Meteorology

For over forty years, the peer-reviewed Glossary of Meteorology has been the authoritative source for definitions of meteorological terms.

Long-range weather, climate, and hydrology.

Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.

The mission of the GHRC DAAC is to provide a comprehensive active archive of both data and knowledge augmentation services with a focus on hazardous weather, its governing dynamical and physical processes, and associated applications. Within this broad mandate, GHRC will focus on lightning, tropical cyclones and storm-induced hazards through integrated collections of satellite, airborne, and in-situ data sets.

Atmospheric data analysis and forecasts.

The Weather Channel and weather.com provide a national and local weather forecast for cities, as well as weather radar, report and hurricane coverage.

Weather Underground is a commercial weather service providing real-time weather information over the Internet. Weather Underground provides weather reports for most major cities around the world on its Web site, as well as local weather reports for newspapers and third-party sites.

WMO-sponsored website - World Weather Information Service (WWIS) is established as a centralized source on the Internet for media to access official weather information issued by National Meteorological and Hydrological Services (NMHSs) efficiently and effectively.

A new tool has been developed to compare the data in the ACIS database to that in GHCN-Daily. This allows users to do things like see the quality flags attached to values in GHCN-Daily that (due to failed quality control) display as missing in ACIS.

Explore numerous education materials, maps and data related to climate topics. Click across the Data Snapshots, Dataset Gallery, Climate Data Primer, and Climate Dashboard sections to see different data visualizations.

Climate Reanalyzer began in early 2012 as a platform for visualizing climate and weather forecast models. Site content is organized into three general categories: Weather Forecasts, Climate Data, and Research Tools.

CoCoRaHS is a unique, non-profit, community-based network of volunteers of all ages and backgrounds working together to measure and map precipitation (rain, hail and snow).

A collection of weather pages.

View, graph and export GLOBE data from around the world with the GLOBE Visualization System. Users can use our various filters to find both contemporary measurements and historical data ranging back to 1995.

The Integrated Ocean Observing System (IOOS®) is a national-regional partnership working to provide new tools and forecasts to improve safety, enhance the economy, and protect our environment. Integrated ocean information is available in near real time, as well as retrospectively. Easier and better access to this information is improving our ability to understand and predict coastal events - such as storms, wave heights, and sea level change. Such knowledge is needed for everything from retail to development planning.

This site is a listing of satellite images and movies taken by weather satellites around the globe.

Interactive Global Geostationary Weather Satellite Images

The goal of the SWMP is to "identify and track short-term variability and long-term changes in the integrity and biodiversity of representative estuarine ecosystems and coastal watersheds for the purpose of contributing to effective national, regional and site specific coastal zone management.

The National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) at the University of Colorado Boulder (CU Boulder), part of the CU Boulder Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES), conducts innovative research and provides open data to understand how the frozen parts of Earth affect the rest of the planet and impact society.

Upper-air observations and analysis.

The World Data System is an interdisciplinary body of the International Science Council working to provide universal, equitable access to data around the world.

Search weather data from regional climate centers. Data is available for each Weather Forecast Office (WFO).

A collaborative that enables sustained and coordinated measurements, model nowcasts and forecasts, and integrated products. Part of a national framework of integrated coastal observing systems covering all coastal areas throughout the United States.

The Climate Shift Index (CSI) reveals how much climate change influences the temperature on a particular day. The index ranges from -5 to +5 with positive levels indicating temperatures that are becoming more likely due to climate change (negative scores indicate conditions that are becoming less likely).

Coastal environmental data

The Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program provides full and open access to NASA’s collection of Earth science data for understanding and protecting our home planet.

The Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center (FNMOC) provides the highest quality, most relevant and timely worldwide meteorology and oceanography support to U.S. and coalition forces from its Operations Center in Monterey, California.

The Naval Oceanographic Office (NAVO) maximizes seapower by applying relevant oceanographic knowledge in support of U.S. National Security.

Time, earth orientation, astronomy, meteorology, oceanography, etc.

The goals of AHPS are to: Produce more accurate products incorporating advanced hydrologic science into our models; Provide more specific and timely information on fast-rising floods with increased lead time; Create easier to use products in new formats, including graphics; Create information useful in assessing risk to flooding including forecast probability; Provide products with forecast horizons for two weeks into the future and beyond; Increase the distribution of products using advanced information technologies (e.g. Internet) therefore, providing broader and more timely access and delivery of information; Expand outreach and engage partners and customers in all aspects of hydrologic product improvement.

ESRL's Global Monitoring Laboratory (GML) of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) conducts research that addresses three major challenges; greenhouse gas and carbon cycle feedbacks, changes in clouds, aerosols, and surface radiation, and recovery of stratospheric ozone.

View real-time imagery of North America, South America, and much of the Pacific Ocean from NOAA’s state-of-the-art GOES Satellites. High resolution images and animations are available in visible light, infrared, and “geocolor” to show clouds and atmospheric conditions.

The Nation’s leading authority for environmental data and manage one of the largest archives of atmospheric, coastal, geophysical, and oceanic research in the world.

The National Data Buoy Center provides real-time environmental observations collected from buoys around the world. View both recent and historical information on ocean and weather conditions, as well as any current tsunami activity. Graphs and tables of data are available for water column height at each buoy location.

Provides weather, water and climate data, forecasts, warnings, and impact-based decision support services for the protection of life and property and enhancement of the national economy.

Real-time coastal information and forecasts

View real-time hourly temperature, wind chill, and heat index values for North America in this basic map.

Diverse scientific data and information collected during OER-supported ocean expeditions, including those on NOAA Ship Okeanos Explorer. Data collections typically include oceanographic and geophysical parameters, video, images, documents, and other information, provided in a range of data formats.
Historic and real-time data, forecasts, predictions, and scientific analyses

WAVEWATCH III® is a community wave modeling framework that includes the latest scientific advancements in the field of wind-wave modeling and dynamics.