Zotero Logo, image found: http://libguides.nps.edu/aecontent.php?pid=210342&sid=1810414

Zotero for Firefox lets you capture and organize all your research without leaving the browser. Free.

Zotero Standalone runs as a separate application and plugs into your choice of browser (Chrome, Safari or Firefox). Free.

Zotero download information

Benefits include:

  • Free
  • Easy one-click to add citations
  • Good metadata scraping
  • Relate citations, take notes
  • Social group integration

Zotero Quickstart Guide

Zotero Support Documentation

EndNote Online Premium

EndNote Online Premium is a Web based citation management program that the library licenses through Web of Science.

Benefits:

  • NPS users can set up an account for free through Web of Science.  Note that you need to login to Web of Science from the NPS domain at least once a year to keep your EndNote Online Premium account active. Individuals who prefer to do so can purchase the full EndNote Desktop on their own. 
  • Once you have setup your account through Web of Science, you can also log into EndNote Online directly at http://www.myendnoteweb.com
  • Phone and web form/email tech support
  • Direct export of citations from Web of Science and other databases (works best if you download available browser plug-ins)
  • Easily format bibliographies and papers
  • Share references with other EndNote web users
  • Easily transfer references between EndNote Web and EndNote Desktop
  • Seamless integration with Web of Science
  • Cite While You Write (CWYW) plug-in for MS Word and Mac lets you format references in your Word documents
  • Manuscript Matcher helps you identify appropriate journals to publish your work
     

Phone, email, and online tech support:

Tech support request form:  http://ip-science.thomsonreuters.com/techsupport/
Tech support phone number:  1-800-336-4474.  At the prompt press 4, then select the "ResearchSoft Products" option.

Video Tutorials on Using EndNote Online

Mendeley

Mendeley logo, located: http://www.mendeley.com/

Free reference manager and academic social network.

Benefits:

  • One click import from academic databases
  • Drag & drop pdfs into the desktop application
  • Set a Watch folder on your computer to automatically import new pdfs into Mendeley
  • Read, highlight, and annotate pdfs, and share them with others in Private and Public Groups
  • Search the full text of pdfs within your library
  • Find related papers and follow groups
  • Free desktop application
  • Access and sync across computers and the Web interface
  • Click to create citations and bibliographies in Word with Cite-O-Matic

Help Guides to get you quickly started using Mendeley

Videos & Tutorials

 

Microsoft Word

 

 

Microsoft Word Icon

Benefits include:

  • Free if you have Microsoft Word
  • Ease of use

The basics according to Microsoft
     ...more

Insert or create footnotes or endnotes
 

BibTeX

BibTeX is an open source tool and file format that works in conjunction with LaTeX documents (used in math and science).

There are a number of plugins and tools available on the BibTeX Links webpage including BibDesk for Mac.

For more information on the TeX markup language, the CTAN Stater page is good jumpoff point

Feedback

411 Dyer Rd. Bldg. 339
Monterey, CA 93943

 

envelope icon circdesk@nps.edu
phone icon (831) 656-2947
DSN 756-2947

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

NPS-Licensed Resources - Terms & Conditions

Copyright Notice

 

            

NPS Home     Privacy Policy     Copyright     Accessibility     Contact Webmaster