Research Guides: Latin America: Original Source Documents

Government & NGO Sources

Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) covering 1861-1960
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) for 1945-1976
FRUS - Search witthin the volumes
National Archives Records Administration (NARA)
This is a is a treasure trove of important documents from US History
Organization of American States (OAS) Official Documents
This provides access to the most important documents of the OAS, including treaties, declarations, legal documents and more.
Presidential Messages [Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages]
The Presidential Messages database contains digital images of over 75,000 pages of presidential speeches from the early 19th century to the present from Mexico and Argentina.
Public Papers of the Presidents (1991-current)
George H.W. Bush to current
more...less...
Learn more about where to find older administrations' papers
Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-2001)
Presidents Hoover, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton

Archives Unbound (Gale)
Digital collections for historical documents in the areas of: PsyOps, Afghanistan, China, Japan, Vietnam, Civil War, Persian Gulf War, Latin America, Radicalism, Czechoslovakia, Turkey and more.
Cold War Eastern Europe 1947-1982 (History Commons)
Files from the political departments of the U.K. Foreign Office responsible for dealing with and reporting on the Soviet Union and the socialist states of Eastern Europe during the Cold War.
Digital National Security Archive (1945-current) (ProQuest)
Declassified, primary government documents. US foreign and military policy, post World War II.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) (Readex, NewsBank)
Translated text of radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, and government statements from around the world
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports (Readex, NewsBank)
Journal articles, books, serials, and radio and television transcripts from around the world. Global perspectives on high-interest issues from 1957 to 1995.

Historic Documents (CQ Press)
Documents on the important events of each year for the United States and the world including reports, surveys, speeches, court cases, legislation, testimony, and more.

ProQuest History Vault
Primary source materials related to US planning and policies with an emphasis on WWII, Vietnam and intelligence
Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War (History Commons)
British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 to 1953, with the majority of files dating from the 1930s and 1940s.
US Declassified Documents Online (Gale)
Government documents, domestic & foreign policies, correspondence & memoranda, minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies, national security policy statements & intelligence reports.

Historical Text Archive - Latin America
This links to many sites hosting historical texts from all over.
LANIC eText Collection
Provided by the Latin American Network Information Center, this provides access to a wide variety of pirmary sources documents.
Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA)
"The Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA) seeks to preserve and facilitate access to a wide range."
Latin American Government Documents Archive - Presidential Messages
This page contains a list, ordered by country, of links to individual presidential messages or groups of such messages
LLILAS Benson Digital Collections
this is a variety of digital archival projects and initiatives
National Security Archive - Latin America
These electronic briefing books provide access to important declassified documents related to US national security, military history, foreign policy, intelligence and more

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947