Research Guides: Book Reviews: Sources for Book Reviews

NPS subscriptions

Available to NPS Faculty, Staff and Students.

Booklist
1997-present
Published by the American Library Association; includes "recommended-only reviews of books, audiobooks, reference sources, video, and DVD titles."
Type book title, author, or subject in the "Search for articles within this publication" box.

Choice Reviews Online
"The premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education." Click here for information about their selection policy.
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year Choice publishes more than 7,000 reviews.
Computing Reviews
1984-present Top ranked professionals review the best books & articles in Computing literature. Click on Search, then select Simple search, then select "Type" Whole Books pull-down menu. (You can also use Advanced search and then click on the Whole Books check box.) Then type in your search term(s).
EBSCO
Our subscription covers primarily business & social sciences. Select one or more databases, then click on the "Advanced Search" tab. Scroll down and limit to "Document Type" Book Review.

EconLit
Published by the American Economic Association, [EconLit] provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature.
History
Peer-reviewed quarterly journal of historiographical essays engaging recent history publications. Reviews address all periods, places, subfields, and themes.
Type in title or keyword(s) in the "Search for articles within this publication"
History Today
Covers prehistory to the present day
Journal of economic literature
1969-present; both online and hard copy (call no. PERIODICAL J4722)
American Economic Association quarterly containing "survey and review articles, book reviews, an annotated bibliography of newly published books, and a list of current dissertations in North American universities."

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Good source for reviews of older books; does not generally have reviews from the past two to five years. Use Advanced Search & select the "Review" check box.
JSTOR employs a "moving wall" system between the latest published issue of a journal and the most recent issue available on JSTOR.
MathSciNet
1936-present. Reviews from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Under “Publication Type,” select Books.
Mathematical Reviews (1940-current). Current mathematical publications (1864-current).
Project Muse
Covers over 380 high quality humanities and social sciences journals.
ProQuest - All databases
Business, social science, news, military affairs, computing, telecommunications, science. In the Document type box, scroll down and select Review then enter an author, title, keyword, etc. in the Search box.
ProQuest Status Page
PsycINFO (ProQuest)
1960-present International literature in psychology and related disciplines.

Reference and Research Book News
2000-present
Primarily "reference and scholarly works in the social sciences and the humanities."
Type book title, author, or subject in the "Search for articles within this publication" box.

Web of Science - All databases (Clarivate)
Scholarly works in the sciences & social sciences. Click on Advanced Search button, then under Restrict results by any or all of the options below, select Book Review. Type a search using one of the suggested field tags followed by an equal sign (=) and your search term(s). Use the "Get It!" button to get full-text.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
International relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Internet Resources (Open Access)

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
1988-present. English language military and aeronautical periodicals. Include the phrase "book reviews" as part of your search.

Air University Press Book Reviews
From Strategic Studies Quarterly (SSQ) and the Air & Space Power Journal (ASPJ)
Amazon.com
H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences
1993-present
Books and multimedia resources reviewed by scholars in the social sciences, arts & humanities
• Latin American History Reviews
• Middle East Politics Review
• Military History Network Reviews
Law and Politics Book Review
(University of Maryland) 2002-present
In-depth reviews of books on the legal process and politics.
New York Review of Books
1963-present
Reviews books covering "major contemporary intellectual, political, scientific, and artistic developments and debates," as well as "classics" (fiction & non-fiction) & children's books.
New York Times Book Review
1981-present
Reviews books on "major contemporary intellectual, political, scientific, and artistic developments and debates," as well as classics & children's books. May require that you set up an account (free).
Parameters
US Army War College Quarterly 1996-present
Reviews of biographies, anthologies, etc. written by senior military officers & scholars
San Francisco Chronicle Book Review
1995-present
Times [of London] Literary Supplement
Worldwide coverage of "the work of the twentieth [and twenty-first] century's leading writers and thinkers."
Archive: 1994-present with one week lag time

Hard Copy Resources

Book Review Digest Hard copy: 1920-2003 Reference Stacks AI 3 .B68
This tool provides the complete reference, a brief summary of each book indexed as well as references to sources that have done a review. A synopsis of each review is included. It is organized by author but also has indexing by title and subject.

Book Review Index Hard copy: 1965-2006 Reference Stacks AI 3 .B7
This source is organized by author and has an index by title. It provides references to book reviews.

New York Times Book Review Index Hard copy: 1896-1970 ABSTRACTS AI21 .N49
Indexed by book author, title, byline, subject, and "category" (literary genre).

Library Liaison

Greta E. Marlatt

Email Me

Contact:

831-656-3500

Subjects: Academic Writing, Area Studies, Conflict & Security Studies, Congressional Information, Homeland Security, Military Information, Research Tools

Book Reviews

Introduction

NPS subscriptions

Internet Resources (Open Access)

Hard Copy Resources

Library Liaison

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947