Zotero

List of References

1. In Word, put your cursor where you want the List of References to appear
2. Click Add/Edit Bibliography
3. Your references will auto-populate based on the citations you used in your document

1. Right click on your Collection
2. Select Create Bibliography from Collection
3. Select your citation style, if different from the one highlighted
4. Select Output Mode: Bibliography
5. Select Output Mode: your choice (see link below)
6. Click OK

Drag and drop method. For short papers, Quick Copy is the easiest way to go. You can use this technique with Word, Google Docs, email, or blog posts, basically anything with a text field.

1.  First, configure your Quick Copy preferences. You can:

• Set the default export format
• Set up site-specific export settings
• Choose whether you want Zotero to include HTML markup when copying
• Set up keyboard shortcuts

​

2.  Select items in the center pane and drag them into Word

Available only for these styles:

• APA 7th ed. (annotated bibliography)
• Chicago 17th ed. (note, annotated bibliography) 

Create the bibliography

1. It's probably easiest to create a Collection first, and put your items in that folder.
   Remember, items can be in multiple Collections at the same time.
2. Put your annotations in the "EXTRA" field under the Info tab
3. Follow the Create Bibliography from a Collection instructions, selecting the appropriate style.

(Alternatively, if you only have a few items, you can individually select the ones you want to include, and then right click > Create bibliography from items.)

What is the difference between them?

• A Bibliography lists all works cited and consulted
• A List of References includes all works cited in a text

The NPS Thesis Processing Office prefers a List of References for the following: 

• Thesis
• Capstone project report
• MBA report
• Dissertation

For papers, check with your professors for their preference.