NPS Archive: Calhoun / Annual Reports

What's old is new in Calhoun! The IA/NPS Digitization Project brought over 10,000 never-before-available early student works to light in 2012. 

Calhoun and the Digitization Project have worked together this year to bring thousands of documents and associated metadata to Calhoun.  Key to the effort was innovation by team members, who 

• Wrote scripts to bring thousands of records intact from the library catalog/MARC over to Calhoun and modified Dublin Core.
• Invented a way to scrape needed metadata from paper-origin sources using Adobe Acrobat
• Created scripts using R to do essential DSpace tasks from assembling tables of metadata from lists of ID numbers, to collating the Standard Import Packages DSpace requires to present content for download.

Tools like these are shared to the world via the NPS wiki, here.  

We began the digitization project in May 2011. This was the very first item scanned. 

See it in Calhoun:
Study of the Santa Ana winds of the Los Angeles basin

NPS Theses and Technical Reports are now fully digitized and freely available

In 2011, Dudley Knox Library partnered with Internet Archive and the Library of Congress to digitize thousands of NPS Masters' Theses, Doctoral Dissertations and MBA Project Reports.

The project also produced a large number of previously-unavailable NPS Reports and Technical Reports in digital format.  These NPS documents are available in Calhoun, and also at Internet Archives' NPS collection page: http://archive.org/details/navalpostgraduateschoollibrary.

Digitizing this large collection of paper documents was a two year project between the library and Internet Archive, using their state of the art equipment to produce downloadable content in a variety of formats, including .pdf, ePub and more. 

The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.  This includes texts, video, audio and more.

last update 9 April 2014

Take a look at the very latest scans coming from our partnership with Internet Archive:

It's been a great year for Digitization Projects at DKL!  In March, the Team was proud to be profiled for an NPS Faculty Showcase article. Read all about it here.