Citation Guide

How to enter the metadata in Zotero for each citation example

Zotero Examples by Source Type

ZoteroZotero

ZoteroZotero

Blog Post

Reference Entry

blog post reference


blog post

Book > Print > One author

book one author

Book > Print > Two authors, with edition number

book two authors with edition number

Book > Print > Three authors

Book Chapter in Edited Book > One author, two editors

book chapter in edited book

Book Section > Three authors, one editor > From the introduction, forward, preface, etc.

Footnote

book section introduction footnote

Short Footnote

book section introduction footnote short

Reference Entry

book section introduction ref


book section introduction

Electronic Book

Electronic Book > With DOI:

Short Footnote

book electronic footnote short

 

Reference Entry
book electronic chapter DOI reference


book electronic chapter doi


 

Electronic Book > From a library database:

book electronic from database


 

Electronic Book > From a book provider (Kindle):

 

book electronic book provider

Class Notes > Published

 Reference Entry

class notes reference


class notes published

Lecture > Unpublished

lecture unpublished

Lecture > Published (online)

lecture published

Presentation or Workshop

Reference Entry

presentation reference


presentation

Computer Program / Software

Footnote

computer software footnote

Reference Entry



computer software

Conference Proceedings (online)

conference proceedings online

Conference Proceedings (print)

Reference Entry

conference proceedings print reference


conference proceedings print

Paper Presented at Conference > Unpublished

conference paper unpublished

Data Set > Published

Data Set

data set published

Database

database reference


database 

Dictionary / Encyclopedia

dictionary entry

Fact Sheet

suppress author

Footnote

fact sheet footnote

Reference Entry

fact sheet reference


fact sheet

Directive

directive

Doctrine

doctrine

Field Manual / Military Regulation

field manual

Government Report > CRS Report

CRS report

Government Report > GAO Report

gao report

Government Report > Strategy Document

strategy document

Instruction

instruction

 

Memorandum

Reference Entry

memorandum reference


memorandum 

Handbook > Online

handbook

Handbook > Print

handbook print

Journal Article

Journal Article > With DOI:

journal article online

Journal Article > From a library database:

journal article from library database

Journal Article > Print:

journal article print

Legal > Bill / Resolution > Federal unenacted (Chicago)

Footnote


Legal > Bill / Resolution > Federal unenacted > From Congress.gov (Turabian )

Footnote

legal bill federal Turabian from congress.gov footnote

Reference Entry

legal bill federal Turabian from congress.gov reference


Legal > Bill / Resolution > Federal unenacted> From Congressional Record (Turabian )

Footnote

legal bill federal Turabian Congressional record footnote

 

Reference Entry

legal bill federal Turabian Congressional Record reference


Legal > Code of Federal Regulations (Chicago)

Footnote

legal CFR footnote


legal CFR

Legal > Code of Federal Regulations (Turabian)

suppress author

Footnote

legal cfr footnote Turabian

Short Footnote

legal CFR footnote Turabian

Reference Entry

legal CFR reference Turabian


legal CFR Turabian

Legal > Congressional Hearing > Full hearing (Chicago)

suppress author

Footnote

congressional hearing footnote

Short Footnote

congressional hearing footnote short


congressional hearing

Legal > Congressional Hearing > Full hearing (Turabian)

suppress author

Short Footnote

congressional hearing Turabian footnote short

Reference Entry

congressional hearing Turabian reference


congressional hearing Turabian

Legal > Congressional Hearing > Testimony within a Hearing (Chicago)

suppress author

Footnote

congressional hearing testimony footnote

Short Footnote

congressional hearing footnote short


congressional hearing testimony

Legal > Congressional Hearing > Testimony within a hearing (Turabian)

suppress author

Short Footnote

congressional hearing testimony Turabian footnote short

Reference Entry

congressional hearing testimony Turabian reference


congressional hearing testimony turabian

Legal > Court Case Decision > Lower court > page cited (Chicago)

Footnote

legal court case lower page footnote

Short Footnote

legal court case lower page footnote short


legal court case lower page

Legal > Court Case Decision > Lower court > whole decision (Chicago)

Footnote

legal court case lower whole footnote

Short Footnote

legal court case lower whole footnote short

legal court case lower whole

Legal > Court Case Decision > Lower court > page cited (Turabian)

Footnote

legal court case lower page Turabian footnote

Short Footnote

legal court case lower page Turabian footnote short


legal court case lower page cited Turabian

Legal > Court Case Decision > Supreme Court (Chicago)

