Journal articles and reports collected and translated by the CIA covering aeronautics, rocketry, and Space Sciences during the second half of the 20th century.
19th and 20th century African newspapers, featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
ProQuest's Alexander Street products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
Applied, nuclear, condensed matter, particle, and solid state physics. Astrophysics, energy, optics, relativity.
Searches Physics Review Letters and other journals.
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books covering the Korean and Vietnamese conflicts.
Thousands of commentaries on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American and Native American history covering foreign reactions to America's struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond.
Physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics
Open access to pre-prints of research articles and conference publications.
Articles are not peer-reviewed by arXiv..
Economics, politics and government, sociology, history, and religion of East, Southeast, and South Asia citations.
The Bibliography of Asian Studies contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Includes previously undigitized files from eleven government departments, with associated adverts and propaganda. The documents present voices from the top of government alongside the narratives and testimonies of ordinary citizens.
Corrections, courts, crime type, Criminal Justice Data Improvement Program, employment & expenditure, federal, Indian Country justice statistics, law enforcement, victims
Marketing, management, production and operations management, accounting, finance, economics, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses
Reviews of academic books, media, and internet resources.
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year Choice publishes more than 7,000 reviews.
Hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights
Journal articles and reports collected and translated by the CIA covering the rise of modern climate science and environmentalism during the second half of the 20th century.
Files from the political departments of the U.K. Foreign Office responsible for dealing with and reporting on the Soviet Union and the socialist states of Eastern Europe during the Cold War.
Translated sources and analysis from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.
Journal articles and reports collected and translated by the CIA covering the development of computing and artificial intelligence during the second half of the 20th century.
Federal open government data site.
Find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Topics: Agriculture, climate, consumer, ecosystems, education, energy, finance, health, local government, manufacturing, maritime, ocean, public safety, science & research.
See also: resources.data.gov for policies, tools, case studies, and other resources to support data governance, management, exchange, and use throughout the federal government
Database of digital high to medium resolution (GSD<50m) Earth observation satellites, government or commercial (excluding universities). Includes LEO ELINT satellites, and film systems launched since 2000.
Extensive collection of original research on defense acquisition from American and international acquisition professionals, including military officers and civilian researchers.
Unclassified DSB reports and executive summaries are available to the public and can be accessed by clicking on the name of the report. Alternatively, they can be accessed through Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) by clicking on the DTIC AD number.
DSB reports classified as Limited Distribution (FOUO, CUI, Distribution B, C, or D) can be accessed through DTIC by clicking on the DTIC AD number provided (government-issued CAC card holders only).
DSB reports classified as Secret can be accessed, by those with appropriate clearances, through DTIC via SIPRnet (https://www.dtic.smil.mil). The appropriate AD number is supplied when available.
Publicly releasable documents only in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.
Each product listed on the page must be searched separately.
This archive has limited search filtering capabilities. For a better search experience, you can use the National Technical Reports Library or if you are eligible, register and use the DTIC R&E Gateway and use the Advanced Search to filter for "A - Approved for Public Release" documents.
Alternate Name(s)
U.S. Government Publishing Office
DiscoverGov provides simple, one-stop searching across multiple U.S. Federal Government databases including GPO's Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) and GovInfo.
CAC login/registration required. Both publicly releasable and access controlled documents in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.
Click the Access-Controlled Sites tab. Access available to U.S. DOD/military employees and U.S. government employees and their contractors.
Multidisciplinary
If prompted for credentials when downloading or accessing "My Bookshelf," enter your NPS credentials.
See How do I use Ebook Central for more information.
Curriculum organization, government & politics, learning & perception, measurement, research & theory, social processes & structures, tests & scales, etc.
Basic citation management tool. NPS users can set up an account for free through Web of Science. Must be on campus or be on the VPN to set up your account.
System and component level technologies for chemical, electrical, and nuclear propulsion for rockets, missiles, space and gun propulsion systems; as well as the performance, safety and handling of energetics and explosives.
Access restricted to qualified U.S. Citizens. Must register.
