Naval Postgraduate School Naval Postgraduate School
Dudley Knox Library
Ask a Librarian My Accounts NPS Dudley Knox Library

Citation Guide

IEEE BibTeX Code

Blog

Blog

 @misc{locke_2020,
  author        = "J. Locke",
  title         = "Effect of weird tails in 35mm Innsmouth sprocket periodicity distributions on re-tiered bicyclical phase shifting using {C}thulhean logic",
  month         = "Dec. 22,",
  year          = "2020",
  howpublished  = "Thing’s Credible!, blog", 
  url           = "https://wrywhisker.pulpfriction.net/wallcrust/linear-colinear-felinear.html"
}

Book
Chapter in Edited Book

Book Chapter

One author, two editors

 @incollection{haynes_2009,
  author        = "P. Haynes",
  editor        = "D. Moran and J. A. Russel",
  title         = "Al-{Q}aeda, oil dependence, and {U.S.} foreign policy",
  booktitle     = "Energy Security and Global Politics: The Militarization of Resource Management",
  publisher     = "Routledge",
  address       = "New York, NY, USA",
  year          = "2009",
  pages         = "62--77"
}
Electronic Book

DOI or URL

DOI preferred

 @ebook{bonds_2014,
  author        = "M. E. Bonds",
  title         = "Absolute Music: The History of an Idea",
  howpublished  = "Oxford University Press, New York, NY, USA, 2014.",
  url           = "https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.003.0004"
}

From book provider

 @ebook{krishnan_2008,
  author        = "A. Krishnan",
  title         = "War as Business: Technological Change and Military Service Contracting",
  howpublished  = "Aldershot, England: Ashgate, 2008. Kindle edition"
}
Print Book

One author

 @book{pollan_2006,
  author        = "M. Pollan",
  title         = "The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals",
  publisher     = "Penguin",
  address       = "New York, NY, USA",
  edition       = "2nd ed.",
  year          = "2006"
}

Two authors with edition number

 @book{strindberg_warn_2011,
  author        = "A. Strindberg and M. Wärn",
  title         = " Islamism: Religion, Radicalization and Resistance",
  publisher     = "John Wiley and Sons",
  address       = "Hoboken, NJ, USA",
  edition       = "2nd ed.",
  year          = "2011"
}
Section (in a series, portion, volume)

In a series

 @inbook{abramowitz_64,
  editor        = "M. Abramowitz and I. A. Stegun",
  title         = "Handbook of Mathematical Functions",
  series        = "Applied Mathematics Series 55",
  publisher     = "NBS",
  address       = "Washington, DC, USA",
  pages         = "32--33",
  year          = "1964"
}

Portion

 @inbook{orend_2013,
  author        = "B. Orend",
  title         = "Morality of War",
  publisher     = "Broadview Press",
  address       = "Tonawanda, NY, USA",
  edition       = "2nd ed.",
  year          = "2013",
  chapter       = "2, sec.\ 3",
  pages         = "67--70"
}

Volume

 @incollection{myer_77,
  author        = "R. L. Myer",
  editor        = "P. G. Harper and B. S. Wherret",
  title         = "Parametric oscillators and nonlinear materials",
  booktitle     = "Nonlinear Optics",
  publisher     = "Academic Press",
  address       = "San Francisco, CA, USA",
  year          = "1977",
  volume        = "4",
  pages         = "47--160"
}

Class Notes / Lecture / Presentation / Workshop

Class Notes / Lecture / Presentation / Workshop

 @misc{NPS_notes_2013,
  title         = "New applications in computational mechanics",
  organization  = "Dept. of Mech. and Aerosp. Eng., Naval Postgraduate School",
  howpublished  = "class notes for Computational Mechanics",
  address       = "Monterey, CA, USA",
  year          = "spring 2013"
}

Computer Program / Software

Computer Program / Software

 @software{comprehensive_2005,
  author        = "M. Borenstein and L. Hedges and J. Higgins and H. Rothstein",
  address       = "Englewood, NJ, USA",
  title         = "Comprehensive Meta-Analysis",
  howpublished  = "ver. 2",
  year          = "2005",
  url           = "http://www.meta-analysis.com"
}

Conference Paper / Proceedings

Conference Proceedings

(online)

