Citation Management with Zotero

Create a List of References or a Bibliography

What is the difference between a List of References and a Bibliography?

  • A List of References includes all works cited in a text
  • A Bibliography lists all works cited and consulted

List of ReferencesZotero add bibliography

  1. Put your cursor where you want the List of Refs to appear
  2. Click Add/Edit Bibliography
  3. Your refs will automatically update as you add more items

Bibliography

  1. In Zotero desktop, right click on your CollectionZotero create bibliography collection
  2. Select Create Bibliography from Collection
  3. Select your citation style, if different from the one highlighted
  4. Select Output Mode: Bibliography
  5. Select Output Mode: Save as RTF
  6. Click OK
  7. Save the file somewhere
  8. It will open in Word

 


 

Create a quick bibliography with Quick Copy

For short papers, Quick Copy is the easiest way to go. You can use this technique with Word, Google Docs, email, or blog posts, basically anything with a text field.

Important! When you use this method, you are not linking Word to your Zotero program and coding will not be added to your document. So if you update references, or if you change the placement of them in your Zotero library, those changes will not be reflected in your document.

 

1.  First, configure your Quick Copy preferences. You can:

  • Set the default export format
  • Set up site-specific export settings
  • Choose whether you want Zotero to include HTML markup when copying
  • Set up keyboard shortcuts


Zotero quick copy

2.  Select items in the center pane and drag them into Word.

  • To select multiple items, hold down the CTRL key (Windows) or CMD key (Mac) and drag them into Word.

Create an annotated bibliography

Available only for APA 6th ed. or Chicago 17th ed. (note). The (note) style may not satisfy the requirements for your annotated bibliography assignment. The (full note) style may be required. Please check with your instructor.

To add either the APA Annotated or Chicago Annotated style:

  1. Go to your Preferences
  2. Click the Cite tab
  3. Click Get additional styles
  4. Search for "annotated" in the Style Search Box
  5. Click the style you want to add
  6. It will then appear in your Style Manager
     

To enter your annotations in each citation:

  • For Chicago Annotated, put your annotation in the "EXTRA" field in the item record
  • For APA Annotated, put your annotation in the "ABSTRACT" field in the item record.


To create an annotated bibliography in either of these styles:

  1. Select the items you want to include in the bibliography
  2. Right click and select Create bibliography from items
  3. Select the style you want to use