Citation Management with RefWorks 2 (Legacy)

Instructions for exporting references into RefWorks from individual databases.

Direct Export to RefWorks

The databases in this column have a dedicated Export to RefWorks option. Use the instructions below to export citations from the database to RefWorks.


Annual Reviews

  1. Check the box next to each citation you want to export
  2. Select Download Citation from the For reviews menu
  3. Select RefWorks for Citation manager or file format
  4. Click on Download chapter metadata

CQ Researcher

  1. Mark a record you want to export by clicking on the Cite Now! Icon
  2. Select Export citation to: RefWorks

Credo Reference

  1. Click on Save next to each citation you want to export
  2. Click on Saved Results
  3. Select Export to RefWorks in the Action menu
  4. Click on Go

ebrary

  1. For each record:
  2. Click on the RefWorks button

EBSCO

  1. Mark the records you want to export by clicking on the Add to Folder
  2. Under Folder has items click on Go to: Folder View
  3. Check the box next to Select / deselect all
  4. Click on the Export icon
  5. Select Direct Export to RefWorks
  6. Click on Save

Emerald

  1. Click on the Go button after Add to the marked list
  2. Click on Marked List
  3. Click Select
  4. Click on Export options
  5. Click on Export to RefWorks

Engineering Village 2

  1. Mark the records you want to export
  2. Click on Download
  3. Select RefWorks direct import
  4. Click on Download

Google Scholar

  1. Click on Settings
  2. In the Bibliography manger section select RefWorks from the Show links to import citations into drop-down menu
  3. Click on Save Preferences
  4. Click on Import into RefWorks for each record you want to import

IEEE Xplore

  1. Mark the records you want to export
  2. Click on Download Citations
  3. Select RefWorks
  4. Click on the Download Citations button

IOP (Institute of Physics)

  1. For each record:
  2. Select RefWorks (Direct Export)
  3. Click on Export Results

JSTOR

  1. Check the box next to each citation you want to export
  2. Click on the Export Selected Citations drop down menu
  3. Click on Export to RefWorks 

Knovel

  1. On the title record for each book:
  2. Click on Citation
  3. Click on Export
  4. Click on RefWorks

LexisNexis Academic (the one that does not require a password)

  1. Mark the records you want to export.
  2. Click on the Export Bibliographic Records icon (the Book icon)
  3. A new window will open and RefWorks Format is automatically selected
  4. Click on Export

NewsBank

  1. Mark the records you want to export
  2. Click on the Bibliography (export) link
  3. Click on the RefWorks Direct button

Project Muse

  1. Click on Save Citation for the records you want to export
  2. Click on Saved Citations
  3. Click on Export to RefWorks

ProQuest

  1. Mark the records you want to export
  2. Click on ... Save
  3. Click on RefWorks
  4. Click on the Continue button

Science Direct

  1. Mark the records you want to export
  2. Hover your curser over Export/Save
  3. Click on RefWorks

Wiley Online Library

  1. Check the box next to each citation you want to export
  2. Click on Export Citation
  3. Select RefWorks from the Format drop down menu
  4. Click on Submit

Taylor & Francis Online

  1. On the record for each citation you want to export
  2. Click on Download Citation
  3. Select RefWorks Direct Export
  4. Click on Download Citations

Web of Science

  1. For each record you want to export
  2. Click on Add to Marked List
  3. Click on Marked List
  4. Select destination Save to RefWorks

WorldCat (OCLC)

  1. Mark the records you want to export
  2. Click on Export
  3. Select Export To: RefWorks
  4. Click on Export

Databases That Don't Work with RefWorks

Some databases will not work with RefWorks (or any other bibliography management software) because of the way in which they structure their records. The following databases will not work with RefWorks. If you want to put citations from these databases into RefWorks, you will need to manually enter the information.


 

  • Open Source Enterprise Formerly FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
  • Jane’s
  • Homeland Security Digital Library
  • LexisNexis nexis.com and lexis.com (LexisNexis Academic does work with RefWorks)
  • Torpedo ULTRA (but you can get many of the same citations, but not full text articles, from Science Direct (see directions above)

Create a Text File to Import into RefWorks

The databases in this column require that you create a text file of citations that you can then import into RefWorks. Use the instructions below to export citations from the database to RefWorks.