 @inproceedings{morentz_2009,
  author        = "J. W. Morentz and C. Doyle and L. Skelly and N. Adam",
  title         = "{Unified Incident Command and Decision Support (UICDS) a Department of Homeland Security initiative in information sharing}",
  booktitle     = "2009 IEEE Conference on Technologies for Homeland Security",
  year          = "2009",
  url           = "https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/5168032"
}

Conference Proceedings

(print)

 @inproceedings{katz_2007,
  author        = "I. Katz and K. Gabayan and H. Aghajan",
  title         = "A multi-touch surface using multiple cameras",
  booktitle     = "Adv. Conc. for Intell. Vis. Sys.: 9th Intl. Conf.",
  year          = "2007",
  pages         = "133--203"
}

Paper Presented at a Conference

Unpublished

 @misc{kirby_2013,
  author        = "K. Kirby and J. Stratton",
  title         = "{V}an {A}llen probes: Successful launch campaign and early operations exploring {E}arth's radiation belts",
  howpublished  = "presented at the IEEE Aerospace Conference",
  address       = "Big Sky, MT, USA",
  year          = "2013"
}

Data Set / Database

Database

Published

 @electronic{nsa_ipac_2012,
  author        = "{NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database}",
  organization  = "Object name IRAS F00400+4059",
  url           = "http://nedwww.ipac.caltech.edu/",
  note          = "Accessed Dec. 10, 2012"
}

Dictionary / Encyclopedia

Dictionary / Encyclopedia

 @misc{merriam_2017,
  title         = "Metamorphosis",
  howpublished  = {\emph{Merriam-Webster}. Accessed July 6, 2017},
  url           = "https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/metamorphosis"
}

Fact Sheet

Fact Sheet

 @misc{texas_2015,
  author        = "{Texas Instruments}",
  howpublished  = {\emph{LM555 timer}, SNAS548D, 2015},
  url           = "https://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm555.pdf"
}

Government / Military Document
Directive

Directive

 @manual{dod_5000.1,
  title         = "The Defense Acquisition System",
  howpublished  = "DOD Directive 5000.1",
  organization  = "Under Secretary of Defense (AT\&L)",
  address       = "Washington, DC, USA",
  year          = "2003.",
  url           = "http://www.esd.whs.mil/Portals/54/Documents/
DD/issuances/dodm/857001m.pdf"
}
Doctrine

Doctrine

 @manual{JP1,
  title         = "Doctrine for the Armed Forces of the United States",
  howpublished  = "JP-1",
  organization  = "Joint Chiefs of Staff",
  address       = "Washington, DC, USA",
  year          = "2017.",
  url           = "https://fas.org/irp/doddir/dod/jp1.pdf"
}
Field Manual / Military Regulation

Field Manual / Military Regulation

 @manual{sniper_2011,
  title         = "Sniper Training",
  howpublished  = "FM 23-10",
  organization  = "U.S. Dept. of the Army",
  address       = "Washington, DC, USA",
  year          = "1995",
  url           = "https://www.bits.de/NRANEU/others/amd-us-archive/fm_23-10\%2894\%29.pdf"
}
Government Report

CRS or GAO Report

 @misc{erwin_2011,
  author        = "M. C. Erwin",
  title         = "Intelligence issues for Congress",
  address       = "Washington, DC: USA",
  howpublished  = "CRS Report No. RL33539",
  year          = "2011.",
  url           = "http://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/intel/RL33539.pdf"
}
Instruction

Instruction

 @manual{instruction_1000.01,
  title         = "Identification (ID) Cards Required by the Geneva Convention",
  howpublished  = "DOD Instruction 1000.01",
  organization  = "Department of Defense",
  address       = "Washington, DC, USA",
  year          = "2012",
  pages         = "1-1, 1-10"
}
Memorandum

Memorandum

 @misc{takai_2013,
  author        = "T. M. Takai",
  title         = "Adoption of the national information exchange model within the {D}epartment of {D}efense",
  address       = "Washington, DC: USA",
  howpublished  = "official memorandum,  {D}epartment of {D}efense, Washington, DC, USA",
  year          = "2013.",
  url           = "http://dodcio.defense.gov/Portals/0/Documents/2013-03-28\%20Adoption\%20of\%20the\%20NIEM\%20within\%20the\%20DoD.pdf"
}

