Research Guides: Satellite Communications: Satellite Jamming

Select Databases

Access World News (NewsBank)
Local, regional, national, and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection (ProQuest)
Aeronautics, astronautics, space sciences, chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics.
arXiv.org
Physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics
Open access to pre-prints of research articles and conference publications.
Articles are not peer-reviewed by arXiv..
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) (publicly releasable)
Publicly releasable documents only in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.
Each product listed on the page must be searched separately.

This archive has limited search filtering capabilities. For a better search experience, you can use the National Technical Reports Library or if you are eligible, register and use the DTIC R&E Gateway and use the Advanced Search to filter for "A - Approved for Public Release" documents.
Janes
1. Log in with your NPS email.
2. Enter search term (i.e. satellite jamming) into search bar.
3. Click on News/Insight.
4. Select 'More filters' -->expand 'Space Vehicles and Systems' -->select 'Spacecraft and Satellites'
Nexis Uni
Separate password not required beyond your NPS credentials

Journals, trade publications, newspapers, transcripts, company information, U.S. and International legal information and more
LexisNexis offers three major databases for NPS users: Nexis, Lexis, and Nexis Uni. Nexis Uni is designed with a simplified search interface, uses a targeted subset of Lexis and Nexis.

Current issues of newspapers, news wires, magazines, news weblogs, broadcast transcripts and more, and are provided in full-text (no graphics).
See this FAQ for more information.

If you are prompted for login info to access Nexis or Lexis, go to Lexis & Nexis (NPS login required).
PressReader
Digital replicas of newspapers & magazines in many languages from around the world available through browser or mobile app.
ProQuest - All databases
Multidisciplinary. A good place to start for any research topic.
ProQuest Status Page

Quick Search Tips

First, be as specific as possible
Broaden your keywords if you don't get enough relevant results.
For exact phrases use "quotation marks"
- Example: "satellite jamming"
For acronyms or synonyms use OR
- Example: satellite (jamming OR block OR disrupt OR negation)
For stemming or word variations use an asterisk (*) (Symbol may vary by database.)
- Example: jam* will find jammed, jamming, jams
Limit your search with Advanced Search filters
Examples: Title only or Citation and Abstract, Date, Source, Subject Area, Location

Search Basics
by Greta E. Marlatt Last Updated Jul 11, 2023 1527 views this year

Learn more about phrase, truncating, and wildcard searching. Includes cheat sheet for a variety of library research databases.

Additional Resources

SpaceNews.com
"Established in 1989, SpaceNews is the most trusted and comprehensive source of news and analysis of the companies, agencies, technologies and trends shaping the global space industry. / Space professionals rely on our experienced reporters to deliver timely, accurate and engaging coverage of civil, military and commercial space programs."
U.S. Agency for Global Media
The United States Agency for Global Media (USAGM) is a networked global media agency. The six entities that comprise the USAGM complement and reinforce one another in a shared mission vital to U.S. national interests: to inform, engage and connect people around the world in support of freedom and democracy.

Select Journals

Citation Guide

Citation Guide
SSAG uses IEEE or Chicago (Author-Date), but advisors may choose another citation style

Satellite Communications

Library Search

Select Databases

Quick Search Tips

Additional Resources

Select Journals

Citation Guide

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947