Research Guides: Latin America: Books

Finding Books in Other Collections

WorldCat
Simultaneously search 10,000 libraries worldwide for books and more.

Must be on the NPS network to access. If you are off campus use the VPN.

Benson Latin American Collection
This is a is a specialized digital research library focusing on materials from and about Latin America, and on materials relating to Latinos in the United States

Country Studies
(formerly Army Area Handbooks) Most haven't been updated in a while but are great for historical background information.
Expeditionary Culture Field Guides (ECFS)
These guides provide information related to: culture, history, political & social relations, religion & spirituality, economics & resources and more.
Latin American Historical Dictionaries

Statesman's Yearbook
History, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country of the world. Annual editions: 1864-present
World Factbook
Basic intelligence on the history, people, government, religion, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues

Below are a few recommendations for useful Ebook collections.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Full-text access to electronic books in areas including: history, political science, area studies, international relations and more.
JSTOR
Journals do not include last 2-5 years.
Multidisciplinary digital library that provides access to a vast collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources across 75 disciplines.
JSTOR employs a "moving wall" system between the latest published issue of a journal and the most recent issue available on JSTOR.
National Academies Press
Topics include homeland security, conflict and other security issues.
OAPEN Online library and publication platform
Provides open access to academic books

OECD iLibrary
This is OECD’s (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

Project Muse
Coverage includes journals and e-books
RAND
Coverages includes: energy, environment, homeland security, infrastructure, international affairs, national security, terrorism and more.
RAND is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis. As a nonpartisan organization, RAND is widely respected for operating independent of political and commercial pressures.
Springer Nature Link
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database of journals and books published by Springer. The Library has access to books and journals in: Business & Economics; Humanities, Social Science & Law and more.
You can also buy a softcover, black & white copy of ebooks that we subscribe to for $24.99 each including shipping.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks
Politics & International Relations and the Social Sciences
United Nations Digital Library
The United Nations Digital Library is a primary bibliographic database of the United Nations established in 1979. It consists the UN and non-UN documents and publications documented by the Dag Hammarskjold Library in six languages, such as Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.
Wiley Online Library
This ebook collection includes: business, economics, social & behavioral sciences and more.