Research Guides: Defense Analysis : News

Individual Newspapers - Historic

News Sources - Historic

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) (Readex, NewsBank)
Translated text of radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, and government statements from around the world
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports (Readex, NewsBank)
Journal articles, books, serials, and radio and television transcripts from around the world. Global perspectives on high-interest issues from 1957 to 1995.
Readex (NewsBank)
Access World News, Armed Services & Government News, Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Historical archives of major US papers
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the following newspapers: Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Times (1851-2007), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), Washington Post (1877-1994)
World Newspaper Archive (Readex, NewsBank)
Historical international newspapers

Legend

NPS Users Only

Password Required

Individual Newspapers - Current

News Sources - Current

Access World News (NewsBank)
Local, regional, national, and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Armed Services and Government News (Readex, NewsBank)
Military and government news including the Air Force, Army, Marine Corps and Navy Times
InsideDefense
News and documents focusing on defense and aerospace programs, procurement & policy-making.
Includes Inside the Pentagon, Inside the Navy, Inside the Army, Inside the Air Force, and Inside Missile Defense
Janes
Military systems & equipment, geopolitical & terrorism intelligence, defense news & analysis, country security & threat assessments, and order of battle information for military worldwide.

At the Janes site enter your NPS email (e.g. john.doe@nps.edu). If you have difficulty accessing Janes, contact Ask a Librarian
Nexis Uni
Separate password not required beyond your NPS credentials

Journals, trade publications, newspapers, transcripts, company information, U.S. and International legal information and more
LexisNexis offers three major databases for NPS users: Nexis, Lexis, and Nexis Uni. Nexis Uni is designed with a simplified search interface, uses a targeted subset of Lexis and Nexis.

Current issues of newspapers, news wires, magazines, news weblogs, broadcast transcripts and more, and are provided in full-text (no graphics).
See this FAQ for more information.

If you are prompted for login info to access Nexis or Lexis, go to Lexis & Nexis (NPS login required).
PressReader
Digital replicas of newspapers & magazines in many languages from around the world available through browser or mobile app.
ProQuest Newsstream
Local and regional news coverage
Rane Worldview
Economics/finance, energy, military, politics, terrorism/security, industry & country forecasts, risks & opportunities, etc.

Defense Analysis

Individual Newspapers - Historic

News Sources - Historic

Legend

Individual Newspapers - Current

News Sources - Current

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947