Research Guides: Conflict, Peacekeeping & Reconstruction: Conflict Tracking

Conflict Tracking Sources

ACLED (Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project)
The project covers all African countries from 1997 to the present, and South and South-East Asia in real-time. Specific dates and locations of political violence, the types of event, the groups involved, fatalities and changes in territorial control.
Conflict Barometer
This describes recent trends in conflict development, coups and attempted coups, escalations, settlements and more.
Correlates of War (COW)
Information covers includes: Inter, Extra and Intra State War, militarized interstate disputes, foreign alliances and more.
CNS Global Incidents and Trafficking Database
From the from The James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies (CNS), centralized information on incidents of nuclear and other radioactive material that has been lost, stolen, or is otherwise out of regulatory control.
Coup D'etat Project (CDP)
"the objective of the The Coup D'état Project (CDP) is to compile, for 165 countries in the post WWII era, a more comprehensive listing, documentation, and categorization of coups that can be used by researchers.
CrisisWatch Conflict Tracker
This global conflict tracker monitors over 70 conflicts worldwide.
Discursive Actions in Terror Environments (DATE) [Archived]
The DATE project studies the impact of positive rhetoric by government officials in reducing terrorist activity.
Empirical Studies of Conflict (ESOC)
"ESOC identifies, compiles, and analyzes micro-level conflict data and information on insurgency, civil war, and other sources of politically motivated violence worldwide."
Euler Hermes Country Risk Reports
Country ratings, strengthens & weaknesses, economic overview and trade structure
Global Burden of Armed Violence
Global Conflict Tracker
Interactive Guide to U.S. Conflict Prevention Priorities
Global Firepower (GFP)
Coverage for 140 modern military powers. "The GFP ranking is based on each nation's potential war-making capability across land, sea, and air fought by conventional means."
Global Terrorism Database
Terrorist events around the world, date, location, weapons used, nature of target, number of casualties, identity of perpetrator, etc.
ICT's Incidents and Activists Database
International Institute for Counter-Terrorism (ICT)
Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research (INSCR)
Datasets include: Forcibly Displaced Populations, Major Episodes of Political Violence, PITF State Failure Problem Set, High Casualty Terrorist Bombings, Coups d'Etats, and more

Janes
Military systems & equipment, geopolitical & terrorism intelligence, defense news & analysis, country security & threat assessments, and order of battle information for military worldwide.

At the Janes site enter your NPS email (e.g. john.doe@nps.edu). If you have difficulty accessing Janes, contact Ask a Librarian

SIPRI Multilateral Peace Operations Database
This offers information on all multilateral peace operations conducted since 2000, including statistics on personnel, country contributions, fatalities and budgets

Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium (TRAC)
Comprehensive resource for the study of political violence.
TRAC gathers the best information for exploration of this topic by faculty, scholars, students, government and defense professionals, as well as the general public.

Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) Conflict Encyclopedia & Datasets
The Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) collects information on many aspects of armed violence since 1946. Information includes breakdowns by: war & minor conflict, non-state conflict, one-sided violence, conflict prevention, peace agreements and more.

Country/Regional Specific Sources

ACLED (Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project)
The project covers all African countries from 1997 to the present, and South and South-East Asia in real-time. Specific dates and locations of political violence, the types of event, the groups involved, fatalities and changes in territorial control.
Database of the Armed Conflict in Colombia
From the Conflict Analysis Resource Center (CERAC) - subscription is required.

Janes
Military systems & equipment, geopolitical & terrorism intelligence, defense news & analysis, country security & threat assessments, and order of battle information for military worldwide.

At the Janes site enter your NPS email (e.g. john.doe@nps.edu). If you have difficulty accessing Janes, contact Ask a Librarian

National Violence Monitoring System Indonesia
Social Conflict in Africa Database (SCAD)
This is a resource for conducting research and analysis on various forms of social and political unrest in Africa.

Conflict, Peacekeeping & Reconstruction

Conflict Tracking Sources

Country/Regional Specific Sources

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947