BIBTEX NPS Template v2.6 and earlier: Code ExamplesThe following codes are customized for NPS theses and are not intended for use with any other publisher or template. The NPS thesis LaTeX template comes prepackaged with a BibTeX tool and a bib file containing the examples below.
|
Book |
|
|---|---|
| Chapter in Edited Book | |
|
Book Chapter One author, one editor |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Enter enter city and state in Publisher field. Major cities like Los Angeles, Boston, and Seattle do not take states. The output differs slightly from the example, but Thesis Processing will accept it.
|
| Electronic Book | |
|
DOI or URL |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Variant of book class. Note extra brackets in author and note fields to force desired output.
|
|
From book provider |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Variant of book class. Note extra brackets in author and note fields.
|
|
From library database |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Variant of book class. Note the use of backslash in Title field to prevent extra space after a colon.
|
| Print Book | |
|
One author |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Capitalize book title, and enter city and state in the Publisher field. Major cities like Los Angeles, Boston, and Seattle do not take states.
|
Class Notes / Lecture / Presentation / Workshop |
|
|---|---|
|
Class Notes / Lecture Published |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use misc class, entering 1) description, 2) course number 3) month and day, 4) publisher, 5) address and 6) URL, if any, in Howpublished field. In Title field, enclose proper nouns in brackets, as needed, to retain capitalization.
|
|
Class Notes Unpublished |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use misc class, entering details in Howpublished field. In Title field, enclose proper nouns in brackets, as shown.
|
|
Lecture Unpublished |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use misc class, entering description, place, and month and day in Howpublished field.
|
|
Presentation or Workshop |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use misc class, entering details (including URL, if any) in Howpublished field. In Title field, enclose proper nouns in brackets, as needed, to retain capitalization.
|
Computer Program / Software |
|
|---|---|
|
Computer Program / Software
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use misc class. Enter VERSION number in Title field. Use Note field to output access statement and URL, if applicable. If the software is out of a box, provide publisher name and address in Note field.
Commercial Software @misc{GAMS, |
Conference Proceedings / Paper Presented at Conference |
|
|---|---|
|
Conference Proceedings (online) |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use Note field to insert the URL. The page range will be placed in a different place than the example, but Thesis Processing will accept it.
|
|
Conference Proceedings (print) |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Normal use of inproceedings class, using Pages field for page range.
|
|
Paper Presented at Conference Unpublished
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use misc class for presentations, use inproceedings class if there is an associated published work.
|
Data Set / Database |
|
|---|---|
|
Data Set / Database Published
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use misc class. Note braces around "Latinos" to preserve capitalization. Enter access date and URL, if any, in Notes field.
|
|
Data Set Unpublished |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use unpublished or misc class, placing MONTH and DAY in Note field.
|
Dictionary / Encyclopedia |
|
|---|---|
| Dictionary / Encyclopedia |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Variant of book class, entering subject term in Author field. Enter access statement and URL in Note field, with a comma between. If NOT online, use Publisher field instead of Note field (see book class examples).
|
Fact Sheet |
|
|---|---|
| Fact Sheet |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use misc class, entering URL in Note field. Enclose "h" in https in brackets, to force it to remain lowercase.
|
Government / Military Documents |
|
|---|---|
| Directive / Instruction | |
| Directive / Instruction |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use techreport class. Enter URL in Notes field.
|
| Doctrine | |
| Joint Doctrine |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Variant of misc class. In Notes field, place 1) report number, 2) CITY and STATE and 3) URL, if any, separated by COMMAS. Note backslashes before underscores in URL, to prevent format corruption.
|
| Field Manual / Military Regulation | |
| Field Manual / Military Regulation |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use manual class. Enter DOC NUMBER in Address field, BEFORE the city and state. Note backslashes before underscores and percent signs in URL, which prevent format corruption.
|
Handbook |
|
|---|---|
|
Handbook (online) |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use manual class, entering URL in Note field.
|
|
Handbook (print)
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use book class. If edition is needed, enter it in Title field, PRECEDED with the \em command, in order to remove italics from edition number.
|
Journal Article |
|
|---|---|
|
Journal Article (online)
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
DOI preferred. Use \ to retain symbols such as "&". Enter URL in Note field.
|
|
Journal Article (print)
|
|
Magazine / Newspaper Article |
|
|---|---|
|
Magazine / Newspaper Article No author given (online)
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Variant use of article class. Place "The" in publication name at the end of the name, to maintain alphabetization. Force ITALICS in publication name with \em command. Enter month and year in Number field. Enter URL in note field, enclosing the "h" in https in braces to retain lowercase.
|
|
Magazine Article Author given (print)
|
|
| Patent | |
|---|---|
|
Patent
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use misc class. Note double braces around Title field to retain word capitalization. Enter URL in Note field, if available.
|
Personal Communication |
|
|---|---|
|
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use unpublished class. Enter description of communication and month and day in Note field, in the order shown.
|
|
Interview |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use unpublished class. Enter description in Note field, in order shown.
|
Report |
|
|---|---|
| Research Report / Think Tank Report / White Paper | |
|
Research Report / Think Tank Report / White Paper |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use misc class. Note use of backslash before underscores in web address. Note return space in the URL, to keep URL from flowing past right margin.
|
| Technical Report | |
|
Technical Report |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use techreport class, which forces the word "Technical Report" to output. Use BRACES to retain capitalization of proper noun and acronyms in title.
@techreport{Wonka:1972, |
Secondary Source |
|
|---|---|
|
Secondary Source
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use class of appropriate source type. In this case, it's a book. Note format of author name in Author field to express his three first initials.
|
Thesis / Dissertation |
|
|---|---|
|
From a commercial database
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use mastersthesis class. Note double braces in not field to force capitalization of "ProQuest."
|
|
From an institutional archive such as the NPS Archive: Calhoun
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use mastersthesis class. ENTER department in School field. LOWERCASE title, except for first word, proper nouns, and first word after colon.
|
Unpublished / Informally Published Work |
|
|---|---|
|
Unpublished Accepted for Publication (online) |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
BECAUSE this is a journal article, the journal class was a better choice than the unpublished class. ENTER word "Forthcoming" in Note field.
|
|
Unpublished (print) |
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
The output differs slightly from the example, but Thesis Processing will accept it.
|
Website / Webpage |
|
|---|---|
|
Author and date given
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Use misc class. Enter WEBSITE OWNER NAME and access date in Note field. (Provide access date only if no publication date is available, the info is likely to change, as in Wikipedia entries, or the link is now broken.)
|
|
Organization as author
|
|
|
No date given
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
See notes in above entry, entering YEAR ACCESSED in Year field.
|
|
Janes example
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example. @misc{Jane:2017, |
Wikipedia |
|
|---|---|
|
Wikipedia
|
Always check your output against the Citation Guide example.
Variant of article class. Enter ENTRY TITLE in Author field (the entry title goes in the author position, and is used in the in-text citation. Enter "Wikipedia" in Journal field, with a PERIOD. Not normally an accepted source in academia; please ask your instructor or advisor.
|
Naval Postgraduate School
1 University Circle, Monterey, CA 93943
Driving Directions
| Campus Map
This is an official U.S. Navy Website | Please read our Privacy Policy Notice | FOIA | Section 508 | No FEAR Act | Whistleblower Protection | Copyright and Accessibility | Contact Webmaster
