eComics
This is the "Home" page of the "Graphic Novels at DKL" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
DKL Banner Dudley Knox Library Naval Postgraduate School
Help     My Accounts

Graphic Novels at DKL  

Last Updated: May 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nps.edu/graphic_novels Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this guide

Welcome to the Dudley Knox Library Guide for Graphic Novels.

Navigate this guide using the tabs above to explore the many resources available to students and faculty on graphic novels.

This guide will show you how to use library's BOSUN catalog to locate these works in our collection, and where to find further resources for graphic novels.

ALA NG poster

Need help searching, have research questions? Click on the link to reach a librarian:

 

Key Search Terms

Helpful key search terms:

Also search by tradtional methods:

 

What are Graphic Novels?

Images from: http://comicrelated.com/artwork/GraphicNovels_%281%29.jpg

Graphic novels, comic books, cartoons, sequential art, and visual storytelling - are among the terms used for this expanding genre.

The American Heritage Dictionary defines Graphic Novels as

A novel whose narrative is related through a combination of text and art, often in comic-strip form.

In general graphic novels are considered by some to be a more sophisticated format of comics, tackling difficult topics with content for serious audiences. The term, along with comics is under constant debate and is far from standardized. Therefore, it is best to keep an open mind when researching this topic and be inclusive with your definitions 

ie: graphic novels, comic books, comics, graphic journalism


Sources:

graphic novel. (2007). In The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language.

 

About the Collection

collection library display

 

The Dudley Knox Library collection of graphic novels serves as an exploration of relevant topics studied at NPS as well as current events that impact our community.

From visual works of non-fiction to personal accounts to fantastical science fiction, one can use these materials as a springboard into related topics in our collections of scholarly materials.

 

 

Content Notice

Some of the following titles may contain mature content and themes and are intended for an adult audience.

image by Andi Bird (graphic used with artist permission)

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Dudley Knox Library
411 Dyer Road
Bldg. 339
Monterey, CA 93943

(831) 656-2947
DSN 756-2947
circdesk@nps.edu
Find & Download

Articles

NPS Theses

Course Reserves

Books & More

Journal Titles

Using the Library

Request Article or Book

Workshops & Tours

Alumni Access

Print, copy, scan, fax

Floor Map

Research Support

Research Guides

Citation Styles

Writing Help

For Faculty

About

Hours

Visiting

Staff Directory

NPS Archive: Calhoun

Restricted Resources

Special Collections & Archives

Administration

NPS-Licensed Resources

Copyright Reminder

This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.

Naval Postgraduate School Contacts | Employment | Disclaimers | Privacy Policy | FOIA | Intranet Access

All information contained herein has been approved for release by the NPS Public Affairs Officer. Contact the Webmaster

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip