Citation Management with RefWorks 2 (Legacy)

Introduction

There are several methods for getting citations into your RefWorks account. The method used depends on where you find the citation. Although RefWorks works seamlessly with many databases, websites and other search tools, others require a different strategy. A list of databases the Library subscribes to and how they work with RefWorks is included on the Database Specific Instructions page.

Enable Direct Import from Google Scholar

  • In Google Scholar Click on Settings
  • In the Bibliography manger section select RefWorks from the Show links to import citations into drop-down menu
  • Click on Save Preferences
  • From your search results click on Import into RefWorks for each record you want to import

Importing Options

Direct Import
Many databases have the option to directly send citations to RefWorks. Mark the records you want to export and look for an option to "Export to RefWorks." For instructions  for a specific datase look on the Database specific Instructions Tab.

Import Text File
When a database does not have a direct export option you can create a text file of citations that you can then import into RefWorks. In the database you are using, mark the records you want to export and look for a link to export/save citations as a text file. Once you have created a file with your selected citations you will then need to log into your RefWorks account and import them using a RefWorks Import filter.

  • From the References menu click on Import
  • From the Import Filter/Data Source menu select Dudley Knox library, Naval Postgraduate School
  • From the Database menu select the database you are importing the records from

Capturing From a Website

You can use RefGrab-It, a RefWorks browser plug-in to capture citation information from a website.

  • From the Tools menu click on RefGrab-It
  • In the RefGrab-It Bookmarklet section right click on the RefGrab-It link and add it to your bookmarks
  • When you are on a website that you want to capture the information for, click on the RefGrab-It link in your bookmarks.
  • Fill out the prropriate fields

Manual Entry

To add a citation manually:

  • Click on the New Reference button
  • From the Fields used by menu select the citation style you will be using
  • From the Reference Type menu select the format of the material you are citing