Legal > Court Case Decision > Supreme Court (Chicago) > page cited:

legal court Supreme Court page

Legal > Court Case Decision > Supreme Court (Chicago) > whole decision:

Short Footnote

legal court case Supreme Court whole decision footnote short 


legal court Supreme Court whole decision

Legal > Court Case Decision > Supreme Court > whole decision (Turabian)

Short Footnote

legal court Supreme Court page footnote short Turabian 


legal court Supreme Court page turabian

Legal > Executive Order > Basic format (Chicago)

Footnote

legal executive order basic footnote


legal executive order 

Legal > Executive Order > Extended format (Chicago)

legal executive order extended

Legal > Executive Order (Turabian)

Footnote

legal executive order footnote Turabian

Short Footnote

legal executive order footnote short Turabian

Reference Entry

legal executive reference Turabian


legal executive order footnote short Turabian

Legal > Public Law > U.S. Statutes at Large (Chicago)

Footnotepublic law statutes footnote


Public Law U.S. Statutes

 

Legal > Public Law > U.S. Statutes at Large (Turabian)

Footnote

Public Law U.S. Statutes footnote Turabian


Public Law U.S. Statutes Turabian

Legal > Public Law > U.S. Code (Chicago)

public law U.S. Code

Legal > Public Law > U.S. Code (Turabian)

Footnote

 public law code footnote Turabian


Public Law U.S. Code Turabian

Magazine Article > Online

Magazine Article > From a website:

magazine article online

Magazine Article > From a library database:

magazine article database

Magazine Article > Print

magazine article print

Map > Google

Footnote

map google footnote

Short footnote

map google short footnote

Reference Entry

map google reference


map google

Map > Cartographer given

Footnote

map cartographer footnote

Short Footnote

map cartographer short footnote

Reference Entry

map cartographer ref


map cartographer

Multimedia > Film

Footnote

film footnote

Short Footnote

film footnote short

Reference Entry

film reference


Multimedia > Podcast

Footnote

podcast footnote

Short Footnote

multimedia podcast footnote short

Reference Entry

multimedia podcast reference


multimedia podcast

Multimedia > Streaming Video

suppress author

Footnote

multimedia video footnote

Short Footnote

multimedia video footnote short

Reference Entry

multimedia video reference


multimedia video

Newspaper Article > No author given

Newspaper Article > With DOI:

suppress author

Reference Entry

newspaper article no author doi reference


newspaper article no author DOI

Newspaper Article > With URL:

suppress author

Reference Entry

newspaper article no author URL reference


newspaper article no author URL

Newspaper Article > Author given

newspaper article author given

Patent

patent

Personal Communication > Personal Communication

personal communication

Personal Communication > Email

email 

Report > In a series

report in a series

Report > Research Report / Think Tank Report / White Paper (online)

report  research

Report > Technical Report > Author given (online)

report technical author online

Report > Technical Report > Agency as publisher (online)

report technical agency online

Report > Technical Report > Author given (print)

report technical author print

Secondary Source

Footnote

secondary source footnote

Reference Entry

secondary source reference


secondary source

Social Media

Footnote

social media twitter footnote

Short Footnote

social media twitter footnote short


social media twitter

Speech

speech

Thesis / Dissertation

Thesis / Dissertation > Thesis from an institutional archive:

thesis from institutional archive

Thesis / Dissertation > Dissertation from an institutional archive:

dissertation from institutional archive

Thesis / Dissertation > Dissertation from a commercial database

dissertation from commercial database

Unpublished Work (print)

Reference Entry

unpublished work print reference

unpublished work print

Unpublished Work (online)

Footnote

unpublished work online footnote

 

Reference Entry

unpublished work online ref


unpublished work online

Unpublished Work - Work accepted for publication (online)

Footnote

unpublished work forthcoming footnote

Reference Entry

unpublished work forthcoming reference


unpublished work forthcoming

Website / Webpage > Author and publication date given

Footnote

website author and pub date footnote

Reference Entry

website author and pub data reference


website author and pub date

Website / Webpage > No author given, organization as author

suppress author

Reference Entry

website no author organization reference


website no author organization as author reference 

Website / Webpage > No author, no date, organization as author

suppress author

Reference Entry

website no author no date organization as author


website no author no date organization as author

Website / Webpage > Jane's example

Reference Entry

website Jane's

website Jane's reference 

Wikipedia

Footnote

wikipedia footnote

Short Footnote

wikipedia footnote short

Reference Entrywikipedia reference


wikipedia

Working Paper / Occasional Paper

working or occasional paper