Research Guides: Terrorism: Specialized Resources

Specialized Databases

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) (publicly releasable)
Publicly releasable documents only in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.
Each product listed on the page must be searched separately.

This archive has limited search filtering capabilities. For a better search experience, you can use the National Technical Reports Library or if you are eligible, register and use the DTIC R&E Gateway and use the Advanced Search to filter for "A - Approved for Public Release" documents.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
U.S. policy documents, key federal, state and municipal documents, links to important sites, hearings, CRS reports, multimedia materials, theses, gray literature, Homeland Security related news and more.

Restricted Collection access available to eligible U.S. citizens

Jihadology
This is a clearinghouse for jihādī primary source material, original analysis, and translation service

Military Balance (International Institute for Strategic Studies)
Military capabilities and defence economics worldwide.
It contains region-by-region analysis of the major military and economic developments affecting defence and security policies and the trade in weapons and other military equipment.
Strategic Survey
Annual analysis of military & strategic studies, politics & international relations. Detailed maps.
Rane Worldview
Economics/finance, energy, military, politics, terrorism/security, industry & country forecasts, risks & opportunities, etc.

Canadian Incident Database (CIDB)
This features information on terrorism and extremist crime incidents since 1960 with a Canadian connection.

Chicago Project on Security and Terrorism
Chicago Project on Security and Terrorism (CPOST) maintains a searchable database on all suicide attacks from 1982 on.

Global Terrorism Database
Terrorist events around the world, date, location, weapons used, nature of target, number of casualties, identity of perpetrator, etc.

Global Terrorism Research Project
The site contains links for resources Statements Indexes for both al-Qaeda Statements ISIS Statements.

Government Actions in Terror Environments (GATE) Project
This project is a multi-institutional effort to collect and code data on state action toward terrorist organizations or their constituencies in select countries.

High Casualty Terrorist Bombings, 1989-2021
Center for Systemic Peace, High Casualty Terrorist Bombings (HCTB), 1989-2021, case list of bomb attacks on non-combatant (civilian and political) targets by non-state actors resulting in 15 or more deaths (1120 cases).
ICT's Incidents and Activists Database
From the International Institute for Counter-terrorism, the information has been compiled since 1975, and records over 33,000 incidents, including successful terror attacks, foiled attacks, and counter-terror operations, along with background and follow-up information.
ISIS Files Digital Repository
This site contains over 15,000 pages of documents captured from the Islamic State (previously known as ISIS)

Monterey WMD Terrorism Database
Open source catalog of worldwide incidents involving the acquisition, possession, threat and use of weapons of mass destruction (WMD) by sub-state actors.
RAND Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents (RDWTI)
Coverage is for 1968-2009,
READ - Repository of Extremist Aligned Documents
The Repository of Extremist Aligned Documents (READ) aims to give researchers, practitioners, and policymakers controlled access to violent extremist primary source documents.
Requires registration.
South Asia Terrorism Portal (SATP)
The focus is on terrorism and low intensity conflict in South Asia.
Suicide-Attack Network Database (SAND)
Coverage is from 1980 forward.
Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968-2002
Part of the Digital National Security Archives collection

Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium (TRAC)
Comprehensive resource for the study of political violence.
TRAC gathers the best information for exploration of this topic by faculty, scholars, students, government and defense professionals, as well as the general public.

Terrorists and Extremists Database
"The Counter Extremism Project maintains a database of extremist and terrorist leaders and operatives around the globe."

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947