Other Subject Guides of Interest
Be sure to use our focused Subject Guides for more specific listing of resources. Some specific ones that might be of interest include:
Area Studies
- Civil Affairs and Rule of Law
- Asian Resources
- Conflict and Peacekeeping
- Congressional Information
- Defense Budget Information
- Homeland Security Resources
- Latin American Resources
- Public Opinion
- Middle East Resources
- Vietnam Conflict Resources
Academic Writing
What You Will Find In This Guide
The purpose of this guide is to introduce you to some of the many great sources available to you while doing Defense Analysis related research. Use the Tabs to navigate to the types of information you are looking for. The Dudley Knox Library provides access to many highly useful databases, indexing tools and scholarly journals and much, much more. Be sure to use our focused Subject Guides for more specific listing of resources.
Article Indexes - provides links to the significant databases/search tools for locating scholarly journal articles.
Books - provides suggestions for places to search for books, both print and electronic.
Dissertations & Theses - will help you locate theses and disserations done by former NPS studnents as well as from other places.
News Sources - provides some jump-off points for locating media/news sources.
Maps - provides links for some great websites that provide access to digital maps of interest.
Specialized Sources & Databases- is useful for finding both print and electronic historic dictionaries and other reference sources.
Primary Source Documents - will help you locate original or primary documents including some collections of original materials.
Statistics - will be helpful in locating a variety of statistics including demographic, economic and more.
Freedom/Democracy Indices - freedom indexes are useful for reviewing the assessments and rankings of countries based on various elements or definitions of freedom.
Research Organizations - will be helpful in learning about organizations and think tanks focused on security and military issues across the world.
Special Forces Publications - provides links to official sites as well as current and historical SOF publications of interest.
Blogs and Forum Sites - use this to track some of the informational blogs sites.
Off-Campus Access - will try to answer questions you might have about accessing our resources from anywhere off campus.
Special Operations Global Mission
Mission of the U.S. Special Operations Command
"Provide fully capable Special Operations Forces to defend the United States and its interests. Synchronize planning of global operations against terrorist networks."
SOCOM Commander's Priorities:
- Deter, Disrupt & Defeat Terrorist Threats
- Develop & Supprot our People & Families
- Sustain & Modernize the Force
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Subject Specialist and Reference Librarian for areas including: Security Studies, Intelligence, Homeland Security, Defense Analysis, Military Science. Links: Profile & Guides |
Search Strategies
Remember to try some of these terms to help focus your search:
"irregular warfare"
"special operations"
"special forces"
counterinsurgency
"small wars"
"guerrilla warfare"
swarming




Loading...
