Research Guides: Statistics: Energy & Environment

Energy

Annual Energy Review
Energy consumption, financial indicators, energy resources, petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear, renewable, environment.
Country, Region and Topic Analysis Briefs
By country, region, and commercial group (OECD, OPEC). Oil, natural gas, coal, and electricity production & consumption, primary energy, energy intensity, CO2 emissions, imports/exports for all fuels.
Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
Energy Information Administration (EIA)
Analysis & projections, markets & finance, environmental indicators. Petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, renewables, total energy, carbon dioxide.
Energy Statistics Database (UN)
Biodiesel, coal, electricity, hydroelectricity, jet fuel, natural gas, oil, solar, etc.
Energy Statistics Yearbook (UN)
Production, trade, transformation, and final consumption for a range of energy products, conventional and renewable. 1950-2009.
Energy Technology RD&D Budget Database
Tracking trends in spending by energy technology in IEA countries back to 1974
Global Oil and Gas Plant Tracker
This provides a worldwide dataset of oil and gas-fired power plants
International Energy Agency (IEA)
Organized by country or region - Coal, CO2 emissions, electricity, energy balances & efficiency, natural gas, oil, prices & taxes, RD&D, renewables.
International Energy Outlook
Annual analysis and projections including world energy demand & economic outlook, liquid fuels, natural gas, coal, electricity, buildings, industrial & transportation sectors energy consumption, CO2 emissions.
International Energy Portal
Overview, data, rankings and analysis by country and region
International Energy Statistics
Fuel production, consumption, imports, exports, capacity, stocks, etc.
Key World Energy Statistics (KWES)
this is a comprehensive series of energy databases and data services including World Energy Statistics and Balances.
NationMaster.com
Useful for comparing statistics between nations in a variety of categories
Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)
Taxes on oil, upstream & downstream capacity, oil reserves, market indicators, production allocations, etc.

SAGE Data
U.S. and international statistics. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather

Solar & Wind Energy Resource Assessment
Solar, wind, climate data, and country profiles.
UN Energy Statistics
Collects energy stats for 190 countries and the Energy Statistics Database contains energy statistics for the period 1950-2012.
US Energy Information Administration
Petroleum, natural gas, alternative fuels, nuclear energy, monthly & yearly forecasting tools, financial analyses, etc.
World Resources Institute
Maps, data sets, charts & graphs, videos. Climate, energy, food, forests, water, cities & transport, governance, business, financial analysis, monthly & yearly forecasting tools, etc.

Environment

Air Pollution
World Health Organization - Database on outdoor air pollution in cities from 91 countries.
Environment Statistics - Country Snapshots (UN Statistics Division)
Country fact sheets: air & climate, biodiversity, economy, energy, land & agriculture, population, waste, water & sanitation with key economic and social indicators.
Environmental Protection Agency
Air, climate change, ecosystems, emergencies, health, land, waste & cleanup, pesticides, substances & toxics, sustainable practices, water.
International and Regional Data Sources
Coverage areas include: air pollution, biodiversity, climate change, energy & minerals, forests, greenhouse gases, marine & coastal areas, land & agriculture and more.
Maps & Data (World Resources Institute)
Maps, data sets, charts & graphs, videos. Climate, energy, food, forests, water, cities & transport, governance, business, financial analysis, monthly & yearly forecasting tools, etc.
National Climatic Data Center (NOAA)
Weather & climate data. Land-based, marine, model, radar, weather balloon, satellite, paleoclimatic data sets.
National Snow & Ice Data Center
Snow & land ice, agriculture, atmosphere, glaciers/ice sheets, oceans (bathymetry/topography), etc.

SAGE Data
U.S. and international statistics. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather

World Bank Environmental Indicators

Statistics

Energy

Environment

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947