Research Guides: Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering: Articles

Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Article Databases

AIAA Aerospace Research Central (ARC)
Aviation, aerospace
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
Aerospace, computers, defense industry, energy, engineering, nanotechnology, acoustics, nuclear engineering, ocean engineering, transportation.
ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center
Binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) (publicly releasable)
Publicly releasable documents only in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.
Each product listed on the page must be searched separately.

This archive has limited search filtering capabilities. For a better search experience, you can use the National Technical Reports Library or if you are eligible, register and use the DTIC R&E Gateway and use the Advanced Search to filter for "A - Approved for Public Release" documents.
DTIC Research & Engineering Gateway (DTIC R&E) (public and restricted content)
CAC login/registration required.
Both publicly releasable and access controlled documents in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.
Click the Access-Controlled Sites tab. Access available to U.S. DOD/military employees and U.S. government employees and their contractors.
Knovel
Engineering, aerospace & radar, adhesives, coatings & sealants, industrial engineering & operations management, oil & gas engineering, metals, energy, transportation
ProQuest - All databases
Includes searching:
* Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database
* Inspec
ProQuest Status Page
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Physical sciences & engineering, optics, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences & humanities
To see only full-text articles that are immediately accessible, go to Advanced Search, then open Expert Search, and refine to Subscribed Publications.
SpringerLink
Business & management, computer science, earth sciences, economics, education, energy, engineering, environmental sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, (optics), psychology, statistics
You can also buy a softcover, black & white copy of ebooks that we subscribe to for $24.99 each including shipping.
Web of Science - All databases (Clarivate)
Authoritative and comprehensive index of citations and abstracts of journal articles and conference proceedings in the Sciences and Social Sciences.

Click the Get It button in the search results to see if we have the full text article.
Wiley Online Library
Business, economics, finance, accounting; computer science & information technology; earth, space & environmental sciences; law & criminology; mathematics & statistics; physical sciences (optics) & engineering; psychology; social & behavioral sciences

Legend

NPS Users Only

Password Required

More Choices

Engineering Databases For a complete list of Engineering & Applied Science databases

Other Report Sites

Energetics Research Group (ERG) (Johns Hopkins University)
System and component level technologies for chemical, electrical, and nuclear propulsion for rockets, missiles, space and gun propulsion systems; as well as the performance, safety and handling of energetics and explosives.
Access restricted to qualified U.S. Citizens. Must register.
NASA Scientific and Technical Information Program
Aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos created or funded by NASA.
Science.gov
Gateway to U.S. government science information. Research & development (R&D) results and scientific & technical information.

Find a Specific Article

In the library search box, enter the article title in quotes. Add the author (if you have it).
If it doesn't come up, try searching the journal directly.
First find the journal by clicking the Journal Titles button in the top row

Other Search Engines

Google Scholar

Find journal articles and other scholarly content.

How to link to full text of articles

(1:32 min.)

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Liaison

Jenna Hillhouse

Email Me

Contact:

DKL - 125

831-656-3825

Subjects: Academic Writing, Aerospace & Engineering, Business, Management & Economics, Mathematics, Research Tools, Science

Related Guides

Space Systems
by Jenna Hillhouse Last Updated Apr 2, 2024 97 views this year

Search Tips

Library Quick Start
by Glen Koué Last Updated Sep 25, 2023 196 views this year
Search Basics
by Greta E. Marlatt Last Updated Jul 11, 2023 1174 views this year

Find Something You Need but We Don't Have It? You Can Submit a Request.

Request Article or Book
(Interlibrary Loan - ILL)

Current authenticated NPS users can request to borrow materials from another library in support of learning, teaching, research, and other NPS mission-related efforts.

How to place a request

First, use the Library Search to see if we already have access. If we do, please check out or download the item yourself. You don't need to submit a request. (Course Reserves are available at the Information Desk.)
Read the Copyright Notice.
If you need to request the item, submit the Request Article or Book (Interlibrary Loan) form. First time user registration required

Article PDFs can arrive as quickly as 2-3 days. Print books can take 1-2 weeks or longer.

Questions? ill@nps.edu

DL Students,

We’ll also send library-owned print materials to you.

We will ship to you at no cost.
You are responsible for the small cost of shipping items back to us. Please return items via Priority Mail allowing enough time for the item to arrive by the due date.

How to register:

Fill out the entire form
Enter [ -DL ] after your last name
Use the email you regularly read
Include a phone number
Ensure your shipping address is correct
Enter [ Distance Student ] for your Status
Include your curriculum name and number

(3:59 min.)

Learn more about Interlibrary Loan.

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering