Research Guides: Generative AI: Gen AI Tools

Visual Literature Mapping Tools

Citation Gecko
Gecko is here to help you find the most relevant papers to your research and give you a more complete sense of the research landscape. Start from a small set of 'seed papers' that define an area you are interested. Gecko will search the citation network for connected papers allowing you to quickly identify important papers you may have missed.
CitNetExplorer
Works with Web of Science--CitNetExplorer is a software tool for visualizing and analyzing citation networks of scientific publications. The tool allows citation networks to be imported directly from the Web of Science database. Citation networks can be explored interactively, for instance by drilling down into a network and by identifying clusters of closely related publications.
Connected Papers
Connected Papers is a unique, visual tool to help researchers and applied scientists find and explore papers relevant to their field of work.
Gephi
An open-source software for visualizing and analysing large networks graphs. Gephi uses a 3D render engine to display graphs in real-time and speed up the exploration. You can use it to explore, analyse, spatialise, filter, cluterize, manipulate and export all types of graphs.
LitMaps
Litmaps creates interactive literature maps: collections of articles that make up your different research topics. Create maps for your research by searching our literature database; linking your reference manager; or through automatic generation from seed articles.
Local Citation Network
Construct and visualizes citation networks to identify the most influential papers in a given topic or field.
Research Rabbit
Citation-based mapping from similar, early, and later works. "100s of millions of academic articles and covers more than 90%+ of materials that can be found in major databases used by academic institutions (such as Scopus, Web of Science, and others)."
VOSviewer
VOSviewer is a software tool for constructing and visualizing bibliometric networks. These networks may for instance include journals, researchers, or individual publications, and they can be constructed based on citation, bibliographic coupling, co-citation, or co-authorship relations. VOSviewer also offers text mining functionality that can be used to construct and visualize co-occurrence networks of important terms extracted from a body of scientific literature.
The Lens
The Lens ingests, cleans, aggregates, normalizes and serves over 268+ million scholarly works, 153+ million global patent records, and more than 489+ million patent sequences, with rich metadata including the people and institutions that generate this knowledge and the linkages between them, drawn from diverse data sources.

Literature Review Tools

ASReview
ASReview uses state-of-the-art active learning techniques to solve one of the most interesting challenges in systematically screening large amounts of text.
Consensus
An academic search engine that finds answers within research papers. "Ask a question, get conclusions from research papers."
Elicit
Automate time-consuming research tasks like summarizing papers, extracting data, and synthesizing your findings.
Humata
Humata is an AI tool for text-based files that helps students to understand complex research paper or articles. After uploading a text-based document, students can ask questions its chatbot to summarize the paper or ask specific questions about the content of the paper.
Mindomo
Mind maps, Concept maps, Outlines, and Gantt charts
Real-time editing & offline editing, AI-powered mind mapping, cross-platform, sync across devices, full history of changes, full-text search, hundreds of easy-to-use templates
Paper Digest Literature Review
Summary and Synthesis. "Generate a literature review around any given research topic in seconds, covering papers (introduced in 2021), patents (introduced in 2022), clinical trials (introduced in 2023)".
Perplexity
Perplexity is a chatbot-style search engine that allows users to ask questions in natural language. It uses AI technology to gather information from multiple sources on the web and provide responses.
SciSpace
A comprehensive academic platform providing access to over 200 million research papers. It assists researchers in discovering, understanding, writing, formatting, and publishing their research.
Scite.AI
Citations in context. "scite uses access to full-text articles and its deep learning model to tell you, for a given publication: - how many times it was cited by others? How it was cited by others by displaying the text where the citation happened from each citing paper? Whether each citation offers supporting or contrasting evidence of the cited claims in the publication of interest, or simply mention it."
Semantic Scholar
A scientific literature search engine that finds semantically similar research papers. "Semantic Reader is an augmented reader with the potential to revolutionize scientific reading by making it more accessible and richly contextual" . It "uses artificial intelligence to understand a document’s structure and merge it with the Semantic Scholar’s academic corpus, providing detailed information in context via tooltips and other overlays."

Trustworthy & Responsible AI

National Institute of Standards and Technology checklist for trustworthy and responsible AI:

"NIST is conducting research, engaging stakeholders, and producing reports on the characteristics of trustworthy AI. These documents, based on diverse stakeholder involvement, set out the challenges in dealing with each characteristic in order to broaden understanding and agreements that will strengthen the foundation for standards, guidelines, and practices. The essential building blocks of AI trustworthiness include:

Validity and Reliability
Safety
Security and Resiliency
Accountability and Transparency
Explainability and Interpretability
Privacy
Fairness with Mitigation of Harmful Bias

NIST also partners with other organizations to support initiatives on trustworthy AI. That includes a partnership with the National Science Foundation (NSF) on an Institute for Trustworthy AI in Law & Society (TRAILS) led by the University of Maryland. TRAILS aims to transform the practice of AI from one driven primarily by technological innovation to one driven with attention to ethics, human rights, and support for communities whose voices have been marginalized into mainstream AI. TRAILS is funded by a partnership between NSF and NIST."

