New Library Search

Information about the new library search

Search Now!

 Search for articles, books, theses & more


Give us your feedback on the new library search!

What is the New Library Search?

One Search Box

The new library search finds articles, books, ebooks, theses, journals and much more, all from a single search box on our homepage.

Quicker Access to Full-text Articles

Full-text articles are a click away. No more need to identify an appropriate database to search!

Single Sign-On

Sign in with your NPS credentials to access all library services! No need to remember a separate library password. Once you log in, you can access the library's licensed content from on and off campus without coming in through the VPN or being prompted for your library account information to log into the proxy server.

Should I Use the New Search or a Database?

Use the new Library Search when:

  • You don't have a lot of time to do your research
  • You just need enough information to get started 
  • You want a wide variety of material types
  • You want to get a general  sense of what the library has available 

Use an individual database if:

  • It's not included in the list of databases the new library search covers (see the list elsewhere on this page)
  • You want to thoroughly research your topic and/or use sophisticated search techniques and terminology unique to a particular database
  • You want very recent information - there is usually a lag between when an item is published and when it becomes available through the library searc

 

What You Need to Do

For All Users

Saved searches and favorites from our current library catalog did not transfer over to this new system.  You will need to recreate any searches in the new system, and if you want, you can print your favorites to a pdf file, or export them to a BibTex or EndNote Web file format.  The old system will be available until 30 August.  Access it to review or export your favorites. For help with this, contact your Library Liaison or Ask a Librarian.

For Faculty

You will need to recreate any links to library catalog records in your course sites or syllabi. Links pointing to the old system will work until 30 August.

Need Help?

Please contact your Library Liaison or Ask a Librarian for additional guidance.

 

Databases Not in Library Search

The library search includes many, but not all, of our databases. Below is a list of some of the databases that it does not search. To search these databases, use the links below, or our Databases List