Research Guides: Homeland Security: Tools & Specialized Resources

Exposure Response Tools

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management (CHEMM)
Guidance on planning, response and recovery related to chemical mass casualty incidents.
Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)
Guidance on the clinical diagnosis and treatment of mass casualty radiological/nuclear events for health care providers.
Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER)
A system to help emergency responders identify hazardous materials and respond to chemical emergencies. Contains information on over 400 chemicals and radiologic agents.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.

Specialized Tools

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Finding tool for federal publications. Includes descriptive records for historical and current publications.

Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS) Resource Center

CQ Researcher (1923-current) (CQ Press)
Economic, social, political & international affairs, historical background, milestones, current situations, controversies, outlooks, etc.

Disaster Research Center
Collections include: articles, books, papers, project reports and more.

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) (publicly releasable)
Publicly releasable documents only in all areas of defense research (science, technology, engineering, social science, business & budget), DOD directives & instructions. DTIC is the central scientific, research, and engineering information support activity for the DOD.
Each product listed on the page must be searched separately.

This archive has limited search filtering capabilities. For a better search experience, you can use the National Technical Reports Library or if you are eligible, register and use the DTIC R&E Gateway and use the Advanced Search to filter for "A - Approved for Public Release" documents.

FEMA Case Study Library
Case study reports and best practice articles from across FEMA's areas of expertise.
Health Library for Disasters [HELID]
This library is co-sponsored by the World Health Organization (WHO) and the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) and provides access to electronic documents on public health resources related to emergency preparedness and response and complex emergencies. Documents are in English, Spanish and French.

Janes
Military systems & equipment, geopolitical & terrorism intelligence, defense news & analysis, country security & threat assessments, and order of battle information for military worldwide.

At the Janes site enter your NPS email (e.g. john.doe@nps.edu). If you have difficulty accessing Janes, contact Ask a Librarian
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Criminal, juvenile justice & law enforcement publications, reports, articles, statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional and training materials, etc.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) (U.S. Dept. of Energy)
Useful for science, technology, and engineering information from the US Dept. of Energy
Science, technology, and engineering research from the U.S. Dept. of Energy
ProQuest Congressional
Congressional information such as bills and laws, legislative histories, hearings, reports, and other documents, Committee memberships, Congressional Record Congressional Research Service, Executive Branch, presidential materials and more.
ProQuest Congressional provides indexing and abstracting of congressional publications. Sources include: full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, committee prints, bills, Congressional Record, Bill tracking, public laws, biographical information, committees, voting records and executive branch and presidential documents. Our subscription includes information going back to the first Congress in 1789!
SAGE Research Methods
How to conduct social science research from start to finish: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting & analyzing data, and writing up your findings. Includes the "Little Green Books" (quantitative methods), and the "Little Blue Books" (qualitative methods).
Learn more about SRMO and social science research methods.
Rane Worldview
Economics/finance, energy, military, politics, terrorism/security, industry & country forecasts, risks & opportunities, etc.

United States Government Compendium of Interagency and Associated Terms
USG Compendium identifies standard terminology experienced in cooperation activities of
the Federal branches of government and their components. These organizational terms,
together with their definitions, provide an overview of existing terminology for general
understanding by all USG components. doctrine, delivering advice, or creating plans and
facilitating training and exercises

Emergency Management Sources

Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED)
CRED is fields of international disaster and conflict health studies
Disaster Preparation and Recovery
Articles and resources from the National Library of Medicine.
Disaster Research Center
Collections include: articles, books, papers, project reports and more.
EM-DAT [Emergency Events Database]: The International Disaster Database
EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present.
FEMA Tools for Practitioners
Collection of publicly accessible FEMA information resources including publications, guidance and policy papers, program regulations and more.

Think Tanks

Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice (CJCJ)
Institute for Law and Justice (ILJ)
John Jay College Research Centers
National Police Foundation
Police Executive Research Forum (PERF)
Police Foundation
The UK’s policing think tank.
Think Tank Search
US and International

Homeland Security

Exposure Response Tools

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)

Specialized Tools

Emergency Management Sources

Think Tanks

Start Your Research

Find & Download

Use the Library

Collections

About

	circdesk@nps.edu
	(831) 656-2947 DSN 756-2947