Research Guides: Conflict, Peacekeeping & Reconstruction: Statistics

International Military Statistics

Conflict Barometer
Annual analysis of global conflict events, non-violent & violent crises, wars, coups, peace negotiations. development, coups, attempted coups, escalations, etc.
Correlates of War
Inter-, extra- & intra- state war, militarized interstate disputes, foreign alliances, etc.
International Peace Research Institute (PIRO)
Datasets include: governance, armed conflict, small arms trade, mapping arms and more

Janes
Military systems & equipment, geopolitical & terrorism intelligence, defense news & analysis, country security & threat assessments, and order of battle information for military worldwide.

At the Janes site enter your NPS email (e.g. john.doe@nps.edu). If you have difficulty accessing Janes, contact Ask a Librarian
Military Balance (International Institute for Strategic Studies)
Military capabilities and defense economics of the world's military forces. Budgets, procurement totals, equipment holdings, military deployments. Essays on defense industries in Asia and UN peacekeeping.
It contains region-by-region analysis of the major military and economic developments affecting defence and security policies and the trade in weapons and other military equipment.

Military Expenditure (% of GDP)
World Bank
Military Expenditure (% of General Government Expenditure)
World Bank
Security Assistance Monitor
US security & defense assistance programs: arms sales, military & police aid, training programs, exercises, exchanges & deployments

SIPRI Databases (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute) (1949-current)
International relations and security trends, multilateral peace operations, military expenditure, arms transfers, arms embargoes, national reports databases.
SIPRI Yearbook (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute)
Data and analysis on security & conflicts, military spending & armaments, non-proliferation, arms control, disarmament. (1968-current)

Small Arms Survey
Small Arms Survey provides expertise on all aspects of small arms and armed violence

Strategic Survey
Annual analysis of military & strategic studies, politics & international relations. Detailed maps.
US Aid Open Government Reports - Reports to Congress
Various recurring topical reports including: Health Systems,Emergency Food Security Program, US International Food Assistance Report, U.S. Overseas Loans & Grants (Greenbook)

Uppsala Conflict Data Program
Numerous datasets on organized violence and peacemaking, including data on armed conflicts, both internal and external, state and non-state, 1946 to the present
WJP Rule of Law Index
"The World Justice Project (WJP) Rule of Law Index® provides original, impartial data on how the rule of law is experienced by the general public in 102 countries around the globe."
World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers (WMEAT)
From the US State Dept., this provides 1964-2021 annual military expenditures, arms transfers, armed forces, selected economic data, and relative indicators consisting of pertinent military-economic ratios.

EuroStat
Searches across all the European Union statistical sources.
GINI Index (World Bank)
Measures the inequality among values of distribution for things such as income or consumer expenditures.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
As well as country specific information, the IMF publishes a range of time series data on their lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
NationMaster.com
Useful for comparing statistics between nations in a variety of categories
OECD iLibrary
This is OECD’s (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
State Department - Foreign Assistance Budget
Provides budget information for US funded programs and foreign operations by program and country.

Strategic Survey
Annual analysis of military & strategic studies, politics & international relations. Detailed maps.

UN Peacekeeping Statistics
Includes troops and Police contributors, fatalities and gender.
UN Statistical Databases
This provides a single entry point for the various UN statistical databases.
US Overseas Loans and Grants (Greenbook)
The Greenbook shows a complete historical record of United States’ foreign aid to the rest of the world by reporting all loans and grants authorized by the U.S. Government for each fiscal year.

World Factbook
Basic intelligence on the history, people, government, religion, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947