Research Guides: Congressional Information: Key Resources

Freely Available Resources

The following resources are freely available to anyone on the web and are very helpful in finding older and current congressional information including: bills, laws, hearings, reports, documents and the more current Congressional Records.

Congress.gov
U.S. legislative information, status and text of bills, Public Laws, roll call votes, Committee reports, Congressional Record, etc.

U.S. Government Information Budget & presidential materials, congressional committee materials, congressional rules & procedures, directories of organizations & officials, executive agency publications, judicial publications, legislative agency publications, proceedings of Congress and general congressional publications, regulatory information

Commercial Resources

The following resources are among the best places to start for comprehensive access and easy searching of all types of congressional information including the historic information going back to the first Congress.

ProQuest Congressional
This provides access to current and historic congressional resources including: bills, laws, hearings, reports, documents, the complete Congressional Record, the American State Papers and more.
ProQuest Congressional provides indexing and abstracting of congressional publications. Sources include: full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, committee prints, bills, Congressional Record, Bill tracking, public laws, biographical information, committees, voting records and executive branch and presidential documents. Our subscription includes information going back to the first Congress in 1789!
CQ Almanac (1945-current) (CQ Press)
People, elections, legislation, and controversies in the U.S. Congress
CQ Researcher (1923-current) (CQ Press)
Economic, social, political & international affairs, historical background, milestones, current situations, controversies, outlooks, etc.
CQ Magazine (CQ Press)
Weekly briefing of congressional activity: bill status, committee and floor activity, debates, roll-call votes, behind-the-scenes developments.
Also includes roll call votes, presidential speeches, election coverage and more. Coverage begins in 1983.

Congressional Information

Freely Available Resources

Commercial Resources

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947