Citation Guide

How to enter the metadata in Zotero for each citation example

IEEE: Zotero Examples

Zotero

Zotero

Blog Post

Reference Entry

IEEE blog reference

IEEE blog post 

Book Chapter in Edited Book > One author, two editors

APA book chapter in edited book 

Book Chapter in Edited Book > Three authors, one editor > From the introduction, forward, preface, etc.

Reference Entry

IEEE edited book with three authors reference

IEEE edited book with three authors

Electronic Book > DOI or URL

IEEE electronic book with DOI

Electronic Book > From book provider (Kindle)

IEEE electronic book Kindle

Electronic Book > From library database

IEEE electronic book from library database

Book > Print > One author

APA print book one author

Book > Print > Two authors, with edition number

 IEEE print book with edition number

Book > Print > Three authors

IEEE print book with three authors

Book Section (in a series, portion, or volume) > In a Series

Reference Entry

IEEE book series reference


IEEE book series

Book Section (in a series, portion, or volume) > Portion

Reference Entry

IEEE book portion reference


IEEE book portion

Book Section (in a series, portion, or volume) > Volume

IEEE book volume

Class Notes / Lecture > Published (online) > Class Notes

Reference Entry

IEEE class notes published reference


IEEE class notes published 

Class Notes / Lecture > Published (online) > Lecture

IEEE published lecture 

Class Notes / Lecture > Unpublished

IEEE unpublished class notes 

Presentation or Workshop

Reference Entry

IEEE presentation reference


IEEE presentation 

Computer Program / Software

IEEE computer program

Conference Paper Presented at Conference > Unpublished

Reference Entry

IEEE conference proceedings paper unpublished reference


IEEE conference proceedings paper unpublished

Conference Proceedings (online)

IEEE conference proceedings online 

Conference Proceedings (print)

IEEE conference proceeding print 

Data Set > Published

IEEE data set published

Database > Published

Reference Entry

IEEE database published reference


 IEEE database published

Dictionary / Encyclopedia

Reference Entry

IEEE dictionary reference


IEEE dictionary 

Fact Sheet

Reference Entry

IEEE fact sheet reference


IEEE fact sheet 

Directive

Reference Entry

IEEE directive reference


IEEE directive

Doctrine

Reference Entry

IEEE doctrine reference


 IEEE doctrine

Field Manual / Military Regulation

Reference Entry

IEEE field manual reference


IEEE field manual


 

Government Report > CRS Report

 IEEE CRS report

Government Report > GAO Report

IEEE GAO report 

Government Report > Strategy Document / Other Government Report

 IEEE strategy report

Instruction

Reference Entry

IEEE instruction reference

IEEE instruction

Memorandum

IEEE memorandum

Handbook > Online

IEEE handbook online reference 


IEEE handbook online

Handbook > Print

APA handbook print 

Journal Article > Online > DOI

IEEE journal online with DOI 

Journal Article > Online > From library database

IEEE journal article online from library database

Journal Article > Print

IEEE journal article print

Legal > Legislative Document

IEEE legal legislative document 

Legal > Public Law > Published in the U.S. Code

IEEE public law in US Code 

Legal > Public Law > Published in the U.S. Statutes at Large

IEEE public law in US Statutes at Large 

Map

Reference Entry

IEEE map reference


IEEE map 

Newspaper Article > Online

Reference Entry

IEEE newspaper article online reference


IEEE newspaper article online 

Newspaper Article > Print

Reference EntryIEEE newspaper article print reference


IEEE newspaper article print 

 

Patent

IEEE patent 

Personal Communication > Email, Interview, Private Communication

Reference Entry

IEEE personal communication interview reference


IEEE personal communication interview 

Report > Research Report / Think Tank Report / White Paper

Reference Entry

IEEE research report reference


IEEE research report 

Report > Technical Report > Author given (online)

IEEE tech report author given online 

Report > Technical Report > Organization as author (online)

IEEE tech report organization as author online

Report > Technical Report > Author given (print)

IEEE tech report author given print 

Secondary Source

IEEE secondary source 

Standard

Reference Entry

IEEE standard reference


IEEE standard 

Thesis / Dissertation > Dissertation > Print

IEEE dissertation print

Thesis / Dissertation > Thesis from institutional archive

IEEE thesis from institutional archive

Unpublished Work > Accepted for publication

IEEE unpublished work accepted for publication 

Website / Webpage > Author and date given

Reference Entry

IEEE website author and date given

IEEE website author and date given 

Website / Webpage > Organization as author

IEEE website organization as author

Website > No author and no date given

Reference Entry

IEEE website no author or date reference


IEEE website no author or date given 

Website > Janes Example

Reference Entry

IEEE website Janes example reference


IEEE website Janes example 

Wikipedia

Reference Entry

IEEE wikipedia reference


IEEE wikipedia 

Working Paper / Occasional Paper

IEEE working paper