Naval Postgraduate School NAVAL POSTGRADUATE SCHOOL
NPS Dudley Knox Library Dudley Knox Library
Ask a Librarian    My Accounts

International Students' Guide to the Dudley Knox Library

Articles & Databases

 

Articles: Recent research is often found in published journal articles. We subscribe to many journals in electronic or paper format, To find an "ejournal" (electronic journal), use the Journal Titles link on the library's homepage. Find paper journals in the library search

Databases: In libraries, indexes to journals are called databases. Databases often have full-text article content, too.  An example of a database that provides articles is ProQuest.

Try a Database

Databases are electronic indexes of articles.  We subscribe to many; these are some of the most popular:

Databases Useful to International Students

What are "databases"?

Libraries use the term "database"  to mean an index to electronically published articles.  Common examples of databases are article indexes such as ProQuest and DTIC Online.  Some databases specialize in indexing the literature of one specific field, such asACM, which indexes Computer Science literature, or Jane's Online which indexes Military Information.  Others, such as ProQuest,  index a broad array of subjects.  Some offer the full-text of documents for immediate use, and some do not.  

Databases provide users with access to citations and  literature not available on the free web. The library pays for your user access.  In order to use a database, you must be a currently-enrolled NPS student, faculty member, or staff.   You will need no authentication if you access them from on campus. (Exception: LexisNexis requires an additional login.  Contact us using Ask a Librarian, if you need it.)   If you wish to access databases from home, you will need your library card, or library account information.

If you are interested in access to library Databases after you graduate from NPS, read more on the Alumni Access page

The following databases offer features of special interest to International Students:

 

 

These databases offer translation services

EBSCOHost

EBSCOHost can translate selected English-language articles into Spanish, French, German and Portuguese using automated translation via SysTran.

ProQuest

Proquest can translate selected English-language articles (or abstracts) into Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish and Turkish using automated translation.

These contain content in languages other than English

nexis.com

LexisNexis's nexis.com is a rich source for full text news, transcripts, country profiles and industry information..  Most content is in English, but its list of "Publication Languages" includes Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Malay, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish and "Other".  Click the "Sources" tab to see this list.   (nexis.com requires a password.) (Try LexisNexis Academic for a smaller version that requires no password.)

Global NewsBank

This is a source for News from around the world.  Articles cover politics, economics, culture, business, science, technology, and the environment from Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, the Pacific Rim, Central and South America, and the Middle East.

Library PressDisplay

Read newspapers from your own country, in your own language.  Newspapers in PressDisplay are more than just "full-text": they are searchable "digital replicas" that may be enlarged and read like regular newspapers.  Use it for research on news and events as they are reported around the world, or use it to keep up with the news from home.  Look for the Blue "Select Title" button to begin.

These translate the user interface into languages other than English

ProQuest    

Interface available in Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), German, Spanish, French, Magyar, Bahasa Indonesia, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norse, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Thai and Turkish.

EBSCOHost

Interface available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Korean, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Turkish and Greek.

These offer help and tutorials in languages other than English

Jane's

Jane's content is in English, but this useful resource is vital to defense research.  Jane's offers training materials in Korean and offers training for its Jane's Terrorism and Insurgency Centre in Korean and Japanese.  Click the "Training" tab and scroll down to see these materials. 

   

These offer content sorted by English writing clarity level

   

Global NewsBank

Can search content by "reading level" for English writing clarity. This is a source for News from around the world.  Articles cover politics, economics, culture, business, science, technology, and the environment from Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, the Pacific Rim, Central and South America, and the Middle East.

This offers basic Encyclopedia-level information

CredoReference

Credo Reference is a source for factual information about many topics, compiled from of full-text books. It includes Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and other basic Reference sources. The writing is clear and straightforward, not highly academic.  It provides a good starting point for research.  

This helps with formatting citations in scholarly citation formats like APA, Chicago, Turabian, MLA, etc.

RefWorks

RefWorks is not a "database," but is software to help you manage and format the references you find during your research.  Creates footnotes and bibliographies.  The Library has purchased a license for use of this software, and it is free for the use of NPS students, faculty and staff.  We offer free classes in the library about using it, too.  Read more about Refworks on the Citation Management with RefWorks guide. 
Write-N-Cite is available for Hangul, a Korean word processor.

Feedback

411 Dyer Rd. Bldg. 339
Monterey, CA 93943

envelope icon circdesk@nps.edu
phone icon (831) 656-2947
DSN 756-2947

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

NPS-Licensed Resources - Terms & Conditions

Copyright Notice

NPS Home Privacy Policy Copyright Accessibility Contact Webmaster