Handbook

Print

 @manual{transmission_comm_85,
  title         = "Transmission Systems for Communications",
  edition       = "3rd",
  organization  = "Western Elect. Co.",
  address       = "Winston-Salem, NC, USA",
  year          = "1985",
  pages         = "44--60"
}

Journal Article

Online

DOI or URL

DOI preferred

 @article{sanico_2018,
  author        = "G. Sanico and M. Kakinaka",
  title         = "Terrorism and deterrence policy with transnational support",
  journal       = "Def. \& Peace Econ.",
  volume        = "19",
  number        = "2",
  year          = "2018. doi: https://doi.org/10.1080/10242690701505419",
  month         = Apr
}

 

Print

 @article{wang_2014,
  author        = "W. Q. Wang and H. Shao",
  title         = "High altitude platform multichannel {SAR} for wide-area and staring imaging",
  journal       = "Aerosp. and Electron. Syst.",
  volume        = "29",
  number        = "25",
  month         = mar,
  year          = "2014",
  pages         = "12--17"
}

Legal

Legislative Document

 @electronic{congress_1991,
  author        = "{U.S. House. 102nd Congress, 1st Session}",
  journal       = "H. Con. Res. 1, To Express the Sense of the Congress That Congress Must Approve Any Offensive Military Action Against Iraq",
  year          = "1991",
  month         = "Jan. 11",
  url           = "https://www.congress.gov/bill/102nd-congress/house-concurrent-resolution/1?q=%7B%22search%22%3A%5B%22h.+con.+res.+1%
22%5D%7D&s=1&r=1"
}

 

Public Law

Published in the U.S. Code

 @electronic{americans_1991,
  author        = "{Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990}",
  howpublished  = "42 U.S.C. § 12101. 1991"
}

Map

Google Map

 @misc{Google_2017,
  author        = "Google",
  title         = "Monterey Bay",
  month         = "Accessed Jul. 6, 2017.",
  url           = "https://www.google.com/maps/
place/Monterey+Bay/@36.7896106,-122.0843052,11z/data=
!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x808e0ccfc5859dfd:0x124654a608855d43!8m2!3d36.8007413!4d-121.947311"
}

Newspaper Article

Online

 @misc{linguine_2016,
  author        = "L. Linguine",
  title         = "Animal fat shampoos for achieving angel hair",
  journal       = "Knife and Spork Semi-Weekly",
  year          = "2016",
  month         = "Jul. 15,",
  url           = "http://www.chickenyodeling.com/dfjgp98y4t34_pherg899h.html/"
}

Print

 @misc{stulberg_2016,
  author        = "J. Stulberg",
  title         = "The art of creating crossword puzzles",
  howpublished  = "\emph{The New York Times}",
  year          = "2016",
  month         = "Jul. 15,"
}

Patent

Patent

 @patent{bell_1876,
  author        = "A. G. Bell",
  title         = "Improvement in telegraphy",
  nationality   = "United States",
  number        = "174465",
  day           = "7",
  month         = Mar,
  year          = "1876",
  url           = "https://www.google.com/patents/US174465"
}

Personal Communication

Email, Interview, Private
Communication, etc.

 @misc{ajanlekoko_2009,
  author        = "R. Ajanlekoko",
  howpublished  = "private communication",
  year          = "2009",
  month         = "Sep."
}

Report
Research Report / Think Tank Report / White Paper

Research Report / Think Tank Report / White Paper

 @misc{dixon_2017,
  author        = "L. Dixon and N. Clancy and B. M. Miller and S. Hoegberg and M. M. Lewis and {B. Bender et al.}",
  title         = "The cost and affordability of flood insurance in New York City",
  howpublished   = "RAND Corp., Santa Monica, CA, USA, RR-1776-NYCEDC",
  year          = "2017",
  url           = "https://www.rand.org/content/dam/rand/pubs/research_reports/RR1700/RR1776/
RAND_RR1776.pdf"
}
Technical Report

Technical Report

Author given

(online)

