Research Guides: Acquisition & Contracting : Reports

DTIC Online: Public and Access Controlled Sites

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
Publicly available documents in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.

For a better search experience, you can use the National Technical Reports Library instead. Full text for most reports are available there.
Defense Technical Information Center Research & Engineering Gateway (DTIC R&E)
Both publicly available and access controlled documents in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.

Click the Access-Controlled Sites tab. Accounts available to DOD and federal government employees and their contractors. CAC login/registration required.

Find Public NPS Technical Reports

NPS Archive: Calhoun

GAO "Defense Acquisitions: Assessments of Selected Weapon Programs"

The Government Accountability Office (GAO) produces an annual report "Defense Acquisitions: Assessments of Selected Weapon Programs." Links to the pdf files for the most recent years are below.

Congressional Research Service (CRS)

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a division of the Library of Congress that produces analytical, non-partisan reports. Unfortunately, they do not maintain a public website. See our guide below for links to many free and subscription sites where you can find CRS reports. You can also request print copies from your Congressional Representative.

CRS reports are often updated, so try to find the most recent version using the resources in our guide.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
by Greta E. Marlatt Last Updated Feb 21, 2020 240 views this year

Our guide to finding CRS reports.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
The Congressional Research Service's site for finding current and recent CRS Reports

CRS offers a variety of written products to Congress, including its well-known reports that provide in-depth research and analysis.

CRS Report: Using Data to Improve Defense Acquisitions

Using Data to Improve Defense Acquisitions: Background, Analysis, and Questions for Congress
"This report examines (1) the extent to which DOD effectively uses data to inform decision-making, (2) some of the critical elements needed for DOD to use data more effectively, (3) recent efforts to improve DOD's use of data, and (4) potential questions for Congress. This report focuses primarily (but not exclusively) on defense acquisitions as a case study examining how effectively DOD uses data to support its decision-making."

CRS Report: Defense Acquisitions: How and Where DOD Spends Its Contracting Dollars

This periodically updated report "examines how much money DOD obligates on contracts, what DOD is buying, and where that money is being spent. It also examines the extent to which these data are sufficiently reliable to use as a factor when developing policy or analyzing government operations."

Defense Acquisitions: How and Where DOD Spends Its Contracting Dollars. 2018
July 2, 2018 . R44010
Defense Acquisitions: How and Where DOD Spends Its Contracting Dollars. 2016
Dec. 2, 2016. R44010
Defense Acquisitions: How and Where DOD Spends Its Contracting Dollars. 2015
April 30, 2015. R44010

Library Search

Find NPS Theses & Dissertations (Restricted)

NPS Restricted Collection

Not yet registered?
request an account

Available only to currently affiliated NPS users:
U.S. military, government employees, and contractors.

Find restricted (Controlled Unclassified Information) NPS-authored scholarly works (Theses, Dissertations, Capstone Project Reports, MBA Professional Reports, Joint Applied Project Reports, and other NPS degree-earning written works)

Other Sites for Finding Defense-Related Reports

Government and other agencies produce a variety of defense-related reports that are relevant to research in GSDM curricula. The library owns some, and many are freely available on the Internet. Below are some agencies that produce defense-related reports.

Acquisition Research Program (NPS)
Click on Publications to access reports and theses on defense acquisition topics.
Center for Defense Management Research (NPS)
This NPS Graduate School of Defense Management Center performs research on business management reform in National Defense. Many of their reports as well as descriptions of future projects are posted on this site.
Center for Naval Analyses
Click on Our Research to search for publications.

more... less...

CNA analysts perform federally funded research for the Navy and Marine Corps on such subjects as National Defense Policy, Humanitarian and Peace Operations, Naval Operational Policy, Business Practices and Processes, Military Health Care, and lots more. From their web site you can search for selected abstracts. We own many CNA reports. Please also check in our Restricted Resources and Services library (located on the first deck of Dudley Knox Library), since many CNA reports are limited to Government or DoD only, and may be difficult to locate elsewhere. CNA only sends selected reports to DTIC.

Defense Science Board Reports
Homeland defense, nuclear/WMD deterrence, non-traditional conflicts, information superiority, intelligent/autonomous systems, technological surprise, peacekeeping/humanitarian missions, smarter/safer/secure logistics
DOD Inspector General Publications
The DOD Inspector General conducts audits and investigations of DOD programs and operations. Many of their reports are available full text online, and the Library owns many in print.
Government Accountability Office (GAO)
Reports & testimonies, legal decisions & opinions, comptroller general presentations, etc. published by this agency which serves as a "watchdog" organization for Congress.

Logistics Management Institute Reports
LMI is a private, non-profit corporation providing government with management advice. Areas of interest include: Acquisition; Facilities, Environment, and Asset Management; Financial Management; Information and Technology; Intelligence Programs; Logistics; and Organizations and Human Capital.
RAND Reports and Publications
RAND produces analyses of a wide variety of national public policy issues, including defense. From their web site you can search for abstracts and obtain selected reports full text. The Library owns many Rand reports. RAND sends many of their reports to DTIC.

DOD Annual Report "Performance of the Defense Acquisition System"

DOD produced these reports on the performance of the defense acquisition system annually, 2013-2016.

Performance of the Defense Acquisition System, 2016 Annual Report
Performance of the Defense Acquisition System, 2015 Annual Report
Performance of the Defense Acquisition System, 2014 Annual Report
Performance of the Defense Acquisition System, 2013 Annual Report
This first report focuses primarily on performance related to Major Defense Acquisition Programs (MDAPs). It does not delve into specifics of the individual programs. It uses aggregated data to shed light on macro-level performance indicators for the acquisition system as a whole.

Acquisition & Contracting

DTIC Online: Public and Access Controlled Sites

Find Public NPS Technical Reports

NPS Archive: Calhoun

GAO "Defense Acquisitions: Assessments of Selected Weapon Programs"

Congressional Research Service (CRS)

CRS Report: Using Data to Improve Defense Acquisitions

CRS Report: Defense Acquisitions: How and Where DOD Spends Its Contracting Dollars

Library Search

Find NPS Theses & Dissertations (Restricted)

NPS Restricted Collection

Other Sites for Finding Defense-Related Reports

DOD Annual Report "Performance of the Defense Acquisition System"

New RAND Reports on National Security

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947