Official database for reporting US assistance to the rest of the world. This combines the U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Greenbook) and the US Annual Assistance report (OECD/DAC)
Wide variety of business, company, financial, and organization directories
Titles include Brands and Their Companies, Business Rankings Annual, Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory, Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S, Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, Gale Directory of Databases, Information Industry Directory, Market Share Reporter, Publishers Directory, Ward's Business Directory Mexico and Canada, Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Reports & testimonies, legal decisions & opinions, comptroller general presentations, etc. published by this agency which serves as a "watchdog" organization for Congress.
This project is a multi-institutional effort to collect and code data on state action toward terrorist organizations or their constituencies in select countries.
Periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more dealing with Gun Regulation and Legislation in America.
Primarily U.S. national and regional historical newspapers. Most coverage in the 1850-1949 range.
For more sources that cover historical US, international, and regional newspapers, see our News Sources research guide
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the following newspapers: Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Times (1851-2007), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), Washington Post (1877-1994)
U.S. policy documents, key federal, state and municipal documents, links to important sites, hearings, CRS reports, multimedia materials, theses, gray literature, Homeland Security related news and more.
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
Tool revealing emerging science trends as well as influential individuals, institutions, papers, journals and countries in your field of research. Based on Web of Science citation metrics.
News and documents focusing on defense and aerospace programs, procurement & policy-making.
Includes Inside the Pentagon, Inside the Navy, Inside the Army, Inside the Air Force, and Inside Missile Defense
International Terrorism: Attributes of Terrorist Events (ITERATE) and Data on Terrorist Suspects (DOTS)
Alternate Name(s)
vinyard
1960-2019
ITERATE includes data such as location, casualties, types of attacks, outcomes, perpetrators, nationalities, fates of terrorists,
DOTS covers terrorists and their biographies
The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
Military systems & equipment, geopolitical & terrorism intelligence, defense news & analysis, country security & threat assessments, and order of battle information for military worldwide.
At the Janes site enter your NPS email (e.g. john.doe@nps.edu). If you have difficulty accessing Janes, contact Ask a Librarian
Journal articles, books, serials, and radio and television transcripts from around the world. Global perspectives on high-interest issues from 1957 to 1995.
Journals do not include last 2-5 years.
Multidisciplinary digital library that provides access to a vast collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources across 75 disciplines.
JSTOR employs a "moving wall" system between the latest published issue of a journal and the most recent issue available on JSTOR.
This link goes to the sign in page for all the LexisNexis products
Get the login credentials at Lexis & Nexis (NPS login required)
Once signed in, you can choose which database to search from the grid menu in the upper left corner. (Databases: Lexis, Nexis, Nexis Dossier, Nexis Uni, Shepards' BriefCheck, Shepard's BriefLink, Total Patent One)
Newspapers, news wires, TV & radio transcripts, congressional transcripts, magazines, journals, business publications, federal/congressional, state, and International law
Company financials, industry reports, country profiles.
We subscribe to the USA Company Databases (active and inactive), the International Company Databases (active and inactive), and the D&B Private Company Database.
Company financials, industry reports, country profiles.
We subscribe to the USA Company Databases (active and inactive), the International Company Databases (active and inactive), and the D&B Private Company Database.
A service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP). MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Military capabilities and defence economics worldwide.
It contains region-by-region analysis of the major military and economic developments affecting defence and security policies and the trade in weapons and other military equipment.
Official, reviewed lessons learned describing the original driving event and providing recommendations that feed into NASA’s continual improvement via training, best practices, policies, and procedures
Criminal, juvenile justice & law enforcement publications, reports, articles, statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional and training materials, etc.
The Naval Visibility and Management of Operating and Support Costs (VAMOSC) management information system collects and reports US Navy and Marine Corps historical operating and support (O&S) costs. VAMOSC provides the direct O&S costs of weapon systems, some linked indirect costs (e.g., ship depot overhead), and related non-cost information such as flying hour metrics, steaming hours, age of aircraft, etc. The VAMOSC Military Personnel databases contain personnel costs and attribute data. VAMOSC has recently added databases covering Navy Department civilian personnel and Naval facilities physical characteristics and operating costs.
