Research Guides: Congressional Information: Reports and Documents

Congressional Reports & Documents

The Congressional Documents collection consists of House Documents, Senate Documents, and Senate Treaty Documents.

House and Senate documents contain various kinds of materials ordered to be printed by both chambers of Congress. Documents can include reports of executive departments and agencies, as well as committee prints, that were ordered to be printed as documents. Senate Treaty Documents contain the text of a treaty as it is submitted to the U. S. Senate for ratification by the President of the United States.

Congressional Documents originate from congressional committees and cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. Congressional documents, along with Congressional reports, are part of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set , commonly referred to as the Serial Set.

From About Congressional Documents

Finding Congressional Reports & Documents

DOCUMENTS

Congressional Documents (1975-current) House Documents, Senate Documents, and Senate Treaty Documents. 94th Congress - current.

ProQuest Congressional Congressional information such as bills and laws, legislative histories, hearings, reports, and other documents, Committee memberships, Congressional Record Congressional Research Service, Executive Branch, presidential materials and more.
ProQuest Congressional provides indexing and abstracting of congressional publications. Sources include: full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, committee prints, bills, Congressional Record, Bill tracking, public laws, biographical information, committees, voting records and executive branch and presidential documents. Our subscription includes information going back to the first Congress in 1789!

REPORTS

Congressional Reports (1995-current) Originate from congressional committees and deal with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. There are two types of reports: House and Senate Reports: Reports of congressional committees concerning proposed legislation and/or contain findings on matters under investigation. Senate Executive Reports: Reports of the Committee on Foreign Relations relating to treaties between the United States and foreign nations which have been submitted to the U.S. Senate for ratification, or are reports of various Senate committees regarding nomination of individuals. 104th Congress - present

ProQuest Congressional Congressional information such as bills and laws, legislative histories, hearings, reports, and other documents, Committee memberships, Congressional Record Congressional Research Service, Executive Branch, presidential materials and more.
ProQuest Congressional provides indexing and abstracting of congressional publications. Sources include: full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, committee prints, bills, Congressional Record, Bill tracking, public laws, biographical information, committees, voting records and executive branch and presidential documents. Our subscription includes information going back to the first Congress in 1789!

SERIAL SET

ProQuest Congressional Congressional information such as bills and laws, legislative histories, hearings, reports, and other documents, Committee memberships, Congressional Record Congressional Research Service, Executive Branch, presidential materials and more.
ProQuest Congressional provides indexing and abstracting of congressional publications. Sources include: full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, committee prints, bills, Congressional Record, Bill tracking, public laws, biographical information, committees, voting records and executive branch and presidential documents. Our subscription includes information going back to the first Congress in 1789!

Congressional Serial Set (1817-current) The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. 15th Congress, 1st Session - current. Documents before 1817 may be found in the American State Papers