Artist Francis McComasArtist Ferdinand BurgdorffArtist Jo Mora
This is the "Home" page of the "Historic Hotel Del Monte" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
DKL Banner Dudley Knox Library Naval Postgraduate School
Help     My Accounts

Historic Hotel Del Monte  

The Hotel Del Monte, now home to the Naval Postgraduate School, was one of the world's leading resorts in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Last Updated: Feb 4, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nps.edu/hoteldelmonte Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hotel Del Monte History

Visit the archives to study Hotel Del Monte's history

Special Collections & Archives

Research Room

 

Dudley Knox Library, 2nd Floor

Room 261


Hours by appointment

Email: speccoll@nps.edu

Phone: 831-656-7596


 

Hotel preservation

Photo of renovated Roman Plunge at Naval Postgraduate School

    Additional resources

    There are several excellent archives in the Monterey area that have unique Hotel Del Monte holdings. Following is a short list of those archives that are readily accessible to the public.

     

    Hotel Del Monte - The World's Most Elegant Seaside Resort

    Guest Book Cover 1910. Woman at the beach.
    Cover photo, 1910 Hotel Del Monte guest booklet.

    Hotel Del Monte was the catalyst for Monterey's modern-day tourism industry and a trendsetter in the development of sports and recreation. At its zenith, Hotel Del Monte encompassed 20,000-acres spread across the Monterey Peninsula. Guests included American presidents; world leaders; industrialists and business executives; famous artists, poets, musicians, dancers, comedians, film stars and other notables.

    The visionaries who established and shaped the resort, Charles Crocker and Sam Morse, created an enduring legacy. This guide offers a glimpse at the remarkable history of "The World's Most Elegant Seaside Resort" and its transformation into the Naval Postgraduate School and Pebble Beach Company.

     

    Hotel Del Monte Guide Books and Marketing Brochures

    The pocket-sized, 1910 Hotel Del Monte Guide Book (cover shown above) provided a compact tour and excursion booklet for early automobilists and Hotel Del Monte guests. It was replaced by less expensive publications such as the attached 1920 and 1926 bifold marketing brochures.

     

    Historic postcards

    Postcard image of the hotel

    Postcards from the late 19th to early 20th Century in the Charette Collection capture the style and grace of Hotel Del Monte and reveal the humor and sensibilities of hotel guests. The Dudley Knox Library archives holds other hotel ephemera including publications, guides and employee newsletters.

     

    Realia

    Ornate 1887 door hinge

    This ornate 1887 door hinge shows the artistic details of the early Hotel Del Monte architecture.

      Dudley Knox Library
      411 Dyer Road
      Bldg. 339
      Monterey, CA 93943

      (831) 656-2947
      DSN 756-2947
      circdesk@nps.edu
      Find & Download

      Articles

      NPS Theses

      Course Reserves

      Books & More

      Journal Titles

      Using the Library

      Request Article or Book

      Workshops & Tours

      Alumni Access

      Print, copy, scan, fax

      Floor Map

      Research Support

      Research Guides

      Citation Styles

      Writing Help

      For Faculty

      About

      Hours

      Visiting

      Staff Directory

      NPS Digital Archive (Calhoun)

      Restricted Resources

      Special Collections

      Administration

      This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.

      Naval Postgraduate School Contacts | Employment | Copyright/Accessibility/Section 508 | Privacy Policy | FOIA | Intranet Access

      All information contained herein has been approved for release by the NPS Public Affairs Officer.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip