Research Guides: Company & Industry Information: Profiles & Reports

Company and Industry Profiles and Reports

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Once you are into EBSCO, select Business Source Complete to search for Company and Industry Profiles.
Gale Directory Library (Gale)
Wide variety of business, company, financial, and organization directories
Titles include Brands and Their Companies, Business Rankings Annual, Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory, Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S, Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, Gale Directory of Databases, Information Industry Directory, Market Share Reporter, Publishers Directory, Ward's Business Directory Mexico and Canada, Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest)
Industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more.

IQS Directory (Industrial Quick Search)
Manufacturing company and industry profiles and news.

Mergent Market Atlas
Company financials, industry reports, country profiles.
We subscribe to the USA Company Databases (active and inactive), the International Company Databases (active and inactive), and the D&B Private Company Database.
Nexis Uni
Select the Company Info button
LexisNexis offers three major databases for NPS users: Nexis, Lexis, and Nexis Uni. Nexis Uni is designed with a simplified search interface, uses a targeted subset of Lexis and Nexis.

Current issues of newspapers, news wires, magazines, news weblogs, broadcast transcripts and more, and are provided in full-text (no graphics).
See this FAQ for more information.

If you are prompted for login info to access Nexis or Lexis, go to Lexis & Nexis (NPS login required).

Occupational Outlook Handbook
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Provides background and salaries for a variety of occupations and careers, providing insight into the industries they support.

ProQuest Business Databases
Searches 7 ProQuest databases targeted just for business research.
SAGE Business Researcher
How current news and word events impact specific areas within business and management

THOMASNET.com
Free source of basic company information
Yahoo!Finance
Great for individual company information including historical stock prices!

Industry Classification Codes

When researching an industry it is sometimes helpful to know how it is classified using either the NAICS or SIC classification system. Links to both are below.