Citation Guide

How to enter the metadata in Zotero for each citation example

Zotero  Chicago Author-Date: Zotero Examples

Blog Post

                Chicago AD blog post             

Book Chapter in Edited Book > One author, two editors

Chicago AD book chapter in edited book 

Book Chapter > Three authors, one editor > From the introduction, forward, preface, etc.

Reference Entry

Chicago AD book section Introduction reference


Chicago AD book section Introduction

Electronic Book > DOI or URL


Chicago AD book electronic with DOI

Electronic Book > From book provider (Kindle)

 Chicago AD book electronic Kindle

Electronic Book > From library database

Chicago AD book electronic from library database

Book > Print > One author

Chicago AD book print

Book > Print > Two authors, with edition number

Chicago AD book print two authors with edition number

Book > Print > Three authors

Chicago AD book print three authors

Book Print > Four Authors

Chicago AD book print four authors

Class Notes > Published

Chicago AD class notes published 

Lecture > Published (online)

Chicago AD lecture published 

Lecture > Unpublished

Presentation or Workshop

Chicago AD presentation 

Computer Program / Software > Online

Reference Entry

Chicago AD computer program reference


Chicago AD computer program

Conference Proceedings (online)

Reference Entry

Chicago AD conference proceedings online reference             


Chicago AD conference proceedings online

Conference Proceedings (print)

Chicago AD conference proceedings print 

Conference Proceedings > Paper > Unpublished

Chicago AD conference proceedings paper unpublished

Data Set > Published

Reference Entry

Chicago AD data set published reference


Chicago AD data set published 

Data Set > Unpublished

 Chicago AD data set unpublished

Database

Reference Entry

Chicago AD database reference


Chicago AD database

Dictionary / Encyclopedia

Reference Entry

Chicago AD dictionary reference


Chicago AD dictionary 

Fact Sheet

Chicago AD fact sheet 

Directive

First In-text Citation

Chicago AD directive in text citation

Reference Entry

Chicago AD directive reference


Chicago AD directive


 

Doctrine

Chicago AD doctrine 

Field Manual / Military Regulation

First In-text Citation

Chicago AD field manual in text citation

Reference Entry

Chicago AD field manual reference


Chicago AD field manual

Government Report > CRS Report

 Chicago AD CRS report

Government Report > GAO Report

Chicago AD GAO report 

Government Report > Strategy Document / Other Government Report

                 Chicago AD government report strategy document

Instruction

First In-text Citation

Chicago AD instruction in text citation

Reference Entry

                Chicago AD instruction reference


Chicago AD instruction

Memorandum

Chicago AD memorandum

Handbook > Online

Chicago AD handbook online 

Handbook > Print

Chicago AD handbook print 

Journal Article > Online > DOI or URL

                Chicago AD journal article online             

Journal Article > Online > From library database

                Chicago AD journal article from database

Journal Article > Print

Chicago AD journal article print

Legal > Bill / Resolution > Federal unenacted

Legal > Code of Federal Regulations

Legal > Congressional Hearing > Full Hearing

Legal > Congressional Hearing > Testimony within a Hearing

Legal > Court Case Decision > Lower Court

Legal > Court Case Decision > Supreme Court

Legal > Executive Order

Legal > Public Law

Magazine Article > Online > DOI or URL

Chicago AD magazine article with DOI or URL 

Magazine Article > Online > From library database

Chicago AD magazine article from library database 

Magazine Article > Print

Chicago AD magazine print 

Map > Google

Reference Entry

Chicago AD Google Map reference


Chicago AD Google Map 

Multimedia > Film

Reference Entry

Chicago AD film reference


 Chicago AD multimedia film

Multimedia > Video

Reference Entry

Chicago AD video reference


Chicago AD video

Newspaper Article > Online > DOI or URL

Chicago AD newspaper online author given 

Newspaper Article > Online > From library database

 Chicago AD newspaper article online from database

Newspaper Article > Print > No author given

                Chicago AD newspaper article print             

Patent

                Chicago AD patent             

Personal Communication > Email

Chicago AD personal communication email 

Personal Communication > Interview

Personal Communication > Personal Communication

 Chicago AD personal communication

Report > Research Report / Think Tank Report / White Paper (online)

Chicago AD research report 

Report > Technical Report > Agency as author (online)

Chicago AD technical report agency as author onlin

Report > Technical Report > Author given (online)

Chicago AD technical report author given onlin

Report > Technical Report > Author given (print)

Chicago AD technical report author given print 

Secondary Source

Chicago AD secondary source 

Social Media

In-text Citations

If Facebook, put the handle in brackets.
Chicago AD social media in text Facebook

If not Facebook, delete the handle.
Chicago AD social media in text not Facebook

 

Reference Entry

Chicago AD social media reference


Chicago AD social media

Speech

Chicago AD speech 

Thesis / Dissertation > Dissertation > From commercial database

Chicago AD dissertation from commercial database 

Thesis / Dissertation > From institutional archive > Dissertation

Chicago AD dissertation from institutional archive

Thesis / Dissertation > From institutional archive > Thesis

Chicago AD thesis from institutional archive

Unpublished Work > (print)

Chicago AD unpublished print 

Unpublished Work > Accepted for publication (online)

In-text Citation

Chicago AD unpublished accepted in-text 


Chicago AD unpublished accepted

Unpublished Work > Submitted for publication (online)

Chicago AD unpublished submitted for publication 

Website / Webpage > Author and date given

Chicago AD author, date given 

Website / Webpage > No author > Organization as author

First In-text Citation

Chicago AD org as author first in-text citation

Reference Entry

Chicago AD website org as author reference


Chicago AD website org as author

Website > No date given

First In-text Citation

Chicago AD website no date in-text 

Reference Entry

Chigago AD website no date reference


Chicago AD website no date

Website > Janes Example

Chicago AD website Janes 

Wikipedia

Reference Entry

Chicago AD wikipedia reference


Chicago AD wikipedia 

Working Paper / Occasional Paper

Reference Entry

Chicago AD working paper reference


Chicago AD working paper