Please Note: Naval VAMOSC data sources and providers have
categorized the submitted data as Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) therefore all data contained, presented, and extracted from the VAMOSC database is now CUI. It is the responsibility of all users to ensure information extracted from Naval VAMOSC is appropriately marked and properly handled in accordance with DoD Instruction 5200.48. If you are not sure of the safeguards necessary for the information, contact your functional lead or Information Security Officer.
The National Emergency Training Center Library (NETC) maintains a comprehensive index of fire service, EMS, and emergency management literature. Hundreds of scholarly and trade journal articles are added every year.
Separate password not required beyond your NPS credentials
Journals, trade publications, newspapers, transcripts, company information, U.S. and International legal information and more
LexisNexis offers three major databases for NPS users: Nexis, Lexis, and Nexis Uni. Nexis Uni is designed with a simplified search interface, uses a targeted subset of Lexis and Nexis.
Current issues of newspapers, news wires, magazines, news weblogs, broadcast transcripts and more, and are provided in full-text (no graphics).
See this FAQ for more information.
If you are prompted for login info to access Nexis or Lexis, go to Lexis & Nexis (NPS login required).
Archive of NPS-authored publications including theses, reports, articles and more.
NPS publications, instructional content and scholarly research, including NPS graduate theses and dissertations dating from the 1930s through the present. Calhoun also provides access to documents created by administrative offices, departments and programs at NPS. By collecting, preserving and providing access to scholarly work created at NPS, Calhoun promotes transparency, participation and cross-disciplinary collaboration.
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global reaction to the world Arms Race.
Journal articles and reports collected and translated by the CIA covering the development and use of nuclear energy during the second half of the 20th century.
Computer science, data, design, hardware, math, science, engineering, security, software development, system administration, web & mobile, business & management
Ebooks, videos, quick tech answers, self-paced learning paths and interactive coding environments to help you develop new skills, live online training courses with hands-on instruction, and case studies from leading companies that share their success stories and failures.
Articles published by Pravda during the Cold War and the years immediately following, from 1959 to 1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA.
An archive of articles published by Xinhua or New China News, the major communist Chinese newspapers, from 1946 to 1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA.
Congressional information such as bills and laws, legislative histories, hearings, reports, and other documents, Committee memberships, Congressional Record Congressional Research Service, Executive Branch, presidential materials and more.
ProQuest Congressional provides indexing and abstracting of congressional publications. Sources include: full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, committee prints, bills, Congressional Record, Bill tracking, public laws, biographical information, committees, voting records and executive branch and presidential documents. Our subscription includes information going back to the first Congress in 1789!
Full text of current and archival political news from key news sources, including: news briefings, press releases, national political coverage, investigative reporting of the federal government, in-depth news and analysis of domestic and foreign policy. Includes an archive of social media content.
Full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. Each history includes the full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.
Journals from the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber.
Children, families, and communities; cyber and data sciences; education and literacy; energy and environment; health, health care, and aging; homeland security and public safety; infrastructure and transportation; international affairs; law and business; national security and terrorism; science and technology; workers and the workplace
RAND is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis. As a nonpartisan organization, RAND is widely respected for operating independent of political and commercial pressures.
The single portal for discovery of restricted data in the federal statistical system
You must first create an account. Click the Login button.
The vast majority of ICPSR data holdings are public-use files with no access restrictions. ICPSR ensures respondent confidentiality within these datasets.
A repository of Federal Enterprise Data Resources. Policies, tools, case studies, and other resources to support data governance, management, exchange, and use throughout the federal government.
See also data.gov for Federal open government data
Find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Topics: Agriculture, climate, consumer, ecosystems, education, energy, finance, health, local government, manufacturing, maritime, ocean, public safety, science & research.
U.S. and international statistics. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather
Includes a range of ebook and reference content including encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries on a range of topics including business, management, psychology, sociology, education, criminology, criminal justice, health and social care, communication studies and more.
Scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, business case studies, and videos
How to conduct social science research from start to finish: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting & analyzing data, and writing up your findings. Includes the "Little Green Books" (quantitative methods), and the "Little Blue Books" (qualitative methods).
Learn more about SRMO and social science research methods.
International relations and security trends, multilateral peace operations, military expenditure, arms transfers, arms embargoes, national reports databases.
Essential legal materials on slavery in the US and the English-speaking world. Every federal, state, and colony statute on slavery, as well as all reported state and federal cases on the subject.
Department of Energy's Advanced Grid Research and Development activities accelerate discovery and innovation in electric transmission and distribution technologies and create "next generation" devices, software, tools, and techniques to help modernize the electric grid.
The scope of the SCOAP3 repository is neither to duplicate arXiv nor the publisher platforms, nor offer value-added services such as those of INSPIRE. It is rather a staging platform, for further distribution of information.
Aerospace, business & management, computer science, economics, electrical & mechanical engineering, homeland security, information technology & security, material science, math, physics, public administration, military & strategic studies, politics & international relations, systems engineering, telecommunications
Comprehensive resource for the study of political violence.
TRAC gathers the best information for exploration of this topic by faculty, scholars, students, government and defense professionals, as well as the general public.
All transportation modalities, including: air, rail, highway, pipeline, water, urban transport and logistics. Significant collections on law enforcement, police management, and traffic enforcement. Its collection of environmental impact statements is one of the most complete in the country.
Crime, education, environment, finance, food, gender, health, human development, indicators, industry, IT & communication, labor, national accounts, official development assistance, population, refugees, tourism, trade
Use the "Data" tab to access the various topical databases listed below.
UN Data (30+ databases), Open SDG Data Hub, Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online, SDG Indicators Global Database, UN Comtrade, National Accounts Main Aggregates, Joint Organisations Data Initiative, Disability Statistic Database, Population Census Datasets, Population and Vital Statistics Report, Demographic Yearbook System, Minimum Set of Gender Indicators, UNSD Questionnaires
Alternate Name(s)
Unmanned Systems & Robotics Database
AUVSI
Comprehensive and searchable database of all unmanned vehicles and robotic products operating in the air, ground and maritime domains. Civil, commercial, and military markets. Hosted by AUVSI. Instructions for requesting access (NPS login required)
Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS) Satellite Database
List of operational satellites currently in orbit around the Earth. Includes basic information about more than 800 satellites and their orbits, but does not contain the detailed information necessary to locate individual satellites. Users can find information about a particular satellite; identify sets of satellites having a common characteristic, such as altitude or mission; and sort or aggregate data about the whole population of satellites.
The United Nations Digital Library is a primary bibliographic database of the United Nations established in 1979. It consists the UN and non-UN documents and publications documented by the Dag Hammarskjold Library in six languages, such as Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.
Various recurring topical reports including: Health Systems,Emergency Food Security Program, US International Food Assistance Report, U.S. Overseas Loans & Grants (Greenbook)
Population, economy, business, education, emergency preparedness, employment, families & living arrangements, health, housing, income & poverty, international trade, public sector
Authoritative and comprehensive index of citations and abstracts of journal articles and conference proceedings in the Sciences and Social Sciences.
Click the Get It button in the search results to see if we have the full text article.
In the Core Collection, you can access integrated citation metrics.
Functionality in the Core Collection:
All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global reaction to major protest and reform movements.
Help with research; search strategies; finding books, articles, reports on a topic; finding NPS theses; citations & Zotero; library accounts and access
Publicly releasable documents only in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.
Each product listed on the page must be searched separately.
This archive has limited search filtering capabilities. For a better search experience, you can use the National Technical Reports Library or if you are eligible, register and use the DTIC R&E Gateway and use the Advanced Search to filter for "A - Approved for Public Release" documents.
News and documents focusing on defense and aerospace programs, procurement & policy-making.
Includes Inside the Pentagon, Inside the Navy, Inside the Army, Inside the Air Force, and Inside Missile Defense
Password Required
