Citation Management with RefWorks 3

Plug-in or Add-in?

To format references in your paper, there is an Add-in for Microsoft Word 2016 for Windows and Mac. This is called RefWorks Citation Manager. Users of earlier versions of word will use a Plug-in called either Write-N-Cite or ProQuest for Word, which is available for download in their RefWorks account. 

Once installed you can link your Word program to your RefWorks database and insert formatted citations and bibliographies into your papers.

Write-N-Cite not Installing

If you are having trouble installing Write-N-Cite please see RefWorks' Installation Troubleshooting guide


I installed Write-N-Cite but it's not showing up!
Scholars Portal

Write-N-Cite Disappears

If your Write-N-Cite/ProQuest for Word disappears from your Word (Windows version), follow the instructions in this document.

Write-N-Cite for Word

Works with Word 2016 and earlier for PC, works with Mac Word prior to 2016 (but not Mac Word 2016)

Step by step instruction for installing RefWorks Write-N-Cite

  • Login to RefWorks
  • Click on the More icon
  • Click on Tools
  • Download the default Write-N-Cite 4 for Mac or Windows
    • For Windows select 32 Bit or 64 Bit depending on which version of Word you have. (In Word click on File/Help to see which version you have).
  • Close Word before installing.

Once Write-N-Cite is installed in Windows there will be a new tab in the ribbon in Word called ProQuest.

  • Click on the ProQuest tab
  • Make sure RefWorks is selected
  • Login to your RefWorks account

 On a Mac a new tool bar will be installed. If you do not see the tool bar:

  • Click on View >Tool Bars
  • Make sure that ProQuest for Word is checked.

RefWorks Citation Manager in Word 2016

The RefWorks Citation Manager add-in for both Mac and Windows users of Word 2016 does not work correctly. Windows users should install the Write-N-Cite 32 bit plug-in instead. Mac users (of Word 2016 only), should not use RefWorks for citation purposes at this time.

Below are instructions for installing RefWorks Citation Manager Add-in in Windows 2016. However, we strongly caution that this add-in is not working correctly and we do not advise using it.

Write-N-Cite Tips

Also see tips for working with the NPS Thesis template


To insert page numbers in citations

  • For in-text citations
    • Edit the citation
    • Enter page number in the Suffix field
    • Add spacing and punctuation as needed
  • For a Footnote
    • Edit citation
    • Check Override Pages
    • Enter page number in the following text box
    • Add spacing and punctuation as needed
    • To add a page number to an Ibid enter the page number in the Suffix box

If you make changes to your RefWorks database on the web you need to update the database in Word. If you change a reference that is linked to your paper you also need to Reapply Output Style for those references to update in your paper.

  • Click on Sync My Database
  • Click on Reapply Output Style

If you are using a footnote style and you insert a previously used reference it will automatically add it as an in-text citation. To change this to a footnote:

  • Edit the citation
  • Check the Make Footnote option

If you move text with linked references so that the order of references has changed you need to reapply the output style in order for the references to appear properly in the new order.

  • Click on Reapply Output Style

If you are using Chicago Notes & Bibliography and have inserted your bibliography, Write-N-Cite will not let you edit your footnotes. To edit your footnotes you will have to remove the bibliography.

  • From the Bibliography menu select Remove Bibliography
  • You can now edit your footnotes

If the Write-N-Cite tab disappears from the ribbon in Word it may have been disabled. To reenable:

  • In Word go to the Options menu
    • In Word 2010 this is on the File tab
    • In earlier versions click on the Microsoft Office symbol in the upper left
  • Click on Add-Ins
  • If Write-N-Cite is listed in the Disabled Application Add-Ins list it must be enabled
  • In the Manage drop down menu select Disabled Items
  • Click Go
  • Select Write-N-Cite from the Disable Items list
  • Click on Enable
  • Restart Word

If you are no longer able to access your RefWorks database from Write-N-Cite, the link to your database may have become corrupted. To fix this:

  • Close Word
  • Go to C:\Users\your user name\AppData\Local
    • To see this folder you need to enable Show hidden files and folders in Folder Options
  • Delete all the files beginning with pq. (e.g. pq.db)
  • Open Word
  • Synch with your RefWorks database

 

Word 2016 Resources

RefWorks Citation Manager
Gonzaga University

Write-N-Cite for Mac (for earlier versions of Word)

Write-N-Cite (Mac)
University of North Carolina

How to Use WNC 4 for Mac
Syracuse University

Using Write-N-Cite 4
Scholars Portal