Research Guides: Primary/Original Sources: Vietnam

Government Agency Collections

Archives Unbound (Gale)
Digital collections for historical documents in the areas of: PsyOps, Afghanistan, China, Japan, Vietnam, Civil War, Persian Gulf War, Latin America, Radicalism, Czechoslovakia, Turkey and more.
Cold War Eastern Europe 1947-1982 (History Commons)
Files from the political departments of the U.K. Foreign Office responsible for dealing with and reporting on the Soviet Union and the socialist states of Eastern Europe during the Cold War.
Digital National Security Archive (1945-current) (ProQuest)
Declassified, primary government documents. US foreign and military policy, post World War II.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) (Readex, NewsBank)
Translated text of radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, and government statements from around the world
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports (Readex, NewsBank)
Journal articles, books, serials, and radio and television transcripts from around the world. Global perspectives on high-interest issues from 1957 to 1995.

Historic Documents (CQ Press)
Documents on the important events of each year for the United States and the world including reports, surveys, speeches, court cases, legislation, testimony, and more.

ProQuest History Vault
Primary source materials related to US planning and policies with an emphasis on WWII, Vietnam and intelligence
Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War (History Commons)
British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 to 1953, with the majority of files dating from the 1930s and 1940s.
US Declassified Documents Online (Gale)
Government documents, domestic & foreign policies, correspondence & memoranda, minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies, national security policy statements & intelligence reports.

Commander Naval Forces Vietnam (COMNAVFORV) Monthly Summaries
Monthly summaries from 1966-1973 are available as well as the Naval Facilities Engineering Command (NAVFAC) Command History, 1965-1974 and the United States Naval Operations Vietnam, Highlights.
Naval History & Heritage Command - Vietnam War
Peers Inquiry - My Lai Incident
Pentagon Papers - Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force
U.S. Army in Vietnam Series
US Air Force Historical Studies Office - Special Studies/Blue Books
This reports and studies were written during the 1960s and 70s covering topics related to the USAF in SE Asia during that time.
Vietnam Studies
Thematic titles by the Army Military History Center.

Virtual Vietnam Archive
Vietnam Center and Archive at Texas Tech University -- this collection contains over 3.2 million pages of scanned materials related to the Vietnam conflict

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) (publicly releasable)
This includes many documents, papers and more related to the Vietnam Conflict.
Each product listed on the page must be searched separately.

This archive has limited search filtering capabilities. For a better search experience, you can use the National Technical Reports Library or if you are eligible, register and use the DTIC R&E Gateway and use the Advanced Search to filter for "A - Approved for Public Release" documents.

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947