Turabian
This is the "Home" page of the "Citation Styles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
DKL Banner Dudley Knox Library Naval Postgraduate School
Help     My Accounts

Citation Styles   Tags: citation management  

Learn how to cite articles, books, reports, theses, legal documents and more using citation styles like APA, Chicago and IEEE.
Last Updated: Sep 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nps.edu/citation Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Table of Contents

APA
American Psychological Association
Other Styles
INFORMS, MLA, Turabian, AMS, etc.
Chicago Notes & Bibliography
Notes-Bibliography and Author-Date
DOIs
Using Digital Object Identifiers in citations.
Chicago Author Date
Notes-Bibliography and Author-Date
Citation Management
Various citation management software tools.
IEEE
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
 

Why cite?

Fraud/misrepresentation

If you fail to properly cite or give attribution to the original source material, you are presenting yourself as the original author and your work as the original source of the words or ideas you obtained elsewhere.  You are taking credit for someone else's work, which is considered plagiarism and may result in copyright infringement.

Mistakes in quoting or interpreting original material

If you make a mistake when quoting, paraphrasing, or interpreting the original source material, providing a reference to the original content allows anyone, whether it is you or your audience, to refer back to and understand the source material as originally intended.

Using the original source as background material

Rather than explain the history of a topic, you may decide to pull key concepts from other works and refer only to those concepts in your own writing.  You may do this because of space constraints or because you expect your readers to already have an understanding of the topic being discussed.  However, not everyone who sees your work will be familiar with the topic.  Including the citation to the original source where a concept or text was taken from, allows readers to gain a better understanding of the background or basis of your writing, so that they can then understand your arguments.

Errors in the original material

It may turn out that the original source you used contained typographical or factual errors.  If you provide the citation to the original source material, you can show that the resulting error in your writing was due to errors in the original source.

Easily traceable digital network of resources

Online tools, such as search engines and online databases, make it easier to search for resources that cite or are cited by others.  Including proper citations creates a network of resources that is beneficial to you, authors of works you refer to, and people conducting research after you.

 

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web based citation management tool that you can access from any internet connected computer.

You can:

  • Add citations from Library databases, the web, or manually
  • Organize your citations into folders
  • Annotate your citations with personal notes
  • Add citations and reference lists, formatted in any style, into MS Word

Other Relevant Guides

 

Library Staff Contacts

DKL staff contacts

(NPS login required)

Dudley Knox Library
411 Dyer Road
Bldg. 339
Monterey, CA 93943

(831) 656-2947
DSN 756-2947
circdesk@nps.edu
Find & Download

Articles

NPS Theses

Course Reserves

Books & More

Journal Titles

Using the Library

Request Article or Book

Workshops & Tours

Alumni Access

Print, copy, scan, fax

Floor Map

Research Support

Research Guides

Citation Styles

Writing Help

For Faculty

About

Hours

Visiting

Staff Directory

NPS Archive: Calhoun

Restricted Resources

Special Collections & Archives

Administration

NPS-Licensed Resources

Copyright Reminder

This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.

Naval Postgraduate School Contacts | Employment | Disclaimers | Privacy Policy | FOIA | Intranet Access

All information contained herein has been approved for release by the NPS Public Affairs Officer. Contact the Webmaster

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip