Research Guides: Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports: Home

Quick Links

Search Archive-It CRS Reports

This is free searchable archive of CRS reports from numerous different sites. They are available at this Archive-It site and are searchable from the box below. Currency varies.

What is the Congressional Research Service (CRS)?

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a division of the Library of Congress. They produce analytical, non-partisan reports on topics of interest to members of Congress. In 2018 they stood up a public website for dissemination of their more recent reports, and there are a number of free and subscription sites where you can find current and older CRS reports. You can also request copies from your Congressional Representative.

Many CRS reports are frequently updated, so try to find the most recent version using the resources in this guide. The CRS logo and a header from a typical CRS report are below.

CRS Logo

CRS Header

Where to find CRS Reports

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Country profiles and information documents prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS).
CRS offers a variety of written products to Congress, including its well-known reports that provide in-depth research and analysis.
ProQuest Congressional
Included in this database is the ability to search Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports from 1916-2018.
ProQuest Congressional provides indexing and abstracting of congressional publications. Sources include: full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, committee prints, bills, Congressional Record, Bill tracking, public laws, biographical information, committees, voting records and executive branch and presidential documents. Our subscription includes information going back to the first Congress in 1789!
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
A searchable free collection updated weekly.

Archive-It Congressional Research Service Reports
This site searches across many of the sites that provide free access to CRS reports - often a lag in current updates.
Federation of American Scientists CRS Reports
A very good site for current reports, organized by broad category but not very searchable nor historic.
University of North Texas (UNT) Digital Library CRS Reports
A great colllection and very searchable but a long delay in posting the most current reports.

CRS Reports from "Greta's Weekly Email"

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) CRS Collection
All of the reports listed on greta's weekly email are posted in the HSDL. They are usually posted within 7-10 days and all prior versions are retained. This collection is open to the public.

Subject Guide

Greta E. Marlatt

Email Me

Contact:

831-656-3500

Subjects: Academic Writing, Area Studies, Conflict & Security Studies, Congressional Information, Homeland Security, Military Information, Research Tools

Need research help?

Ask a Librarian

Help with research; search strategies; finding books, articles, reports on a topic; finding NPS theses; citations & Zotero; library accounts and access

Older CRS Reports

The Library has older (mid-1970's to mid-1990's) CRS reports on microfiche and microfilm. For help with these, contact Ask a Librarian.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

Quick Links

Search Archive-It CRS Reports

What is the Congressional Research Service (CRS)?

Where to find CRS Reports

CRS Reports from "Greta's Weekly Email"

Subject Guide

Need research help?

Ask a Librarian

Older CRS Reports

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947