Research Guides: Homeland Security: Intelligence

Intelligence Journals

Intelligence Related Article Indexes

As well as the specialized search tools below, be sure to check the key journals in the box to the left.

EBSCO
Includes Business Source Complete, SocINDEX with Full Text, Criminal Justice Abstracts, Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts, and Library & Information Science & Technology Abstracts.
JSTOR
Journals do not include last 2-5 years.
Multidisciplinary digital library that provides access to a vast collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources across 75 disciplines.
JSTOR employs a "moving wall" system between the latest published issue of a journal and the most recent issue available on JSTOR.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Criminal, juvenile justice & law enforcement publications, reports, articles, statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional and training materials, etc.
Project Muse
Political science, policy studies, area studies
ProQuest - All databases
Multidisciplinary. A good place to start for any research topic.
ProQuest Status Page
PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Psychology and related disciplines
SAGE Journals
Criminology, engineering, management & organization studies, material sciences, political science, etc.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers intelligence, law enforcement, criminology and more.
Taylor & Francis Journals Online
This covers a wide variety of subject areas but is especially strong in the intelligence and security studies areas.
Web of Science - All databases (Clarivate)
Authoritative and comprehensive index of citations and abstracts of journal articles and conference proceedings in the Sciences and Social Sciences.

Click the Get It button in the search results to see if we have the full text article.

Google Scholar

Find journal articles and other scholarly content.

How to link to full text of articles

(1:32 min.)

Finding High Quality Journals

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) (Web of Science, Clarivate)
Science, technology, social sciences. Shows most frequently cited journals in a field, journal impact factor, etc.
Web of Science - All databases (Clarivate)
Authoritative and comprehensive index of citations and abstracts of journal articles and conference proceedings in the Sciences and Social Sciences.

Click the Get It button in the search results to see if we have the full text article.

Relevant Bibliographies

Boko Haram: A Brief Bibliography of Open Source Information
March 2015
Lone Wolf Terrorism: A Brief Bibliography
updated August 2019
Outlaw Motorcycle Gangs (OMG): A Brief Bibliography
Updated October 2023
Posse Comitatus / Sovereign Citizens: A Brief Bibliography
Updated October 2023
Suicide Terrorism: A Brief Bibliography of Scholarly Resources
Updated June 2015

Homeland Security

Intelligence Journals

Intelligence Related Article Indexes

Google Scholar

Finding High Quality Journals

Relevant Bibliographies

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947