Primary/Original Sources

See the Download Center for links to policy documents, regulations & directives, publications, reports, manuals and more

This digital archives aims to eventually provide access to all of his papers and materials.

"Unique collection of documents related to Afghanistan history, culture, and its development during the Jihad period and more. ACKU’s permanent collection is the most extensive in the region covering a time of war and social upheaval in the country, with most of the documents in English or the principal languages of Pashto and Dari."

"This collection of over seventy National Intelligence Estimates on China... and covers from the Chinese civil war and the consolidation of the Communist regime through the upheavals of the Great Leap Forward and Cultural Revolution."

Use the pull down for the list of documents.

Use the pull down for the list of documents.

"This collection of declassified estimative products is the first such release by the Central Intelligence Agency of documents exclusively on the Vietnam war."

The six declassified volumes in this collection describe the CIA's role in Indochina during the Vietnam War.

From the Vietnam Center and Archive at Texas Tech University, this collection contains over 3.2 million pages of scanned materials related to the Vietnam conflict.

This contains a growing collection of declassified documents from around the world. Subjects include: Europe, North Korea, Russia, China, Middle East, Cold War, Intelligence, Nuclear and more.

"This provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent."

CIA

This is a guide to primary and secondary sources for British and Irish history.

Documents from the UK and Soviet Union relationship between 1943-1953

This collection of documents, spanning three decades from the 1960s to the 1980s, focus on CIA's collection and analysis of the Soviet Navy.

Part of the Wilson Center, this project collects "historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War."

This is a research guide with link to primary and secondary sources for Eastern European History - Belarus, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia and Ukraine.

Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations

Use the pull down for the list of documents.

Coverage includes: Its origins, the Cold War, the Fall of the Wall, 9/11 and beyond

This is a research guide with link to primary and secondary sources for Northern European History - Denmark, Estonia, Faeroe Islands, Finland, Iceland, Lativia, Lithuania, Norway and Sweden.

This is a research guide with link to primary and secondary sources for Southern European History -Albania, Andorra, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia and Spain.

This is a research guide with link to primary and secondary sources for Western European History - Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands and Switzerland.

This contains a growing collection of declassified documents from around the world. Subjects include: Europe, North Korea, Russia, China, Middle East, Cold War, Intelligence, Nuclear and more.

A research guide to primary and secondary sources for European history

CIA FOIA Reading Room

CIA

Use the pull down for the list of documents

Coverage is 1920s to the 1980s

Harvard University has cataloged and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps and published texts.

From Durham University, this collection consists of government publications, statistical data, documents from political entites, governmental and non-governmental organizations and more. The documents are in English, Arabic, French, Turkish, Persian and Hebrew

Use the pull down for the list of documents.