Writing & Grammar Tools

AirOps
Airops is a tool that enables users to create, customize, and deploy their own AI workflows and chatbots. Using the latest language models (such as Claude 2 and GPT-4 32k), users can deploy workflows as needed to perform tasks more efficiently and solve business challenges.
Avidnote
"Avidnote enables you to write or read research papers faster, as well as analyze your research data with our AI templates."
Casper
A tool for professionals to simplify their workflow by summarizing articles, creating content and sharing insights with stakeholders.
Claude.ai
Claude is a next-generation AI assistant for your tasks, no matter the scale. excels at a wide range of tasks from sophisticated dialogue and creative content generation to detailed instruction.
Good for: Complex reasoning, Creativity, Thoughtful dialogue
Coding, and Detailed content creation
Google Gemini
Gemini, formerly known as Bard, is a generative artificial intelligence chatbot developed by Google. Based on the large language model (LLM) of the same name.
Grammarly
reviews spelling, grammar, punctuation, clarity, engagement, and delivery mistakes in English texts, detects plagiarism, and suggests replacements for the identified errors.
Hemmingway Editor
Hemingway makes your writing bold and clear. It's like a spellchecker, but for style. It makes sure that your reader will focus on your message, not your prose.
Knowji
Knowji is a vocabulary tool that utilizes audio and visual aids and employs effective learning techniques and entertaining approaches to enhance student's learning speed.
Linguix
Linguix AI Writing App makes your texts grammatically correct, clear, and highly effective on any website, across all browsers.
Mojju
A dedicated team of AI experts building tested and proven solutions: productivity tools, various assistants & guides, business & finance tools and a lot more.
Notion
Notion AI is an innovative AI assistant integrated into the Notion ecosystem, designed to enhance productivity and efficiency. It helps users find information quickly, assists in writing and brainstorming, and turns complex data into actionable insights.
PaperPal
Paperpal offers 3x the language corrections of other AI grammar checkers. The academic paper checker flags complex grammar mistakes, does real-time spell checks, and corrects style and punctuation issues, while suggesting ways to improve clarity, readability, and flow.
QuillBot
QuillBot offers several AI-based features, including paraphraser, summarizer, AI co-writer, grammar checker, and translator.
Tome
Tome presents users with a simple text box for describing the kind of presentation they want to create. The site then presents a choice of several formatting options and fills in each slide with AI-generated text and images.
Wordtune
Wordtune is a tool that helps you write faster, better and smarter with AI. It offers rewrite, create, summarize and answer features for various scenarios and apps.

AI Assistants & Bots

ChatGPT
ChatGPT is a free-to-use AI system. Use it for engaging conversations, gain insights, automate tasks, and witness the future of AI, all in one place.
Le Chat: Mistral AI
Le Chat is a conversational entry point to interact with the various models from Mistral AI. It offers a pedagogical and fun way to explore Mistral AI’s technology.
Microsoft Copilot
Microsoft Copilot is a tool to help people with creating documents, reading and summarizing emails, crafting presentations and more
Phind
Phind is a conversational search engine for developers. It combines web results with generative AI to give you answers, code examples, and guides
Poe
Poe lets you ask questions, get instant answers, and have back-and-forth conversations with AI. Gives access to GPT-4, gpt-3.5-turbo, Claude from Anthropic, and more.

AI Aggregators

All Things AI
An AI tools aggregator and one of the World's Largest Resource Of Artificial Intelligence Tools & Services
Futurepedia
FuturePedia serves as a platform that bridges the gap between AI enthusiasts, researchers, academics and AI tools that can transform their work. It provides detailed profiles of each tool, highlighting their achievements, areas of expertise, and contributions to the field of artificial intelligence. FuturePedia is designed to be a one-stop shop for all things AI, providing users with a wealth of information and resources on the latest AI tools and how they can be used to improve various aspects of life and work.
KhojGPT
KhojGPT is a pioneering platform for GPTs (Generative Pre-trained Transformers), offering a comprehensive directory and curation service. It serves as a hub for exploring a wide range of custom GPT models, tailored for diverse applications across different industries.
Supertools
Best AI tools to increase productivity. An organized database that categorizes the top AI tools for you to achieve superhuman abilities. All the latest AI news, trends, and tools.
There's An AI For That
The largest database of 10225 AIs available for over 2548 tasks. Use our smart AI search to find the best AI tools for any use case.
Top AI Tools
topAI.tools is a comprehensive AI tools aggregator and search engine that allows users to find and compare AI tools in different categories powered by an AI-powered search bar.

Generative AI

NPS Guidance on Generative AI

Read these documents before using generative AI and refer to them often.

NPS Interim Guiding Principles for Use of Generative Artificial Intelligence (AI) Tools

NPS Academic Honor Code

NPS Guidance on Disclosing Generative AI Use in Academic Work

NPS Guidance on Citing and Disclosing Gen AI Use

If you have questions, contact writingcenter@nps.edu.

Visual Literature Mapping Tools

Literature Review Tools

Trustworthy & Responsible AI

Writing & Grammar Tools

AI Assistants & Bots

AI Aggregators

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947