Oceanography

General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans Web Map Service

Nautical Charts & Publications

USGS
These maps show the bathymetry of the seafloor surrounding San Francisco, Santa Monica, and the Hawaiian Islands. Images include back scatter, shaded relief, stereo relief, and a perspective view.

Perry-Castañeda Library

From the National Geophysical Data Center, these global bathymetric and topographic data sets and visualizations can be used for a wide variety of scientific, practical, and artistic applications

Oceans by size, depths and planet Earth details

The UK Hydrographic Office (UKHO) is a world-leading centre for hydrography, specialising in marine geospatial data that helps to unlock a deeper understanding of the world's oceans.

The Digital Nautical Chart (DNC) is produced by the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) and is a vector-based digital product containing maritime significant features essential for safe marine navigation. DNC, for areas in which the US is the prime charting authority, is unclassified. All other areas are limited distribution.

GEBCO's aim is to provide the most authoritative publicly-available bathymetry of the world's oceans. It operates under the joint auspices of the International Hydrographic Organization(IHO) and the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) (of UNESCO).

NOAA Office of Coast Survey

Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.

WMO-sponsored website - World Weather Information Service (WWIS) is established as a centralized source on the Internet for media to access official weather information issued by National Meteorological and Hydrological Services (NMHSs) efficiently and effectively.

The California Coastal Mapping Program is a comprehensive effort to combine seafloor mapping data with shoreline data to create seamless onshore-offshore maps of California’s coastline.

A collaborative that enables sustained and coordinated measurements, model nowcasts and forecasts, and integrated products. Part of a national framework of integrated coastal observing systems covering all coastal areas throughout the United States.

Coastal environmental data

Elevation, imagery, and land cover data for the coastal U.S. and its territories

The largest regional ENC coordinating centre (RENC) globally, representing over half of the world’s hydrographic offices. Provides cost effective services to ensure member maritime data products are compliant with international standards and uphold the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS).

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) is the U.S. Department of Defense agency responsible for issuing tropical cyclone warnings for the Pacific and Indian Oceans.

The Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center (FNMOC) provides the highest quality, most relevant and timely worldwide meteorology and oceanography support to U.S. and coalition forces from its Operations Center in Monterey, California.

The Naval Oceanographic Office (NAVO) maximizes seapower by applying relevant oceanographic knowledge in support of U.S. National Security.

A suite of tools and services for free public access to marine geoscience research data acquired throughout the global oceans and adjoining continental margins

Collecting and disseminating in-situ, real-time, quality-controlled observations in the marine environment to ensure the Nation's maritime safety, and to understand and predict the atmosphere, ocean, waves, ice, and climate.

The Navy Operational Global Atmospheric Prediction System (NOGAPS) provides numerical guidance and products to support a wide range of Navy oceanographic and atmospheric requirements. The forecast model component is the heart of this system and represents a multiyear development effort by the scientists of the Naval Oceanographic and Atmospheric Research Laboratory's Atmospheric Directorate.

Diverse scientific data and information collected during OER-supported ocean expeditions, including those on NOAA Ship Okeanos Explorer. Data collections typically include oceanographic and geophysical parameters, video, images, documents, and other information, provided in a range of data formats

Diverse scientific data and information collected during OER-supported ocean expeditions, including those on NOAA Ship Okeanos Explorer. Data collections typically include oceanographic and geophysical parameters, video, images, documents, and other information, provided in a range of data formats.
Historic and real-time data, forecasts, predictions, and scientific analyses

A nationwide listing of known publicly available high-accuracy topographic and bathymetric source elevation data for the United States and its territories. The inventory provides a single resource for information about all known completed and in-progress broad-area public domain elevation data.

Time, earth orientation, astronomy, meteorology, oceanography, etc.

WAVEWATCH III is a community wave modeling framework that includes the latest scientific advancements in the field of wind-wave modeling and dynamics.