Citation Guide

How to enter the metadata in Zotero for each citation example

APA: Zotero Examples

Zotero

Zotero

Blog Post

APA blog post 

Book Chapter in Edited Book > One author, two editors

APA book chapter in edited book 

Book Section > Three authors, one editor > From the introduction, forward, preface, etc.

APA book section introduction

Electronic Book > Chapter with DOI or URL

In-text Citation
APA book electronic with DOI in-text 


APA book electronic with DOI

Electronic Book > From book provider (Kindle)

 Reference Entry

APA book electronic Kindle


APA book electronic Kindle reference

Electronic Book > From library database

APA book electronic from library database

Book > Print > One author

APA book print

Book > Print > Two authors, with edition number

 APA book print with two authors and edition number

Book > Print > Three authors

APA book print three authors

Class Notes > Published

APA class notes published 

Lecture > Published (online)

APA lecture published online 

Lecture > Unpublished

In-text Citation

APA class lecture unpublished


APA class lecture unpublished

Presentation or Workshop

APA presentation or workshop 

Computer Program / Software > Hard Copy

APA computer program hard copy

Computer Program / Software > Online

APA computer program 

Conference Proceedings (online)

APA conference proceedings online             

Conference Proceedings (print)

APA conference proceedings print 

Conference Proceedings > Paper Presented at Conference > Unpublished

APA conference paper unpublished

Data Set > Published

APA data set 

Data Set > Unpublished and Retrievable

APA data set unpublished retrievable 


APA data set unpublished retrievable 2

Data Set > Unpublished and Not Retrievable

 APA data set unpublished not retrievable

Dictionary

APA dictionary 

Encyclopedia

APA encyclopedia

Fact Sheet

Subsequent In-text Citations

APA fact sheet in text subsequent

Reference Entry

APA fact sheet reference


APA fact sheet 

Directive

Subsequent In-text Citations

APA directive in-text subsequent

Reference Entry

APA directive reference


 APA directive

Doctrine

Subsequent In-text Citations

APA doctrine in text subsequent

Reference Entry

APA doctrine reference


 APA doctrine

Field Manual / Military Regulation

Subsequent In-text Citations

APA field manual in-text subsequent

Reference Entry

APA field manual reference


APA field manual


 

Government Report > CRS Report

 APA government report CRS

Government Report > GAO Report

APA government report GAO 

Government Report > Strategy Document / Other Government Report

 APA government report strategy document

Instruction

Subsequent In-text Citation

APA instruction in-text subsequent

Reference Entry

APA instruction reference


APA instruction

Memorandum

Reference Entry

APA memorandum reference


APA memorandum

Handbook > Online

APA handbook online 

Handbook > Print

APA handbook print 

Journal Article > Online > With DOI or URL

APA journal article online 

Journal Article > Online > From library database

APA journal article from library database

Journal Article > Print

APA journal article print

Legal > Bill / Resolution > Federal enacted, published in Congressional Record

Reference Entry

APA legal bill federal enacted reference


APA legal bill federal enacted 

Legal > Bill / Resolution > Federal unenacted

APA legal bill federal unenacted 

Legal > Code of Federal Regulations

APA legal Code of Federal Regulations 

Legal > Congressional Hearing > Full Hearing

In-text Citation
APA legal congressional hearing full in text 


APA legal congressional hearing full

Legal > Congressional Hearing > Testimony within a Hearing

APA legal congressional hearing testimony 

Legal > Court Case Decision > Lower Court

APA legal court case lower reference


APA legal court case lower 

Legal > Court Case Decision > Supreme Court

APA legal court supreme 

Legal > Executive Order > Basic Format

APA legal executive order basic 

Legal > Executive Order > Extended Format

APA legal executive order extended 

Legal > Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR)

 APA legal FAR

Legal > Public Law > U.S. Code

Subsequent In-text Citations:

APA legal public law US Code in text


APA legal public law US Code

Legal > Public Law > U.S. Statutes at Large

APA legal public law Statutes 

Magazine Article > Online > DOI or URL > No author

APA magazine no author 

Magazine Article > Online > From library database

APA magazine article from library database 

Magazine Article > Print

APA magazine author given 

Map > Google Map

APA map

Multimedia > Film

 APA film

Multimedia > Podcast

Reference Entry

APA multimedia podcast reference


APA podcast 

Multimedia > Video

APA multimedia video

Newspaper Article > Online > DOI or URL > Author given

APA APA newspaper article with DOI or URL

Newspaper Article > Online > DOI or URL > No author

 APA newspaper no author

Newspaper Article > Online > From library database

APA newspaper article from library database 

Patent

Reference Entry

APA patent reference


APA patent 

Personal Communication > Email

In-text Citation

APA email in-text citation


APA personal communication email 

Personal Communication > Interview

In-text Citation

APA personal communication interview in-text citation



APA personal communication interview

Personal Communication > Personal Communication

APA personal communication

Photograph

APA photo 

Report > Research Report / Think Tank Report / White Paper

Reference Entry

APA research report reference


APA report research 

Report > Technical Report > Author given (online)

APA report technical 

Report > Technical Report > Organization as author (online)

In-text Citation

APA report technical org author online in text

Subsequent In-text Citation

APA report technical organizational author online in text subsequent 


APA report technical org author online

Report > Technical Report > Author given (print)

APA report technical author print 

Secondary Source

APA secondary source 

Social Media > Instagram

In-text Citation

APA social media Instagram in-text 


APA social media Instagram

Social Media > Twitter

In-text Citation
APA social media twitter in-text 


APA social media Twitter

Speech

APA speech 

Thesis / Dissertation > From commercial database > Dissertation

APA dissertation from commercial database 

Thesis / Dissertation > From institutional archive > Dissertation

APA dissertation from institutional archive

Thesis / Dissertation > From institutional archive > Thesis

APA thesis from institutional archive

Unpublished Work > Accepted for publication (online)

APA unpublished work accepted for publication 

Unpublished Work > Not submitted for publication (print)

APA unpublished work not submitted for publication 

Unpublished Work > Submitted for publication (online)

APA unpublished work submitted for publication 

Website / Webpage > Author given

APA website author given 

Website / Webpage > Organization as author

Subsequent In-text Citation

APA website organization in-text subsequent

Reference Entry

APA website organization reference


APA website organization as author

Website > No date given

APA website no date 

Website > Janes Example

APA website Janes 

Wikipedia

APA wikipedia 

Working Paper / Occasional Paper

APA working paper