 

ACM Digital Library

  1. View a citation you wish to export in full format
  2. Click on Display Formats : BibTeX
  3. Copy and paste the results into a Document and save as a .txt file
  4. Log in to RefWorks.
  5. Click on References/Import
  6. Select BibTeX as the Import filter/Data Source and ACM Digital Library as the database
  7. Browse to the file that you saved earlier
  8. Click on Import

AIAA Aerospace Research Central

  1. For each record you want to export:
  2. Click on Citation
  3. Click on Downlaod to Citation Manager
  4. Click on Download article citation data
  5. Choose Save File and click OK
  6. Log in to RefWorks
  7. Click on References/Import
  8. Select RIS as the Import Filter/Data Source and RIS as the Database
  9. Browse to the file that you saved earlier
  10. Click on Import

CRCnetBASE

  1. Check the box next to each citation you want to export
  2. Click on Download Citations
  3. Click on Download Publication Citation Data
  4. Click on Save
  5. Log in to RefWorks
  6. Click on References/Import
  7. Select RIS as the Import filter/Data Source and RIS as the database
  8. Browse to the file that you saved earlier
  9. Click on Import

DTIC

  1. For each record
  2. Highlight and copy the citation information
  3. Log in to RefWorks
  4. Click on References/Import
  5. Select Dudley Knox Library, Naval Postgraduate School as the Import Filter/Data Source
  6. Select DTIC as the Database
  7. Click on From Text
  8. Paste the citation into the text box
  9. Click on Import

DTIC Online Access Controlled

  1. From your list of search results "Add" the records that you want to export
  2. Click on My Research to access your list of saved hits
  3. Click on Export
  4. Select Citation Format:  Standard Display
  5. Click on Export
  6. Click on BibTeX
  7. Save the file in the default format (txt)
  8. Log into RefWorks
  9. Click on References/Import
  10. Select BibTex as the Import Filter/Data Source and Multiple Databases as the Database
  11. Click on From Text
  12. Click on From Text File and select the file you saved earlier
  13. Click on Import

Ingenta Online Articles and Ingenta Fax/ariel Articles

  1. Click on ADD to mark the articles you want to import
  2. Click on Export Options
  3. Click on Export options
  4. Click on plain text
  5. Using the functionality of your browser, save the list as a text file (not an html file)
  6. Log in to RefWorks
  7. Click on References/Import
  8. Select Dudley Knox Library, Naval Postgraduate School as the Import Filter/Data Source and Ingenta Online Articles as the Database
  9. Browse to the name of the file that you saved earlier
  10. Click on Import

MathSciNet (AMS)

  1. Click on Clipboard below each citation you want to export
  2. Click on the Clipboard tab at the top of the screen
  3. Select Citations(BibTeX) from the Format drop-down menu
  4. Click on Saveclip
  5. Using the functionality of your browser, save the list as a text file (not an html file)
  6. Log in to RefWorks
  7. Click on References/Import
  8. Select BibTeX as the Import filter/Data Source and MathSciNet as the database
  9. Browse to the file that you saved earlier
  10. Click on Import

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

  1. On the record page for each item:
  2. Click on RIS
  3. Using the functionality of your browser, save the list as a text file (not an html file)
  4. Log in to RefWorks.
  5. Click on References/Import
  6. Select RIS as the Import Filter/Data Source and RIS as the Database
  7. Browse to the file that you saved earlier
  8. Click on Import

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

  1. Mark the articles you want to import
  2. Click on Download
  3. Use your browser functionality to save the record as a text file (not a web page)
  4. Log in to RefWorks
  5. Click on References/Import
  6. Select Dudley Knox Library, Naval Postgraduate School as the Import Filter/Data Source and NCJRS Abstracts Database as the Database
  7. Click on Import Data from the following Text File
  8. Browse to the file that you saved earlier
  9. Click on Import

Sage Journals Online

  1. Mark the records you want to export
  2. Click on ADD citations
  3. Click on Save/Print/Email/Download
  4. Click on Download To Citation Manager
  5. Click on Click Here to Download and save the file
  6. Highlight and copy the records
  7. Log in to RefWorks
  8. Click on References/Import
  9. Select RefWorks Tagged Formatl as the Import Filter/Data Source
  10. Click on From Text
  11. Paste the records into the text box
  12. Click on Import

SPIE Digital Library

  1. On the record page for each item:
  2. Click on Get Citation
  3. Click on RefWorks
  4. Save the text file
  5. Log in to RefWorks.
  6. Click on References/Import
  7. Select RefWorks Tagged Format as the Import filter/Data Source and Tagged Format as the database
  8. Browse to the file that you saved earlier
  9. Click on Import

SpringerLink

  1. On the record page for each item:
  2. Click on Export Citations
  3. Select RefWorks (RIS) from the Select Download drop-down menu
  4. Save the text file
  5. Log in to RefWorks.
  6. Click on References/Import
  7. Select RefWorks Tagged Format as the Import filter/Data Source and Tagged Format as the database
  8. Browse to the file that you saved earlier
  9. Click on Import