 @techreport{effendi_2009,
  author        = "S. V. Effendi and X. Vilhjálmsson",
  title         = "The absorption rate of potatoes in salmonella",
  institution   = "Dept. Vet. Stud.",
  address       = "Madison, WI, USA",
  number        = "17-59",
  year          = "2009",
  url           = "https://vetstudies.edu/donteatthosefries.html"
}

Technical Report

Author given

(print)

 @techreport{abdulatipov_2012,
  author        = "K. A. Abdulatipov and F. Ramazonov",
  title         = "The absorption rate of E. coli in cats",
  institution   = "Dept. Vet. Stud.",
  address       = "Madison, WI, USA",
  number        = "17-59",
  year          = "2012"
}

Technical Report

Organization as author

(online)

 @techreport{national_toxicology_2012,
  author        = "{National Toxicology Program}",
  title         = "Toxicology and carcinogenesis studies of trimethylolpropane triacrylate {(CASRN 15625-89-5) in F344/N rats and B6C3F1/N mice (Topical Application Studies)}",
  institution   = "Washington, DC, USA",
  number        = "TR-576",
  year          = "2012",
  url           = "https://ntp.niehs.nih.gov/results/pubs/longterm/reports/longterm/tr500580
?/listedreports/tr576/index.html"
}

Standard

Standard

 Standard: @manual{standard_1968,
  title         = "Letter Symbols for Quantities",
  howpublished  = "ANSI Standard Y10.5",
  year          = "1968"
}

Thesis / Dissertation

Dissertation
(print)

 @phdthesis{rivera_2010,
  author        = "J. Rivera",
  title         = "Software system architecture modeling methodology for naval gun weapon systems",
  school        = "Dept. of Comp. Sci., Harvard Univ.",
  address       = "Cambridge, MA, USA",
  year          = "2010"
}

Thesis

From an institutional archive such as the NPS Archive: Calhoun

 @mastersthesis{Moon_1993,
  author        = "T. D. Moon",
  title         = "Rising dragon: Infrastructure development and Chinese influence in Vietnam",
  school        = "Dept. of Natl. Sec. Aff., NPS",
  address       = "Monterey, CA, USA",
  type          = "M.S. thesis",
  year          = "1993",
  url           = "http://hdl.handle.net/10945/4694"
}

Unpublished / Informally Published Work

Unpublished Work

Accepted for publication

 @unpublished{briscoe_unpub,
  author        = "R. Briscoe",
  title         = "Egocentric spatial representation in action and perception",
  note          = "unpublished"
}

Website / Webpage

Author and date given

 @misc{Roth_2017,
  author        = "R. Roth",
  title         = "75 years ago, the {D}oolittle {R}aid changed history",
  howpublished  = "CNN",
  month         = "Apr. 18,", 
  year          = "2017",
  url           = "http://www.cnn.com/2017/04/18/us/75th-anniversary-doolittle-raid/index.html"
}

Organization as author

 @misc{FBI_2017,
  author        = {{Federal Bureau of Investigation}},
  title         = {Forging papers to sell fake art},
  month         = "Apr. 6,", 
  year          = "2017",
  url           = "https://www.fbi.gov/news/stories/forging-papers-to-sell-fake-art"
}

Organization as author, no date given

 @misc{dep_defense_2017,
  author        = {{Department of Defense}},
  title         = {{About the Department of Defense (DOD).}},
  howpublished  = "Accessed Apr. 18, 2017", 
  url           = "https://www.defense.gov/About/"
}

Janes example

 @misc{Janes_2017,
  title         = "Mali: Executive summary",
  howpublished = {Jane's, May 31, 2017},
  url           = "https://customer.janes.com/"
}

Wikipedia

Wikipedia

 @misc{wiki_2016,
  title         = "Psychology",
  howpublished  = {\emph{Wikipedia}. Accessed May 17, 2011},
  url           = "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psychology"
}

Working Paper / Occasional Paper

Working Paper / Occasional Paper

 @misc{sushi_2021,
  author        = "U. Q. Sushi",
  title         = "Three-handed {F}ibonacci model for optimizing surface-to-volume ratio of temaki in {H}ilbert space",
  howpublished  = "working paper, Donburi Inst. of Int. Gastron, Pierre, SD, USA, 2021",
  url           = "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psychology"
}
Subjects: Citation Tools