Search Google for CRS Reports
If you know the report number or title you may be able to find the full text of the report using Google. Or if you want to search to see if CRS has written a report on a topic of interest, search for "CRS report" or "Congressional Research Service" and your topic keywords.
Search Archive-It CRS Reports
John Jacobs of freegovinfo.info has created a free searchable archive of CRS reports from numerous different sites. They are available at this Archive-It site and are searchable from the box below.
New Reports from Full Text Reports
FullTextReports provides free accesss to the full text of reports from numerous organizations, including Congressional Research Service.
Loading...
What is the Congressional Research Service (CRS)?
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a division of the Library of Congress. They produce analytical, non-partisan reports on topics of interest to them. Unfortunately, they do not maintain a public website with these reports. However, there are many free and subscription sites where you can find CRS reports, and you can also request print copies from your Congressional Representative.
Many CRS reports are frequently updated, so try to find the most recent version using the resources in this guide. The CRS logo and a header from a typical CRS report are below.


Free Sources for Finding CRS Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) produces analytical reports on topics of interest to Congress. Unfortunately, they do not maintain a public website with these reports. Below are some free web sites that collect CRS reports:
- University of North Texas (UNT) Digital Library CRS ReportsLibrarian's Favorite!
- Open CRS Center for Democracy & Technology
- Air War College Selected CRS Reports
- Archive-It Congressional Research Service ReportsA free, searchable archive of CRS reports harvested from numerous different sites. You can search the archive directly or link to the various sites and search them individually. Or use the search box in the box to the left called "Search Archive-It CRS Reports."
- DTIC Online Defense Technical Information Center
- Federation of American Scientists CRS Reports
- Full Text Reports (CRS Archive)
- Homeland Security Digital Library (Limited Collection)Provides free access to the full text pdf files of a wide variety of federal government documents, including CRS reports. This is a limited subset of the full HSDL collection.
- National Library for the Environment CRS ReportsNot all of the CRS reports in this collection are about environmental topics.
- University of Maryland School of Law - Thurgood Marshall Law Library CRS Reports
- US Department of State Foreign Press Center CRS Reports
- zFacts.com CRS Reports on the Web
The Library's Subscription Sources for Finding CRS Reports
The library subscribes to a couple of licensed resources that include selected CRS reports. As with all of our licensed resources, you must either come in through the Cisco VPN, or have your library account information handy to log into our Proxy Server when you are prompted to do so.
- Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Budget Tracker
CQ Budget Tracker has many budget-related CRS reports. To search for them, from the Budget Tracker home page, scroll down to the section on the left hand menu for Other Materials, then click on CRS reports. - Inside Defense
To find the CRS reports in Inside Defense, from their home page, click on Documents, then in the Topics box, click on CRS Reports.
Other Sources for CRS Reports
- Penny Hill PressAlthough the Library does not subscribe to Penny Hill Press, it is a great tool for finding out what CRS reports exist on your topic. If you want the report through Penny Hill Press you will have to pay for it. However, many of these reports are freely available through the other sites listed in this guide. If you are an NPS student, faculty or staff member and have trouble finding the pdf of a report that interests you, contact Ask a Librarian and we will try to obtain it for you.
My Profile |
Contact Info DoD regulations prohibit posting individual email or phone numbers. NPS students, faculty and staff can look me up in Outlook.Others may contact me using Ask a Librarian, linked from most of our Library web pages. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask a Librarian
If you need help getting started with your research, click on the Ask a Librarian link on most of our Library web pages and guides to get help.
Older CRS Reports
The Library has older (mid-1970's to mid-1990's) CRS reports on microfiche and microfilm. For help with these, contact Ask a Librarian.


Loading...
