Research Guides: Data Management at NPS: Archive Your Research Results

Where Should I Archive Data?

Where you archive and provide public access to your data may be discipline-specific. This page lists a variety of national and international repositories. At this time neither the US Navy nor NPS has a centralized data warehouse -- most data is on departmental or principle investigator servers and webpages.

Calhoun, the NPS Institutional Archive, is available to host your NPS publications and their associated datasets. The Library can ingest your dataset and assign you a permanent handle/URL that can be submitted with your manuscript. We will work with NPS researchers on suitable embargo periods for the release of data until post-publication.

The Research Data Curation Bibliography by Charles W. Bailey, Jr., covers all aspects of data creation, curation, reuse and preservation (NOTE: Broken link due to DNS errors 10/2017; working on resolving this issue).

Publication Repositories

arXiv.org
Physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics
Open access to pre-prints of research articles and conference publications.
Articles are not peer-reviewed by arXiv..
NPS Institutional Archive: Calhoun
Archive of NPS-authored publications including theses, reports, articles and more.
NPS publications, instructional content and scholarly research, including NPS graduate theses and dissertations dating from the 1930s through the present. Calhoun also provides access to documents created by administrative offices, departments and programs at NPS. By collecting, preserving and providing access to scholarly work created at NPS, Calhoun promotes transparency, participation and cross-disciplinary collaboration.
CiteSeerX Computer & Information Science Digital Library
Computer and information sciences literature and datasets
Computer and information sciences literature & datasets.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) (publicly releasable)
Publicly releasable documents only in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.
Each product listed on the page must be searched separately.

This archive has limited search filtering capabilities. For a better search experience, you can use the National Technical Reports Library or if you are eligible, register and use the DTIC R&E Gateway and use the Advanced Search to filter for "A - Approved for Public Release" documents.
DTIC Research & Engineering Gateway (DTIC R&E) (public and restricted content)
CAC login/registration required.
Both publicly releasable and access controlled documents in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.
Click the Access-Controlled Sites tab. Access available to U.S. DOD/military employees and U.S. government employees and their contractors.

Open Access Directory | Disciplinary Repositories
Open access publications by discipline

Open Directory of Open Access Repositories (DOAR)
Searchable listing of academic repositories from around the world. Does not search the contents of the repositories.
PubMed Central (U.S. National Institute of Health, National Library of Medicine)
Biomedical citations

PAGES: Department of Energy Public Access Gateway
Public access to journal articles and accepted manuscripts resulting from DOE research funding
PubSpace
Public access to NASA-funded research results

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Social sciences full-text articles and abstracts of forthcoming papers (create a free account).
We do not subscribe to SSRN, but some documents are available at no charge, and some can be found in ProQuest's ABI INFORM.

Data Repositories

NPS Institutional Archive: Calhoun
Archive of NPS-authored publications including theses, reports, articles and more.
NPS publications, instructional content and scholarly research, including NPS graduate theses and dissertations dating from the 1930s through the present. Calhoun also provides access to documents created by administrative offices, departments and programs at NPS. By collecting, preserving and providing access to scholarly work created at NPS, Calhoun promotes transparency, participation and cross-disciplinary collaboration.

Climate Data.Gov
Example of public access to government data on climate
Code Ocean
Store and share your computer code for other researchers to use.
CRAWDAD
Community Resource for Archiving Wireless Data at Dartmouth (CRAWDAD) stores wireless trace data from many contributing locations, and staff to develop better tools for collecting, anonymizing, and analyzing the data.

DATA.gov
Federal open government data site.
Find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Topics: Agriculture, climate, consumer, ecosystems, education, energy, finance, health, local government, manufacturing, maritime, ocean, public safety, science & research.

See also: resources.data.gov for policies, tools, case studies, and other resources to support data governance, management, exchange, and use throughout the federal government

DataCite
Search international data sets
Dryad
Public access data sets associated with scholarly articles published in STEM journals
EarthCube
NSF sponsored cyberinfrastructure for unprecedented data sharing across the geosciences
EOSDIS (NASA's Earth Observing System Data and Information System
Earth science data from satellites, aircraft, field measurements and more.
Earthdata
More than 34,000 Earth science data sets and services.
IEEE DataPort
Repository of datasets and data analysis tools "designed to accept all types of datasets, including Big Data datasets up to 2TB, and it provides both downloading capabilities and access to Cloud services to enable data analysis in the Cloud."

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
A range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators

National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
Climate and historical weather data and information
National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)
Geophysical data and information
National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)
Marine environmental data and information
Open Access Directory | Data Repositories
Public access datasets (which may or may not be 'associated' with scholarly publications)
Pangaea
Georeferenced earth system research data
re3data.org
Search or browse data repositories covering all academic disciplines
Data & Repositories list (Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution)
Oceanography and geosciences; including research vessel cruise data
World Bank Open Data
Global data by country, topic, & key indicators

Data Management at NPS

Where Should I Archive Data?

Publication Repositories

Data Repositories

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947